Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Nostromo

by johnhackworth - Compo Entry

=================== NOSTROMO ======================

You wake up alone in a strange spaceship. It's full
of pink things which scream a lot when they see you.
You don't know what's happening, but that's not so
surprising, having in account that you were inside
an egg just hours ago.

You don't understand anything, but you feel those
pink creatures look like breakfast...

====================================================
Use cursors to move around. Space or Enter to attack.
Left CTRL to hide in the shadows.

====================================================
Post-LD additions:

- Small text with how to play instructions and attribution

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#313Theme3.63
#372Graphics3.26
#543Mood2.90
#641Fun2.76
#660Overall2.92
#697Innovation2.63
#749Humor1.96

Comments

bodsey says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:58am

Solid job for a LD, congrats. Controls are a bit stiffy, but the take on the theme is nice

jorgemoag says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:47am

really i feel like a monster

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:23pm

This was fun to play, I enjoyed the Alien blood at the end. I couldn’t find a way to restart the game and I found it broke the immersion having to refresh the page, however that is a minor complaint on what is otherwise a very good game.

johnhackworth says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:30pm

ouch! you're right ... I didn't though about adding a 'restart' button at the end and there's no way of starting a new game without refreshing ...sorry!

Deadeyejoe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:36pm

I've always dreamed feel like a monster in a space ship :D

celisoft says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Alien is one of my favorite movie and this is a really good game.

iossif says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:29pm

the game itself is nice but what really made me laugh is your description. well done :D

Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Once you get hit by a bullet you know you are dead. The intense konckback kinda ruins the whole experience, however it's nice for an LD game :)

johnhackworth says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:47pm

@KrisDevelopment I tried to tweak the damage / pushback to make it a little hard ;)

The idea is that if you are being fired at, your best course of action is to flee. Unless you're trapped in a dead end, you should be able to use your speed & hiding skill for it. And then, position yourself to get that guy from behind while he's moving around (they can't see behind themselves when moving)

Joseaper says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:17pm

The use of lit and unlit rooms really makes the game stand out.

GBGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:30pm

I wish the game let you restart it once it was over, but I love the way the ship zoomed away.

I liked how you could sense humans in nearby rooms, but I couldn't see how stealth helped. Sometimes the rooms were red, but I couldn't tell if that was the alarm or just the lighting of those rooms.

I died a few times before finally surviving until the end. Good work!

johnhackworth says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:10pm

@GBGames well, there are several things going on in the game I didn't have time to properly explain anywhere :)

When one of the guys with the guns see you, there's a chance that he triggers an alarm. That's when the lights turn to red. When the alarm is activated, all the other soldiers will rush to the point where you have been seen last, so it's a good idea to leave as far as possible.

The hiding mechanism is handy when you are being cornered. When you are hiding, the humans can only see you if they are next to you (like... 30 or 40 pixels away, I think), but they don't if they are in adjacent rooms (or in the same room, but far away), so if you find yourself getting chased by three soldiers ... hiding in the corner of a room and wait for them to leave is a good way to manage the situation. Also, since the moving humans can only see in front of them, hiding behind a ladder and wait for a soldier to go down and turns his back to you is a good way to be able to get hand-to-hand with them without getting shot first :D

conormn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:38pm

I'm bad at alien. Very nice game tho :)

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:57am

Solid game, love the way the sight/hearing works in the game, good graphics, could be seriously cool with the right soundtrack. Excellent work.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Really neat game. I like the story of the monster not meaning to kill them. I included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/UXRiA5Goh28

Maramasa says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Thought this was a pretty cool game. Would love to see something like this fleshed out a bit more with additional mechanics and some audio to make the experience more cohesive as a whole. Good job regardless :D

Electron says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:38pm

hmm good work done

rudra says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:36pm

There are lots of things I liked here.
1. The movement of the camera in different stages.
2. The twinkling of the stars.
3. Graphics.
4. The intuitive gameplay.
5. Lighting of different rooms as I went near it.
and many such small things.

The thing I would have loved to see here is an option to restart the game after you die

But overall, it is a solid entry, so much polishness for a compo entry, very well done.

paquinn says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Really fun to sneak around and rewarding to take your time. Really improved the mood.

VoodooWarlock says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Thanks for the game, those humans sure were delicious;) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=drXf8LbDoIw

LukeZaz says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:11pm

A bit hard until you kill the guys with guns, and a bit easy after, but still a good game.

handkor says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 12:57am

oh wow. Good job, very good take on this concept.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]