Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Disco Arachno

by Thingo Studios - Jam Entry

You are the dancing queen, young and sweet, only you are also a spider. Uh oh!! The bouncers at your club are jealous of your MONSTROUS moves, so you'll need to watch out for electric currents while you're raving like mad!

Since you're a spider, you have to move your body one leg at a time. Use the arrow keys to move your foot within range, and press space to put it down.

FUN HINT! Got your legs all tangled up? Your six shoes are all different colors, which helps you remember which order they're in-- red, orange, yellow, green, blue, and purple, in that order. ROY G BIV!

ADDITIONAL FUN HINT: This game has TWO songs! The game randomly picks one when you play a game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#7Innovation(Jam)4.30
#130Audio(Jam)3.69
#367Graphics(Jam)3.70
#386Humor(Jam)3.04
#388Overall(Jam)3.37
#516Fun(Jam)3.07
#518Mood(Jam)3.13
#597Theme(Jam)3.37
#1268Coolness48%

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:17am

This is a really cool idea for a game! The movement feels nice and having to scramble to find the right tile is a lot of fun. I feel like having to dodge electrically charged tiles is a little bit unfair, however, as it's very rare that you'll actually be in control of the limb that needs to be moved out of the way. At that point, survival feels more like a game of chance than a game of skill, which greatly detracts from the fun of the game.

Rongefilet says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Very original gameplay, audio and graphics are perfect for the game. Very cool ! ^^

Vem says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:51pm

It's a very interesting idea, but I had trouble understanding exactly what I was supposed to be doing except dodging shocks.

Like the commenter before me, I felt that the shocks were more frustrating and random than satisfying to avoid.

A beautiful game, though :)

Pierrec says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Woaah! This is so fun! And the mechanics are really innovative, i love it!

BSODDevTeam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Nice and original one!

darklightteam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Nice unexpected entry. The mechanics are really hard to figure out though. Very polished!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:56am

Very nice. I like the aesthetic!

El Cabaro says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:34pm

This is one of those wacky ideas that you can feel the imagination emanating from. I thought it was pretty cool, I liked the graphics and music. Unfortunately whenever I noticed a spot was going to shock me and I had already put a foot on it, I was pretty much hosed since it takes a large amount of time to cycle back through the legs. It would be neat if you could cycle both left and right.

Really neat stuff nonetheless.

Aumni says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:40am

I really liked the gameplay. It's always for me to play games I've never thought of and enjoy them a lot. The art and music was also really cool. Awesome work!! :)

Ramiel says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Cool idea. I found the gameplay a bit confusing. It took me awhile to figure out how to get points. But cool entry.

Waterman7 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Cool concept. I would have liked to have some additinional incentive to move around except dodging the currents. Maybe score-pickups or something. Apart from that, it was quite fun. Good job! :)

KaiseanGames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Interesting and innovative idea. It would be a lot easier if you had only four legs... :p

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:39pm

I learned two things playing this game: 1) I suck at it, and 2) I love it want to keep playing. Has a cool pre-3D isometric feel to the art and the music is fantastic as well. Nice work!

Lady Beardo says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Love the look- game play is challenging! Good job on a novel concept.

los.pixelados says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:27pm

The concept is good but the music was soooo annoying i couldn;t bare it for more than 3 min. The controls are a bit clunky, moving one leg at a time is tiresome work. I wish all the legs were bound to keys so i can quickly select the leg i want to move or have a key that tabs through the legs. Also controling the movement of a leg with the mouse and clicking to set down would have been much better. The game would have been a lot smoother with 3 controls: Space - tab between legs; mouse - move leg; LMB - set leg down.
The gameplay would haave been more fun if you used the colors of the tiles in some way, maybe like the game Twister.
You get top points for innovation but for the love of all things holy, change the music, it's distorting my brain patterns :).

barigorokarl says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Wow, really cool! Would work nice on a mobile ;-) Nothing to nag about, felt nicely polished!

Flaid says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 11:06pm

Once I understood the concept, and how to score points, it was really fun!

I found the color of the shoe hard to see, especially when you're trying to get your shoes down on the correct colored spot AND avoid electric shocks.

I really liked the application of the theme, and the music was fitting to the gameplay. Well done!

Sep 9, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Super neat game! I included it in part 23 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/isROeWsQRB8

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]