Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

small blob friend

by thristhart - Jam Entry

Name, feed, water and play with your small blob friend. Who's the little monster? You are! You're the monster! Yes you are!

Programming:
Thristhart
Zyrconium
Evaryont

Art:
DoktorGilda

Sound:
Songerino

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#259Audio(Jam)3.39
#281Graphics(Jam)3.88
#336Mood(Jam)3.37
#366Theme(Jam)3.65
#410Innovation(Jam)3.16
#514Overall(Jam)3.23
#643Fun(Jam)2.90

Comments

AlariSilver says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Little Blob Friend is adorable!

...and then I accidentally killed him :(

Clurect says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:44pm

SOOOOOOOOOO CUTE. I like that it squeaks when the finger is on the glass

Wevel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Oh God I kill him, nice water physics

slarrimer says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:00am

Small blob friend is super cute! and I am a terrible caretaker for small blob friend.

psydack says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:12am

Little Blob Friend Died but wasnt me! Haha, so cute, so adorable, so nice. But I feel a bit confused about if it's is a game or a sandbox. Anyway this pretty and well polish. Greatz.

Goutye says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:41am

Soo cute <3 But I was unable to stop me to dive this little guy. Like the water physics! Don't really like to eat?

madcapacity says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Nice water physics. If there was a way to empty out water, that'd be good to have.

ponk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Funny ! Nice drawings

rnlf says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Nice idea. Not much to do, but what you can do is done really nicely.

CreamyBacon1 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:02pm

I named him Greg!!! Good job!

block97 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:37pm

I've never felt so satisfied drowning an innocent adorable creature.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Where's the drain on this tank...? Uh, oh, it looks like I truly was the monster...

Hectigo says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:16pm

The sound effects really make this game/toy! Excellent polish for what it is.

shawn42 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:18pm

The graphics are super cute. Just need more to do.. fun toy.

Mase says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:10pm

As others have noted, the water surface tension is nice.
Good sound effects as well.

There's not a lot of stuff to do. An ending other than drowning, starving, or dehydrating blob friend might be pleasant.

OadT says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 9:37am

What a cute monster ^_^ Great sounds and graphics!

hate-marina says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:46pm

I'm the monster :C

Oct 17, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Cute graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/gLe7oOEiGe0

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]