Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Bird of Prey

by ALobker - Compo Entry

Bird of Prey
Eat the other birds to regain health. Your score depends on the amount of seconds you survived.

Use arrows or WASD to move. Use enter or space to start.

Mac and Linux versions can be compiled from the source.

Made in about 10 hours.

Tools used:
- Unity
- Visual studio
- Photoshop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#544Graphics2.93
#785Humor1.52
#799Fun2.48
#837Mood2.17
#849Overall2.59
#901Innovation1.93
#916Theme2.14

Comments

dingotime says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:10am

I found the best approach was to attack backwards and down (left/down) because you go fastest that way! I also made a game based on a bird of prey.

Arnage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:06am

I got 39.2 :)

Simonaiso says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Nice! Love the art. Maybe make a collectible system; collect all different birds!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:49am

I think sound would of helped this game a lot but other than that it was a nice easy game that made me want to better my score. Overall good job!

bakakyo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Oh my! I'm so bad at this game hahaha but I had a lot of fun playing it :P
Lovely looking game! The environment is cool.
The mechanic is very sweet too. Congrats!

ChaosCult says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:01pm

I'm not sure a predator is a monster, but at least it's a non-obvious approach to theme. The game would really benefit from some kind of additional mechanic, like maybe a quick dash that spends half your remaining energy or something.

Brightstar says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:57am

Nice game. I like playing as an animal in games.

pumpkin says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:41am

No sound on an action game is a drawback. Anyway, no bug is good, for a Ludum. However, it feels a bit empty. If you made it in 10 hours, why not spending the rest of the Ludum adding mechanisms?

Pantoufle says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:42am

Nice one. A little too simple maybe (but that's expected in 10 hours of dev).
I'd like to hear some music and sound effects. It always adds a lot to a game.
Good job overall

glerikud says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:45am

Not a bad game considering it was made in 10 hours.

ALobker says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:30am

Thank you for your nice comments. I assume most people end up in the 30-40 second range. There is no sound because there was no time left.

@ChaosCult: I guess the smaller birds think the predator is a monster :)

@pumpkin: I started on sunday afternoon (european time), so there was no extra time.

Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:44am

Wish I could do graphics that good in two days, let alone ten hours. It just seemed a bit frustrating to me that sometimes it looked like I was just pushing the other birds out of the way, and sometimes I ate them, when it didn't seem like I was doing anything different.

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:55am

The animations look sweet, I agree that sound would have helped but nice for 10 hours.

MAnimal says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 11:00am

Best score 43. Nice birds :). Why u don´t implement audio?

Xanjos says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 11:08am

Pretty fun and simple entry. I like the way the other birds run away from your bird.

DeadFragment says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:29pm

An interesting concept, lots of varieties of birds! and they had awesome animations.

-Neith

abcdef65g says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:15am

Simple, direct approach. I don't feel a monster here as much as I feel as a carnivore with a great appetite, but I feel the movement of birds flows well, and I like the fact it feels polished.

Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Simple, well made entry! I included it in part 31 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/rsAmrwtnu-0

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]