Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Osuldorb

by danidre14 - Jam Entry

During scientific research as a Osuldorb, you went off into another galaxy, with your best friend Chudwe, using the high-tech Derodonal device. At your arrival to a planet you are greeted by many different hostile Nielderthands. During the chaos that broke out, you are separated from the Derodonal device, and now have to find it. Unfortunately for you, these Nielderthands are all very poisonous, which results in death on touch, and Chudwe jumped strait into one. He disintegrated in a flash.

There are also other materials out there that can result in death, since on this planet, almost everything is linked.
You now have to find your way to the Derodonal device, and figure out how to get there. There are signs that may or may not be helpful on the way.
Collect Metons to increase your Mation power. You need at least 500 Mations to power up your Derodonal device.

Movement is unknown. Multiple keys can be pressed to do the same thing.
You have to find out what does what and what goes where.

----------------------------------------------------------
So unfortunately for this monster species, they die instantly, as in game over, their life is gone.
At least there is an option to start life afresh.
P.S. - Use Z to shoot.
----------------------------------------------------------

Made in 17 hours for LDJAM

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#565Humor(Jam)2.71
#663Fun(Jam)2.88
#796Overall(Jam)2.91
#892Mood(Jam)2.58
#926Theme(Jam)2.79

Comments

Pierrec says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:06pm

A nice little platformer, but damn it's hard

wavegunner232 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:07pm

pretty good but it does feel like it was made very very quickly as the audio is not the best

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:11pm

The comic at the start is great.

MortalWombat says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:16pm

I liked the weird story elements! The contrast between the different world tiles and especially the moving platforms and the background is too low (too much grey!). It would be cool if you wouldn't have too start over completely everytime you die. Cool entry!

Daukan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Nice and challenging. Not sure if I grasp the story however.

ZzCalvinzZ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:26pm

hard and it makes me start at the beginning after 1 death!? But still good little game

AAGH Games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:28pm

pretty fun , music sounds good little small characters, couldnt see what i was playing as but fun.

glerikud says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Damn, if this game had a continue or save system I'd be crazy enough to finish it (that says something, 'cause I really don't like platformers). As it stands I'll settle with going through the 1st room.

BUNN1E5 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:37am

I Really liked it. And wow only 17 hours!

danidre14 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Thanks for all the thought and opinions guys. If I haven't already, I'll rate all your games, and you should know, you can shoot using the 'Z' button. :P

dacharya64 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:23pm

A nice platformer! Did not realize until reading the comments that I could shoot. I like the music and overall the game is challenging but makes me want to continue playing. Can't believe this was made during submission hour--it's a great start!

danidre14 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:37pm

No, you've got it wrong, the comic drawing was made during the submission hour. Thanks for playing none-theless. And yep, the being able to shoot was actually supposed to be something you find out from a sign during the game, but some people never make it there. Without shooting, this is more like an avoid impossible game, worth a shot at winning it without shooting though, that'll be a record.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:42pm

That was surprisingly challenging. I felt a little frustrated when I died on the second level and had to redo all of the game. It felt good when I finally won.

danidre14 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Thanks for playing peterkirk.

I too am frustrated at my deaths, especially with the ladder.

Hope you enjoyed it.

dydx says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:17am

Ha I love the note about making the intro during submission hour. We've all been there!

The platforming was fun once I got the hang of it... would have appreciated a checkpoint system though. Pretty good for 17 hours!

fistmaker says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:58am

Good platformer. Controls felt a little quick, but solid effort. Good soundtrack.

eddynardo says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:48am

Cool platformer game.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 1:07am

Pretty solid platformer although it's a bit annoying when you're forced to start from the first level every time you die.

igoramendola says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 8:25am

Pretty nice game and nicely done for the 17 hours. I didn't get the Derodonal device at the first time because I hadn't the 500 Mations hehe... but I tried again and then I won :D
Well, I've played more than twice because I died 2 times on lava trying to jump from the ladder hahah xD
Good work!

Darkflint says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:53am

I repeat the word of Pierrec: A nice little platformer, but damn it's hard

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]