Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Troll's Toll

by baykush_figtree - Jam Entry

The Troll's Toll
Genres: RPG, Exploration, Thriller.

==== About The Game ====

The Troll, dazed came back home and found his cave invaded.

...i mean, it is being invaded, right?

A short RPG Thriller game featuring unreliable narration, a troll wearing ties and the power to swear to intimidade your enemies.

This game is not meant for the faint-hearted.

And in case you like that kind of stuff, a spoiler-filled postmortem is included both in the downloadable versions and on the links bellow.


==== IMPORTANT ====
- Standalone versions fixed!
- There are few minor issues with the subtitles that may or may not happen. Nothing game breaking
- Please make sure your Unity webplayer is up to date in case you go for the web version
- The Linux and OSX version have not been tested. Some problems have been reported and i've made a new version for both of them. Let me know you you face any issues!
- While we're not responsible for 100% of the game audio, the narration of this game was made during the jam time.


==== Credits ====

Codes by Pedro Machado Figueira,
Pixels by Deniz Göknel,
Voice by Marcos Penna.
Extra sound effects taken from freesfx.uk

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#11Theme(Jam)4.40
#38Mood(Jam)4.14
#65Overall(Jam)3.97
#76Audio(Jam)3.85
#180Innovation(Jam)3.49
#277Graphics(Jam)3.89
#327Humor(Jam)3.17
#485Fun(Jam)3.11

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:00pm

The Linux version goes really really fast for me. That is, after the first stanza, I hit the right arrow, and the troll zipped through two or three screens until I encountered an enemy. Then I mashed some random buttons and more things zipped past. Pity, because this looks really interesting...

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Oopsydoodle~
That's terrible :( sounds like the debug mode, i'll se to it

pirate_shell says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:29pm

I liked this entry a lot. The aesthetic was charming and the fairy tale like narration was a good contrast to the twist ending. Speaking of which, why would you have the first screenshot be your game's ending. Don't get me wrong, I like it a lot but still. I was sort of spoilt. Anyway, the actual RPG mechanics were okay, however, I feel like there were two issues. The lack of sound effects and the fact that anything less than the most gentle of taps on my arrow keys seemed to shoot the selection off by like 3 squares. Other than that I feel this was one of the more creative and well executed entries of LD.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:33pm

@pirate_shell we KINDA did that on purpose but after the third complaining I believe it is for the best to change the cover image

Polyganz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Really fucking awesome and very enjoyable. Didn't expect the end at all. #2deep4me Great job guys!

zanenga says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Awesome entry!
Love the voice over and pace of the game.

Chris M says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Great stuff, I hope everyone plays it right through. It could have been a very cheap ending but you pull it off.

steve says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Loved the voice over, art and the unexpected ended. Awesome work

Deadpan-Gamez says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:25pm

That was amazing can't believe you done that in basically a weekend. Really enjoyed the narrative.

HACKhalo2 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:30pm

I... wow. Very good job, I wasn't expecting the ending at all.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Well that got dark very fast 0_0 . Very good job!

snade says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:57pm

This was awesome! Loved the rhymes. And the troll is just as fancy as my yeti.

ZzCalvinzZ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:00pm

artwork is excellent....gameplay is kind of slow and not that satisfying, but overall really good job!

wicht says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Cool entry! I liked the pixel art and the voice over. Could have a little bit more gameplay, but as that is not really the point of the game it's fine :)

AndyGates says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Holy shit, I was not expecting that. Nailed the theme perfectly there. Great art and voice acting too. Well done.

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:28pm

I did indeed to a troll game too! That's awesome! The game is wonderful too, I approve of it wholeheartedly! :)

peterkirk says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:29pm

The writing and voice acting were good. The ending was really dark and I was not expecting that at all.
Some sound effects during combat would have been nice. What sound there was added a nice atmosphere.

marudziik says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Interesting entry. The poem is just awesome. I was going to nitpick about how it would be nice to see how much HP has the enemy and that "Don't meddle in the cave..." part was shown after the voiceover, a little late. But then, I got to the ending. Pretty great. Awesome. Loved it.

afisicos says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:32pm

I love the narrator :)
And the pixel art is nice.

Rulrite says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:36am

A very powerful game... It's definitely worth playing for the story and the ending alone! Great job with the writing and the narration, too.

It's great that our games almost have the same name! A bit weird. :P

Interface says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:40am

Wow, didn't see that coming. Quite the turn of events (and mood). Great job.

Tselmek says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Really nice narration, the mechanics works very well and the graphics are super duper cool. I wish there was a bit more sounds during the fights.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:19pm

I really liked the narrative of this game.
I wasn't expecting the end! (Which gets extra theme points)
Its nice to be able to play jam game from begining to end.
The troll with tie was a nice touch.

The only thing I feelt could be better is the combat system.
It was too simple, though I liked that you don't run out of bottles.

Nice job!

Kep says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:37pm

DAT ENDING!! O.O ... T.T

jofra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:30pm

:O so cool!
glad i played all the way till the end!
awesome/ horrible idea. great mood and very nice graphics and a very cool voice over.

Sound had some bugs :s wished it worked fine

Mase says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:06pm

The rhymes are fun. The graphics are pretty coherent… though maybe the font and UI elements should have chunkier pixels to match the rest of the art.
I thought the ending was a bit pat.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:28am

Haha great stuff, love the descriptions :D

rodobodolfo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:48am

The art is great, the voiceover spot on, gameplay is a bit rough and the ending is really unexpected. Awesome entry, top quality!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:31am

Pretty dark. I love almost everything about it except for the pixel inconsistency in pixel art.

MoreRPG Team says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:45am

Wow, such a violent ending. Loved turn based combat and voice acting, but I wish there were battle sounds...

Yamzho says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:01am

Great entry !

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Nice ! The fights are not really interesting but they are not many, and they serve the story well. I loved the end, it was unexpected ! Well done

Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Some spoilers... I thought this was excellent, initially I though the gameplay options were limited, but then after the ending everything made sense and I realised what I had actually been doing when selecting my battle options. The orc begging for mercy made sense as well. I liked the verse and the overall fell of the game even before the end, but I didn't really expect that twist, I think you handled it well and it didn't feel like a cheap ending at all, great work everyone

Sparrow says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Wow what an experience... Well done!

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:40pm

It's really cool !

uvwar says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:43am

I was the troll all along

los.pixelados says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:42pm

The ending was not forced had great atmosphere and the twist ending explained why he has those attacks.
A great improvement would be the subtle text that appear on the lower third "beg for mercy" is ok but you could give hints of real dialog used by the twist ending hinting that he may have some pauses of his "health potion" returning back home.
Overall it was a great play-though no bugs good atmosphere and hope you will evolve furtherer in creating more games.

Cheers,
<Alin Putinelu> (of Los Pixelados team)

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:22am

This is the heaviest Ludum Dare game I've played since The Day the Laughter Stopped.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:36pm

A fine troll tale this all was
some sounds seemed to be missing
but overall the thing most crass
was the sad play's troubling ending.

walsh9 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:16pm

The narration really helped set the mood.
Would have appreciated a few sound effects for the menus and battles.
I want to give this 6 stars for theme.

guoboism says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:14am

Overall 5/5!
Great game! The first layer of story is fun enough. Not to mention there is 2nd layer of story to deepen the theme.
Great work!

HappyHour says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:44pm

A fresh narrative take on the theme. :)

Inateno says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Oh men, awesome job. Really ! Dat end.

Patacorow says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Great voice acting! and graphics!

dregamr says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Wow!! The end is... ugh!! ... Unexpected...
The troll seems to be trolling while walking!! XD A dancing troll. And the enemies die after an extra turn, you know.
But It's a great game, I liked it! The sounds are very well done, and the combat system is very good. Congratulations!

GFM says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:45pm

I really wasn't expecting for that ending... good stuff! Awesome use of the theme!

The narration was great, but I really missed it during the fights and the last part...

dickpoelen says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:35am

Jeez... that twist

bombjack says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:42pm

It was fun but a little bit repetitive.

Sep 3, 2015 @ 12:03pm

The ending was a surprising and interesting take on the theme, nice to see a game push the theme further then what's expected. One thing I did find a bit distracting was the font. Think a pixel font would have worked really well with the great visuals of the game.

Sanju says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:43pm

The Linux version needs to be fixed. When I press 'right' the first time, even if I release the key, it continues walking. And when it reaches the goblin It don't let me use the mouse to select an attack.

Hjalte500 says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Okay so I go into this game thinking okay some walking to the right thing great totally haven't seen that before. Oh its got some story thats pretty neat this is a pretty good and then you guys fucking fuck me up. That twist was simply amazing and this game instantly went from pretty good to one of my favorite entries! Really good job!

JackDegree says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:07pm

I really would have no objection to you guys winning LD.

Sanju says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Great shocking entry!

Druid says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Oh... Wow... This game have greatest plot twist! So... Deep! Beautifull entry! Just audio feels little incomplete without more SFX but.. Omg... Great story! At first i laugh at enemies.. Hahaha, that crippled one... But... WOW ... Man... All 5 for you!

Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:06am

Audio made kept the mood strong. Gameplay isn't there much. Great job, nonetheless!

-Loi LeMix

StrayCat says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:48am

Nice plot twist! One small thing to change: if the troll swears a few times, the enemy attacks do negative damage and start healing you instead of hurting you.

I feel this is one of the best takes on the theme, great job!

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Nice twist, story and ending! Very cool game!

Drauthius says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Love the story and graphics! The combat was a bit bugged (was hard choosing actions because it swapped too fast or on its own), and the font did not fit at all.

spotco says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:23am

wish there was some more depth to combat but...
DE TWEEST

arzi says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 8:37am

I almost didn't play this until the end, but I'm glad I did. What a twist! :o

glerikud says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Amazing entry! We thought about narrating ours too, but we didn't have anyone with a cool enough voice. The concept is really great, I did not expect that and it was not forced at all. There was a little bug in the windows version: the cursor kept flashing in the middle of the screen

superfreak says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 11:24pm

The voiceover and use of unreliable narration was really brilliant - not to mention the super adorable art-style. Great job :)

camlang says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 6:17pm

What a twist! Nicely done

Sep 8, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Nice graphics, cool game. I included it in part 22 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/CgBnxdy5Yfk

Patomkin says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 8:04am

Woah, that ending... heavy

Ludipe says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Really liked the voice acting and the fairy tale mood. The RPG mechanics were ok, though not fun. Voice acting + lovely art + interesting story were the best.

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Oh, hey, someone besides me played LISA. Wohoo!

So I quite liked this game. Gives me the "white phosphorus scene" vibe from Spec Ops: The Line. Really like the aspect of walking through the very graveyard you've created. The fact that your (presumed) wife was wheelchair-bound makes the ending all the more tragic. Cool stuff!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]