Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Scare the Looters

by Slapunas - Jam Entry

****IMPORTANT: you buy objects at night with the menu at the button, interacting with them makes them scarier briefly. please put the game on 16/9 resolutions.

Fresh Meat United proudly presents their LD#33 Jam entry.

In this game you walk in the shoes of a little cave monster who is desperately trying to protect his treasure from wandering explorers.

You will have to use your wits and indirect tools of Spookiness to defend your priceless relic.

The game is has some difficulty balancing issues, please consider how the game could have been with 30 more minutes of balancing when rating.

All the content in this game was made in 72 hours during the LD#33 competition (Our programmer is still making final touches as I am writing this).

Credits goes to : Nir Shalmon, Slapunas(Paulius Rumsa), Jakayaki(Jacqueline King) and Jack Pot

Thank you for your time!

Present bugs at submission -

*Awkward to find a spot to interact with active items
*Only Day music played (no night, no busters song)
*Game did not end if mobs reach the relic
*some animations didn't play

Those bugs were all fixed according to rules.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#197Graphics(Jam)4.06
#278Humor(Jam)3.28
#302Audio(Jam)3.29
#320Mood(Jam)3.39
#328Theme(Jam)3.70
#388Fun(Jam)3.24
#388Overall(Jam)3.37
#433Innovation(Jam)3.12

Comments

jk5000 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:32am

A great idea, and okay fun game to play, but can't change the way I am scaring the tourists.

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Great game, HALF LIFE 3
Took a long time to load though. When it told me to buy a pumpkin, it wouldn't go away ;(

Krunoslav says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:11pm

nice done!! very cool graphics

dkilford says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:12pm

loved the audio and nice take on the theme!

Gravity Games says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:17pm

This is actually a really nice game for the short amount of time. Heck, from what I've seen, it actually looks like something I'd see on Steam in it's current state!

justthestudio says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:20pm

As someone said, I couldn't finish the tutorial, because it didn't want to close the message box until I started the day. Very funny game, Towe Defense-like, even though it becomes a bit too easy if you pass first 2 days.

Komradus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Love the design of the monster. It's a great concept but my traps didn't always work. Found myself mostly scaring the tourists away myself.

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:02pm

nice graphics fun game :D

bloomingbuds says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:20pm

A really great 3D art, I'm amazed it was done in such a short time!. Very polished ;)

Chronodrax says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:23pm

This was worth playing even if just to see level 6 :p
---
Things are rarely placed well, ground objects may go through walls or float above ground, and objects placed on walls (like the picture frame) are 90° in the wrong direction, at least where I've put them.
Also, I got a game over after day#6 even if they all ran scare before even reaching the bottom of the stairs at the entrance. (is it because there's no level 7 ?)
As said justthestudio, this need more balancing too. After day 2 or 3 depending on how you placed stuff near the entrance, all humans run away before reaching the bottom of the stairs.
---
Are "fear" and "fear reduction" the only variable used on human enemies ? Or are there other hidden variations between different types of humans ?
If not, maybe having multiple paths could be one way of increasing difficulty after day#3.
If yes, it could be useful to have some additional info on the effect of each object, and on each human type.
---
This said, it's still awesome that you 4 made all this in 72 hours ! Good job !

Mantlair says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Very Very good. But I didnt get how actives work properly. Thats my problem though. Good work all of you guys!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:22am

it has great graphic. But i don't understand how to use item and what is the function each of it.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:48pm

The graphics were awesome for something made in 3 days, it was a little confusing and the full screen kept becoming out of line with my monitor so the buttons at the bottom couldn't be accessed. However. the tutorial at the start was very intuitive and the game was fun and welcoming to look at.

ziege says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Nice idea and great art.

Balancing issues aside, I had quite a big problem positioning my monster so the objects would become interactive. Also I got the game over screen even though I'm pretty sure no one got through.

emongev says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Loved the graphics! Also lol@HL3 I found the controls confusing and couldnt find where to build the goddamn pumpkin, and i had a stereo in front of me and couldnt switch to something else. But props to you guys cause you had an ambitious idea and performed admirably :)

Mekuri says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Great game. Felt really great to control, and the graphics were great. A bit more polish and shine, and some sound effects, and you'll have a great game. Very good job!

pi_pi3 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:52pm

The tourists got stuck and I couldn't beat the first wave. Otherwise it's a nice idea

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Great idea, very innovative. On top of that, you managed to make it a lot of fun as well as looking nice. Great job!

NeanderG says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Cool tower defense game. Started the turoial but it got stuck en didn't trigger on restart, so I could not place items :(

xvw says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:40pm

The graphics are gorgeous, and (above all) everything is very fluid! Great music!

I had a bug where all tourists remained blocked at the starting point.
Sometimes tourists are not afraid by traps, nor by yourself ... or I missed something!

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 4:09am

Nice idea. Seems really easy; perhaps the balance isn't quite there. I like the music.

MercuryXGames says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Nice! a bit slow on startup, but it's overall a nice game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]