Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Nice Monster

by walaber - Compo Entry

"Nice Monster"

A little kid is playing a nostalgic platforming game... and only pressing the jump button!

All the monsters in the level decide to help them out and get the player to the goal.

Use arrow keys to move monsters, make the player bounce on the monsters and rebound towards the goal.

Only 3 levels so far, but a promising idea that could be explored further given more time.

Created w/ PICO-8, a "fantasy game console" with a built-in editor for graphics, code, and sounds. entire game created from scratch during the compo timeline.

http://www.lexaloffle.com/pico-8.php

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#10Theme4.38
#11Innovation4.28
#89Overall3.78
#149Fun3.55
#182Humor3.38
#235Mood3.33
#254Graphics3.51
#513Audio2.61

Comments

dethe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:48am

Really fun, even though I had a tough time of it.

avultima says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:07am

Interesting and fun! I would definitely play more levels of this!

BortStudios says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:12am

Really had fun with this one. Good job.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:14am

Great idea, but in that first level I experienced more frustration than in the entire previous 48 hours combined :P

If it was a little easier I could really get into this.

9.ar7k says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:14am

liked the concept and art. but i couldn't get past the first level lol. still cool. ^^

Pusty says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:19am

Fun but extremely challenging

Kaev says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:58am

Interesting gameplay. Difficulty was perfect in my opinion.
Sadly it was a bit short, would love to play more level. :)

candlesan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:06am

This was really fun!

uthamon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:43am

Love it, it wasn't frustrating as others say and I'd love to see more levels. I see potential in bouncing twice of the same monster - in the level with this trampoline first monster sometimes bounced the kid the second time while it was in "running away" phase. If it could be manipulated in more complicated levels, it could lead to some awesome both fast and puzzle levels.

TLansdale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:51am

Cool idea! I found this theme quite difficult to be creative with but you've done a great job. Challenging, but nothing wrong with that :)

bradur says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Funny, a bit tricky but fun. A nice idea :).

Azlen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Great game mechanic. Difficulty is hard but good.

It might be a bit interesting if you make the monster movement constrained to a grid (4x4?), that way it would be easier to get consistent results.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:37pm

(from pico 8 forums)

I love it. Great idea, great execution, the only problem is that it ended so quickly! Would have loved to see more complicated levels.

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:08am

Fun game

richy486 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:38am

Great but very hard

Reccy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:09pm

This was really great, very original idea! I only wish there were more levels :P

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:22pm

Fun and seems pretty challenging. GJ!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Very fun! Loved the concept.

Gamepopper says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Really clever, I wish I thought of it first. :P

But seriously, this is a really well made game idea, and it's really challenging too. I enjoyed trying to beat the levels, even though I struggled doing so. Great job!

AAGH Games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:24pm

pretty fun , not a bad concept would play this more definetly

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:47am

Smart concept, but that first level was really hard! I'm still trying to beat it! Had to mute after about 3 minutes, that jump sound was on it's way to giving me nightmares! :D

ArchBang says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:07am

Tricky but got to the end! Man that kid is a dolt. Sounds got pretty grating and could have done with some music but can imagine many more levels of this. Good challenge and nice to be able to restart without any delay. Inspiring me to look at Pico-8, good job!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Great concept!

zatyka says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:07pm

One of my favorite uses of the theme. The intro worked really well. It only took a few tries for me to get used to the mechanic, and then... it was over all to fast.

High marks from me. I'm hoping to see a post compo version. High marks from me. Pico-8 for the win!

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:45pm

had a hard time trying to reach the first flag :P
Liked the concept of the platform :D

Connors says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:17am

This is great. Level 2 is the hardest, so it was a tad disappointing to see the game ends after Level 3. Still, it's a good idea and it fits the PICO-8 format really well.

HappyHour says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Very challenging and a good take on the normal platforming controls.

danialias says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:20am

Great puzzle, original and cute! The idea is top class, I bet it can be expanded in a bigger game. The hardest part was to find the correct rebound angle, but once you get it, that mechanics becomes fun as well. One of the best so far! Congratulations!

jhrrsn says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Ha, this is such a cool idea! And well executed, too. I'll definitely be hearing that jump noise for the rest of my life though...

Stending says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Awesome concept, nice take on the theme!

walsh9 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:31am

I love PICO-8 games! I really loved the idea here but it was too difficult for me.

Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:08pm

This is a fantastic and original game!

I'd love more levels.

My only issue is that the first level is too hard.

handkor says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:05pm

It's like taking pity on a brain damaged mario.

Sep 4, 2015 @ 11:51am

A bit too hard, but the concept is innovative.

mubox says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Interesting concept. A bit hard. Sometimes the "turtles" stop responding. :)

shawn42 says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 3:19am

You nailed the 8bit vibe and this game as a fun gameplay mechanic. I think it could be just a little more forgiving to help with the learning curve. I like the cute take on the theme, not ever monster has to be dark and evil! Very well done.

conormn says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Super interesting mechanic. For sure flush this out!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]