Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

From SLIME to KING

by Druid - Jam Entry

From slime to king!

Backstory :

You are most common monster in dungeon and you HATE it. So, you decided to find and kill human king and grab his crown. Luckily, human king is now in YOUR dungeon!

Controls :

WSAD for move, J for Jump and K for attack.

Gameplay :

You will be born as a random type of slime.
Every type has unique attack.

Red shot can steal health from enemy.

Green is .... Just slime (you get biggest challenge with this one)

Yellow shot make ... "rain" of "water"

Aqua slime have sniper shot.

Fuchsia is most intelligent slime. He have magic homing shots.

Orange slime have fireballs.

White slime is mutation, you can get worst or best shot in game.

You can also find various bonuses in game. If you get close to bonus, you will see what makes.
Sorry for horrible english and enjoy my game:)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#161Audio(Jam)3.60
#167Overall(Jam)3.68
#197Mood(Jam)3.58
#242Graphics(Jam)3.96
#285Fun(Jam)3.40
#318Theme(Jam)3.71
#349Innovation(Jam)3.25
#605Humor(Jam)2.66

Comments

Dejvo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:54am

really solid entry. entry. loads of variety, fun to play, well made mechanics and graphics. Fantastic Job!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:12am

Emmmm. Fluid gameplay and lot of laughes. This game wins. Nice job, it is really fun ;-)

collaboration says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:21am

Great! It really swallowed me for 20 minutes, excellent controls, also it would be cool if you will respawn at empty space, I mean - I respawn, and dudes kill me right there in like 2 seconds. Great job!

DoggyDog says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:31am

Awesome gameplay! Great atmosphere. I like the randomness very much, every run is different.
Skvělá práce Druide, to se ti opravdu povedlo!

ireal says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:23am

So great! Love the feel of that game ^_^

NAL says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:29am

I got a couple of problems - in the first try I was spawned directly into two or three enemies and killed on the spot. On the second, the king was glitching left and right and I was able to kill him by sitting on the block above him shooting him repeatedly without moving.

Ignoring that, this was great - I loved the graphical style and all the effects and flair, the gameplay itself was solid and the game was great fun, if short (loved the procedural generation too). Nice work, would love to see an expansion on this!

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:41am

Not sure if I missed something, or something is buggy, but are you supposed to spawn in and immediately be killed by NPCs? It feels like the FPS is running about 3-4x faster than it should be.

Given that, the graphics and item collectible system seem solid.

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:48am

I managed to get to level 3 by abusing enemy AI (they can't make certain jumps, and just jump up and down), and the mechanics feel like a solid metroidvania arena type game, at about a quarter of the speed they are running for me.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:07am

It seems like it should be good but the random level generator seems to be against me! Every time I spawned near a bunch of enemies that killed me in < 10 seconds!

magenta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:12am

Super hardcore. Think I died all but once when I was allowed to move around before being stabbed :}

SecularBaron says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Cool game. Good graphics, random levels, and fun! Triple jump = A+. I was doing good till I ran into some kind of horrible Tunnel Mage.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:04pm

We both like slimes ;)
The idea of the different power up is really nice, I like it. The graphic compartment is GREAT!! Nice audio, well suited!
Well done, nice entry!

Kubees says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Moc pěkná hra Druide! A taky pěkně těžká! Ten dungeon je taky solidně rozlehlý, takže než se najde ten king, tak to docela trvá... Dávám vysoký hodnocení! :D

uheartbeast says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Great job! The music was good the graphics were awesome. The fighting was a little bit awkward but I was able to get used to it. Love the random generation and items. All in all very well done.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:02pm

The yay:
- I got to be the king!
- different slime types
- mood

The nay:
- was kinda confused at the beginning; enemies falling on me and squashing me didn't help

Pretty solid entry, though not a highlight. ^^"

sydream says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Job well done. Audio is fantastic! Nice random generation though spawning 1 pixel left to an enemy is bad. Quite hard to kill the enemies, though the controls are super smooth. nice use of lighting.

pi_pi3 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:57pm

It's ok, but needs some balancing.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:12am

Really good game - fun, random stuff happening, lots of thought went into it. Good job!

FiSilva says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:41am

Uhhh I love slimes and I loved playing as one.
Very fun, I liked the different kinds of slimes and the powerups.

shimage says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:35am

Very nice graphics and audio. Random generator works fine. I like a magic ball. I beat the king with it!

Tommyno222 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Awesome game! I killed the king three times, twice thanks to him getting stuck and once in an open battle :D It's really challanging to not to get killed, so it's good there are various types of slimes. I like fireball especially. Also music is great, slime animations are awesome and the game feels very moody. Well done!

derr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Very nice graphics, audio and overall mood. The game is pretty hard though. I often spawned in the midst of enemies and it feels like it takes forever to kill off the skeletons until you power up a bit.

pirate_shell says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:35pm

One of the more polished entries out there. The idea is nice and the implementation is also good. I like the variety the random dungeon layouts bring and also the randmoness of the slimes is a very nice touch. I love the triple jump as a way to navigate the random levels witout overcomplicating the algorythm for them. The graphics were very well done and so was the music. The only issue I have is that the compat is quite akward but then again that might be just me not getting it. Overall, very solid entry.

Reccy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:50pm

This game makes me feel bad for slimes now haha. Seriously though, it's a really good entry. I really enjoyed it :D

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:39am

Wow, that was an awkward ending...Yet satisfying. Excellent game here Druid! This game has a ton of variety, while I didn't like a lot of the abilities I could see where they can make for completely unique playthroughs. Beating the game with the suckiest ability could be a remarkable challenge! You put a lot of love into this game and it shows in its final product. Another one of my favorites in Ludum Dare. :)

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:42pm

oh wow... it's not easy being a slime

adsilcott says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Absolutely loved the game. Fun but very difficult. I love how the slime is weak like it is in most generic RPGs. I wasn't good at the game but it was fun none the less.

Druid says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Big thanks to everybody who played and rated my game :) If you think game was too hard, you can play post compo version ;) (link in description)

Mantlair says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Very goood! Just too complete!

Clurect says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:43am

Really liked it, would like to see more later

Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:08am

Nice graphics and audio. The base attack projectile has no velocity and feels like I can't do anything with it. I got the red shot once and that was cool. I think the initial attach should be weak, but maybe a bit more useful. Nice game!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:31am

This was a cool game but was really difficult :P that is what kept me playing though and it was quite fun :D GG

Karai17 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:48am

Nice game, very difficult.

KarvaRausku says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:25am

The king respawns next to me with 2 other goons, go on platform --> they start jumping furiously unable to do anything. Beat the game being lvl 1 slime.

Besides that good game.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:29am

Loved the graphics, very smooth. Nice gameplay too, it was fun. I love being a little slime thing. :) Well done!

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:53am

The music is really good. I love the atmosphere!

Mouriso says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:08pm

great feel, couldnt stop playing

MiniBobbo says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:35am

Maybe I just got extremely unlucky with the RNG, but I played almost a dozen times and on about half of them the first enemy was too strong for me to kill. The second to last time I spawned right next to the king, who killed me instantly. The final time I beat the game because I spawned with the king on the screen and I just repeatedly shot him and he never moved.

So I win?

I personally would have enjoyed this more if it played at about half the speed (with half the weapon cooldown also). The randomly generated everything was cool but I think you needed some logic in there to stop the instantly unwinnable situations.

+1 humor for the "Have lots of children with yourself" comment at the end :)

wesley werner says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:42am

Great game! Fun to play, tricky to master, and speedy restart on death. Nice!

Grhyll says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:36pm

I found that incredibly hard '_'
It is pretty, the audio is neat, but I just get killed 0.5s after an enemy enters in the screen, there is litteraly nothing I can do, so I don't know if some of the controls went past my mind or if, as someone else said, the speed of the game is very high on some config, but I couldn't stand against any enemy!
Good feelings though in the movements!

Grahhhhh says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:17pm

This was a nice game! If you had more time to work on it, I think it would it could be real tight, but I had fun with this ludam dare version! I did run into the "king" really early a few times... :(

Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Very smoothly gameplay and well made graphics. I really like this entry. Good job!

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Top notch graphics and audio - but the enemies tend to glitch up and end up as easy targets. Anyways, great job!

KodingNights says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Love the music. Easy to get stuck.

Drauthius says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Interesting concept, with nice visuals and audio. It does get a bit hard to aim, and to find and kill enemies. Knowing that you can double jump made a lot of difference too. :)

Xanjos says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:50pm

I love the various abilities your slime could spawn with and the random level generation but the game itself is kinda unbalanced (enemies are ridiculously relentless).

Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:06am

Great game! Became a king xD

valid4life says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 4:26am

That was fantastic! The lighting was absolutely gorgeous and well-made. The overall work put into this is noticeable. Solid entry!

Sparrow says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Fun game, really hard. I eventually won by killing the king with rain slime.

Pusty says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Hmm I never got past level 2 because there weren't any enemies anymore o.O
Awesome game non then less! :D

OadT says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 8:06am

Cool game, I like the fast gameplay, also great music and graphics. Just the controls are a bit weird (WASD + K/L + Y/N to play again) Anyway nice entry :)

Ivan Volkov says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 11:34am

Great game! Replayable and finely hard
Although sometimes I was just spawning in front of king and he was killing me instantly :(
Also resolution is a bit strange
But it's really a strong 5!

jcourt says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Good Job. On level 1 I spawned in a pit that was WAY to high to jump out of. It was a single block wide and I couldn't see the top even when I jumped as high as I could.

Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Great graphics,very difficult!

Aaranos says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Plenty of replayability and I love the art.

Insality says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 4:13pm

a very polished game and with brilliant graphics+game feels. Your job is great!

Darkflint says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 10:43pm

SLIMES!!! I love slimes :D Game is really good, but also really hardcore. I barely managed to kill any enemy. Often i met very fast a king? who killed me without any problems. Or i met 2-3 enemies at once where i died then too. But still, different slime with different ability after every restart? Very great!

dancingmad says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 11:03pm

I finished the king thanks to blood shot, berserk and speed but it was hard !
Controls are good, music is great.
Nice work !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]