Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Starlight

by interwebsninja - Compo Entry

An #LD33 Compo Game By Ray Grice

Destroy the last of a species of cosmic horrors. They may be a monster, but then again, so are you.



W/S - Thrust forward/backwards

A/D - Strafe

Mouse - Aim

LClick - Fire Weapon

Headphones are recommended



Your beacon is your lifeline - it provides you with power and communications. Venture 2000km away from it and suffer the consequences.

Find the creatures and destroy them until you die.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#166Mood3.50
#266Audio3.15
#493Innovation2.95
#562Graphics2.90
#632Overall2.95
#799Fun2.48
#872Theme2.43
#1752Coolness36%

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:49am

I flew for what felt like ages and found nothing but a spinning asteroid.

I'll abstain from rating to give the benefit of the doubt that there is some sort of bug.

VampyVampire says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:51am

Hard to see, so hard to know whats really going on. I heard breathing for like 5 minutes before I saw the thing floating towards me. Really interesting though. I liked it.

KeithKarnage says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:52am

Couldn't find any bad guys. Unless I was the bad guy and whatever hit me from behind and ran away never to be seen again was only defending its terrirory..

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:55am

@TerraCottaFrog I don't mind if you rate anyways, to be fair the game def has times where there's nothing to do but wait. Would of liked to include more elements to lessen this. Thanks for playing regardless!

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:16am

I like the game and honestly this could lead to something more promising! Nice Job!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:34am

Didn't know what to expect until something came at me, the tiny flashlight didn't help but my god it game me a fright! Great work. Though the enemies didn't seem to face me so it looks sorta awkward when they flew sideways. Very spooky!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:35am

Can't install Unity plug in on Linux :(

Mantlair says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:39am

Idea is cool but i only saw one creature. And that one was like "Oh, sounds. What is this sound? *gets hit* WHOA!". I don't know maybe raise number of enemies or add a popup if thete is one on the range. Beside that cool game with completaley playeble 3D ship controls!

Andrew says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:50pm

A way to track down the creatures would be helpful. I flew around a bit and wasn't able to find anything.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:57pm

@Andrew I would of loved to put in a 3d version of the motion tracker to solve this - thanks for the feedback!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:58pm

@Mantlair Thanks for the feedback, I really need to find a sweet spot between building suspense and letting the player to more than just wait.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:58pm

I really want to like this game... I really do. But it's so hard to see, and even with headphones, it's nearly impossible to tell where the alien is coming from because the minimap/radar thing doesn't rotate with the player. Played for a while and sometimes got hit, but I don't think I ever hit the alien or even saw it.

Still, the sound effects were great and contributed to a great mood!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:41pm

@aberdeenphoenix Thanks for the feedback, if I ever go back to this I hope to make it a more polished and accessible game!

tehPHEN says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Dark. Moody. Scared the crap out me when that thing came and ate me!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:03am

It took really a lot to find enemies.. ^^'
Btw nice gameplay and graphic!
Well done!

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:43pm

It's quite a scary game. The only thing I would change there is that I would put in a scarier sound for when you get hit by the alien; the "pop" that is used just doesn't feel right.

Other than that, I'm not sure whether or not you're supposed to actually be able to kill the aliens. I've gotten times where I've got a good dozen shots on it, but still got hit and it disappeared. It's very well possible that this is a horror game where you aren't supposed to win, so I'll assume that's the case (or else I'm just really, really bad). Other than that, nice 3D shooter, with good controls.

valid4life says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:47pm

The controls were pretty clunky but with more work this could be cool!

jofra says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:17am

Nice mood :) a bit hard to understand at the begenning
well done!

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:29am

Great atmosphere! Really liked the mood! The navigation were not so good though, it was easy to get lost in space (maybe it was intended), and controls were a bit "heavy", maybe it was mouse sensitivity. Also backward thrust seemed too weak. I tried to run from the creature while shooting and he would get me very easily.
Anyway great job!

schnerble says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 5:22pm

I have to admit I didn't really get this game. I can see the beginnings of something entertaining there, but I pretty much just flew around towards the black shapes, where it looked like I could blow up some and not others - and some enemies came up on the radar occasionally, but I couldn't find them before they ran into my ship and I took damage. Personally I guess I would've benefited from some more indication of what the creatures were and how to find them, and what the black shapes were, etc. (Also I probably would've turned the mouse sensitivity up a bit if I could) I like space games though, and I can see there's an interesting idea behind it all.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]