Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Little monster's way back to home

by BuddaKaeks - Compo Entry

You play a little monster in a crude and unholy world.
You have to find its way back to home.
The monster has an unique weapon: Objects near the monster have upside-down physics.

System Requirements:
Win XP/Vista/7/8/8.1/10
Graphics Card with Support for OpenGl 3.3 (Every nvidia card since GeForce 500M should support this, most of the older cards, too)
Processor with at least 1 MH :D
500 MB system ram
Java 5
Person in front of the computer with intelligence. :D



PS: Join the broken physics revolution and make broken physics the theme for ludum dare 34.

PPS: To everyone who's asking:
The perspective effect is a simple post processing fish-eye shader ;)
simple doesn't mean it's simple, took me several hours :D

PPPS: Because there are still people out there, who don't know how to start a java program: Double-click the jar-file, or type java -jar PATH_TO_JAR in your console

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#228Mood3.35
#229Innovation3.39
#383Overall3.21
#395Audio2.89
#475Graphics3.07
#493Humor2.65
#553Fun2.90
#614Theme3.15

Comments

Gaga says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:18am

Liked it, got really hard tho :)

mat1er says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:23am

Game is pretty interesting, only problems I found was some laborious collision (often when hitting the ground) and the end is maybe a little abrupt.
Good game still, interesting and well made

alyphen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:26am

This is a stunning entry - the level design down to the narration is fantastic. Highly enjoyable to play. Some of the areas were incredibly tricky to get your head around. For improvement, the biggest thing that this is missing is audio - adding music and sound effects would add so much to what's already something so atmospheric and beautiful.

BuddaKaeks says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:28am

@alyphen: Actually there shoudl be audio...
i knew midi files would make problems

Fenreliania says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:28am

Unfortunately doesn't seem to run - plays music, but only shows a black screen.

CiderPunk says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:30am

Controls don't feel too responsive when jumping, could use some indicator on the monster to show what mode he's in, maybe change colour?

McFood says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:31am

I liked the music, fit the dungeon feel well.
The gravity mechanic is cool, but quite hard to use.
An extra check point might have been nice after the first big climb =)

The contrast made it hard to distinguish walkable space from walls. Intentional I guess?
It was also odd, that I had to jump back and forth over hazards to read the written text. It's a bit jarring.

Fun stuff though! Nice art!

Nizl says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:38am

Played to the part where you have the electricity and the gravity object. Pretty hard part and didn't know what to do after and died. :(

The background graphics are really cool and i like the kind of sphere view (don't know how to call it). Also the texts on the background was not only helpful but cool.
Sadly the Game wasn't a lot of fun for me but liked the idea.
Keep it up!

Lythom says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:50am

Hi !
What I liked :
- a good plateformer with some intersting puzzles
- the atmoshphere
- the length and difficulty are well balanced for the jam format
What imo could be improved :
- jump is a bit glitchy, you have to wait the mosnte rto collide properly with the floor to pe able to jump again. It makes the climbing parts very frustrating.
- the story line. If there is none it's not interesting to pretend there is one (better let the player discover the universe). "Philosophal" lines are ok thought because they just suggest a different point of view on the situation.
Good overall, thanks for the game !

bodsey says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:09am

Can't play on Mac :(

Insality says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:16am

Nice game, interestings platforming puzzles and level design, good job!
There is some glithes: when started, i have a big screen, which is much bigger of my screen ;[

miro662 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:17am

A bit too hard

g_o says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:23am

Nice game, the text perspective effect is just awesome!!
Graphics overall are pretty good. The mechanics were a little wierd since the radius of the action was kinda unknown it once changed and in another time it didn't even though the cube was in the same distance, just opposite gravity. Is it a deliberate anti-symmetry or something?
I think the connection to the theme could've be better but it's a nice game.

NikinCZ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:53am

Graphics were outstanding (5*). Other than that, I found it waaaay too difficult. Didn't made it past what seemed to be uncrossable hole.

Sogomn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:57am

Really cool! How did you do this screen curve so it looks like you were looking at one of those old monitors?

TestSubject06 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:18am

I think if you took the concept of this game, and pushed it beyond this weekend, you can get a lot out of it!

JustASHadow says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:21am

This game is...interesting. Jumping feels a bit weird and the platforms don't go up if you're standing on them. Also, the gameplay had nothing to to with the theme, which is a waste, because I think this was a really good theme that allowed for a wild variety of games, and you develop...a puzzle platformer?

OFF says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:21am

Really nice game, the main feature is interesting and well used. It's hard to play with keyboard, because your game required a good timing. But it work well, not sure about the theme and the monster side, but a really interesting basis for a good plateformer.
There is maybe too much inertia for this kind of mechanics.

DarkCart says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Got pretty hard, but well made.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Yea I couldn't play either, the music was great but the black screen not so much. If it would have worked though it would have been great!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:32pm

Any chance you could make a Linux build? I can hear the music, but get no window. Since it looks like Java and lwjgl, it shouldn't be too hard.

ajopart says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Sooo hard and tricky. But very well made. The concept of gravity is interesting. I struggle a lot with the jumps. Don't know why but controls seem to not respond when you jump while running.

dhargan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:45pm

not my type of game but still god. good job :)

TFR says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Very interesting. But I think the levels are too dark. If they were a little brighter, it would be perfect.

Juin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:49pm

I feel like the jumping could've been a bit less floaty and the text is really hard to read because everything is dark. And sometimes the text is in 2 lines but you can only read half of it because its dark so you have to go back to start the next line..

WebFreak001 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:51pm

I really love the graphics and the mood! The text everywhere was an awesome way to tell the player something. The controls were kinda sloppy though at some parts. I really liked the difficulty.

Komradus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:04pm

I enjoyed that, the mood was definitely set. And the difficulty was a bit much, but it seems like something that can really be engaged in.

Acerio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Atmosphere was great. Graphics are great and I loved the lighting system. Level design was great. Some beautiful music to go along would make it that much better though. I had a friend do my music for me and it came out well, maybe I could hook you up?

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Pretty cool graphics and lighting. Enjoyable :D

scorched says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:06pm

I also only hear music and see the black screen.
Maybe because I have Radeon, not Nvidia...
Or because I'm in front of computer, and not "behind" it :-P

cgmorton says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:49pm

For real? You make a game in Java but it only works in Windows? XD

Grhyll says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:15am

How do you run this?

paquinn says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Really liked the Graphics and the audio added a lot to the mood.

MercuryXGames says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Nice game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]