Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Human Hunt

by Tridecimal - Jam Entry

Play as a monster who is fed up with all the humans taking over the land. There are humans in his house, humans in the mountains, and humans in the mines. Hunt them down and confront the evil king who leads them. Then YOU, the monster, will become the king.

EASY = Save points before bosses, and you keep your powerups.
HARD = No save points, and you lose your powerups. You get one shot.

Instructions:
Menu
-UP/DOWN = Change difficulty
-SPACE/ENTER/Z = Start game
Game
-LEFT/RIGHT = Move
-Z = Jump
-X = Scream
End
-R = Back to Menu

**SCREAMING HURTS THE HUMANS. HUMANS HAVE A CERTAIN AMOUNT OF HEALTH. IF YOU HIT THEM ENOUGH THEY WILL DIE. WHEN YOU KILL THEM YOU GET A POWERUP**

Genre is Metroidvania

Made using libgdx, eclipse, paint.net, and bfxr.

**UPDATE: ADDED RED OVERLAY TO BOSSES SO YOU KNOW WHEN THEY ARE BEING HIT.
AlSO ADDED ABILITY TO RETURN TO MENU BY PRESSING R**

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2134Coolness20%

Comments

Maramasa says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Wasn't really sure what I was meant to be doing, good effort though :)

plusultra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Cool, but I was unable to figure out how to kill or disable the pitchfork-throwing human.

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Couldn't figure out what to do with the guy throwing a pitchfork. Died 20+ times trying various things, nothing worked. Needs more player feedback.

corupta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:13pm

I am the king now yay :)
Kinda died like 100 times tho.
Maybe you can add health bars later on in order to see how much health the human has and if you're hitting successfully (I was like I hope I'm shooting right).

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:31am

I beat hard mode! It took me an hour, and it was really hard. Good job on making bosses that work with the mechanic, and have patterns.

AlexPGilbert says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:50am

I AM THE KING NOW!!! hahahaha

Just want start off by saying thank you for the extremely nice review you gave my game, I honestly was not expecting anyone to play it all the way to the win screen!!

This game is HARD!! But extremely fun. W/o the map I probably wouldn't have finished, so I would make clear in your description that players should look at the if they are getting lost in the beginning.

You can get stuck and it took me a couple hard resets (The R button didn't work for me) to get the game going, but once it gets going it is a fun challenging game.

I loved gaining new abilities and trying to figure out what each was. I think maybe a short message telling the player he gained an ability would be good. The octet jump was great!

The boss fights were really fun and really challenging it took quite a few tries to get through each one. You just have to keep in mind your new ability and you can get through them.

There is a really great game here. I feel, though, its hidden and you kind of are forcing the player to find it, which I don't think many people have that kind of patience. Overall this was a solid gaming experience! Good work!

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:36am

"I AM THE KING TOO, BUT THERE CAN ONLY BE ONE KING, I CHALLENGE YOU ALL FELLOW COMMENTERS!"
Gameplay was actually kind of need once you started figuring out what to do.
Finding all those patterns, when to jump was the really good part.
While I had a few nasty white lines from time to time between tile textures, the pixelated graphics were satisfactory.
This game could use some music too.
Good job!

ChaosCult says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Nice, but frustratingly hard for me.

GFM says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Seriously... this game isn't even half as hard as you made it be in a post... There isn't even the need for a map, since there's always only a single path that can be taken.

One thing that may cause some misunderstanding is the fact that it isn't said anywhere that you have double jump. Also, the "hardest" of the enemies is the first one, since the room is really small and you have little time to react. Thankfully, you didn't make it RNG based and I was able to figure out the pattern after I died 6~8 times. And the hardest part was it's second pitchfork, since it's quite high and the ceiling is really low...

The rest was quite easy... After I was able to beat the first enemy, I finished the game on the first try.

The graphics are quite simple, but they work nicely for the game and its resolution. Oh, and I really liked that, before the last boss, you actually get to the menu scene!

Nice work! =D
Next time, try to add more feedback, in-game instructions and polish! :)
(can't say much myself, though, because my entry is quite lacking on both feedback and instructions... XD)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]