Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Pok Pok Roarrr!

by Dikkop - Jam Entry

Sometimes, you are just born as a monster... and sometimes you are not. This is unfortunate but you learn to deal with it as you grow. This game let's you experience the difficulties in the life of a duck. Good Luck!

Cotnrols:
use WASD to move and mouse to look (hold Left shift to look freely)

Level 1: Pickup the brown bread crumbs while avoiding the mean chickens!
Level 2: Pickup the brown bread crumbs and grow/jump high enough to squash chickens and win! (Left Mouse Button to Dash forward if you just ate a Bread Crumb)
Level 3: Eat people by touching them, Shoot Cops with your lasers (Left Mouse Button)
Cops have sirens, People don't!

Credits:
Malena Klaus
Aaron Oostdijk
Paul Ziemer
Anders Lysted Brevik
Jan Piskur
Valentijn Muijrers

Sound might be a bit Loud!
Skip Texts with Space or Enter

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#62Humor(Jam)3.95
#185Audio(Jam)3.55
#250Overall(Jam)3.55
#251Fun(Jam)3.45
#344Graphics(Jam)3.76
#486Innovation(Jam)3.05
#599Mood(Jam)3.00
#883Theme(Jam)2.90
#1752Coolness36%

Comments

rotpar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:16am

Cute!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:08pm

omg... drowned chicken made me laugh out loud. Cute idea. The text sections were longer than the actual game though :(

Literal Games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:31pm

I'm not sure how the first level is winnable, you can't get to the bread without the chickens killing you, but the graphics are great!

Filecreation says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:49pm

this looks and feels great, but i had some difficulty getting to the winstates

ChaosCult says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:11am

Fuck... I am a duck! LOL that was genuinely funny. The second level is unbelivably frustrating though, spoils the impression... otherwise great game!

Taldius says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Really funny game, I love the scenario and the art style.
Great job!

Qaterknan says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:56pm

The controls are a little bit too sensitive. Graphics is great! I could not win the first level though. Good job.

mantis says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Really funny entry :D

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:15am

Ahaha, funny! Really loved the simplistic art style and the sounds on the text parts. Good job!

TackoramaLtd says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Fuck..I'm...A...Duck... If Ludum Dare had a sillyness category this would win. Shameless fun and full marks for going with the dumbness.

Quetzakol says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Nice work on the graphics, the cubic characters are funny. However, I found the game very difficult to control (the camera is really too sensitive and I lost a lot of time trying to understand what I had to do. Sounds are funny too but a bit annoying after some time.

Oct 20, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Cute game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/t2uXuiSquSk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]