Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Mutaman

by Gipzo - Jam Entry

This is a story of a vietnam veteran, that takes place in early 70th. He was poisoned with an experimental mutagen drug by an evil doctor. The doctor sends his minions to test drug’s capabilities in field and capture the soldier.
Will you become a monster to stay alive? Or will you fight to death staying human?

Controls
Keybord
W,A,S, D - move
Space - jump
Left Mouse Button - Punch Right Mouse Button - Kick
Middle Mouse Button, Q - Special
E - Grab

Controller
D-pad - move
A - jump
X - Punch
B - Kick
Y - Special
RT - Grab

Mutate
When you defeat a powerful enemy, you can get a mutagen to enhance yourself with new ability and a new form. Or you can stay human for more challenge.

Fight enemies.
Your path to freedom lies through numerous enemies. You can punch them, kick them, even burn them! They all have their strengths, but you need to overcome them to face the final evil doctor. After all, they are just human.

Dead? Play again
There are 12 mutations, with different abilities, 80+ combinations in all.
5 types of enemies a mutant boss. Can you beat them all?

Tools
Unity 5
Photoshop cc
Google Drive

Team
Artyom Shambalyov aka Gipzo -Programming, Animation
Nikita Bobchenko - Game-design, Testing
Dorzhgotov Bum-Erdenehiyn - Art
Egor Kuzmin & Victor - Music

Update
Now has WebGL version! It is embedded in game page too.
WebGL version don't have camera effects (noise and stuff) to play faster.

Update 2
Removed embedding as it is not working with keyboard. Follow WebGL link to play.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#128Humor(Jam)3.67
#156Fun(Jam)3.61
#173Graphics(Jam)4.11
#197Overall(Jam)3.64
#218Theme(Jam)3.83
#228Mood(Jam)3.53
#237Audio(Jam)3.45
#560Innovation(Jam)2.97

Comments

goodolvic says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Whoa, great visuals! The approach to the theme is unique in the sense that the player can choose to change or not. It's not clear if there's a benefit to remaining human, but the game's quirky style doesn't need strict moral elements.

Gipzo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:54am

Thanks. We had artist this time :)
Actually there is no benefit from remaining human, but player could choose if he wants some mutations or not. And with human head you have great special - stomp ;)

DMinsky says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Крутой концепт!

dancingmad says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:08pm

The gamepad controls are mixed up! Apart from that, this is a nice beat 'em all with geat music and art.

jordinuco says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Great graphics and great gameplay. It´s Street Fighter again, but very cool and fits well on the LD theme. Great work!

Qaterknan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Really really addictive plus great graphics! I like the idea of progress here. It was a little bit hard though.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Very difficult! Would help if there was a block button. Love the general idea, and the graphics are hilarious.

Ariake81 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Streets of (mutant) rage! very nice idea, well implemented. well done on designing so many assets in such a short time

GertJohnny says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Top notch visuals and polish. The difficulty curve felt like it could be smoothed out slightly. I ran into a small bug where I was able to hit enemies off screen and they wouldn't return, which prevented me from progressing.

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:58pm

This has been my absolute favourite this far :-) Good job.
Only downside, the mouse didn't click where the arrow pointed on the screen. That made navigating the menus a bit frustrating. It was worth it, though

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:00pm

overall really really nice! loved nearly everything about it, but sadly i find it a little bit to difficult. unless you have the luck to find a nice mutation at the beginning.
one of the best polished games so far.

EncryptedCow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:01pm

really cool, just had the game freeze on some weapon switched, but this was reallly cool looking
gg

wicht says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Mutagens!

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Amazing game. Art is well like as a sound. Game is funny and simple. You made a great game. =)

jcwelgemoed says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Sorry but the game is a little boring and tough to play.

Komradus says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:44pm

Awesome graphics and a fun system. Though quite difficult to get past the first few stages unless you get lucky with the mutations.

Biruts says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Mase says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Mutation is always fun, and the graphics are charming.
However the combat feels imprecise and difficult. I wish that the player had some brief invincibility after being hit; otherwise the entire health bar can be depleted in seconds.
Also, the game seems to freeze if two phials are collected at the same time.

Sep 6, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Super nice graphics! I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/WVNLcoTqal4

PixlWalkr says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Neat game and awesome graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]