Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Wasted Waters

by psychonull - Jam Entry

Eat people to become the greatest monster ever, but hurry up or you will be just one more of the many unwanted contamination results.

Controls:
<LEFT ARROW>, <A>: Turn left
<RIGHT ARROW, <D>: Turn right

Tools used:
Framework: Phaser (javascript)
Art: A combination of Photoshop, piskel, and one sprite from the past ld.
Sounds: bfxr, http://www.freesfx.co.uk
Music: https://chrome.soundation.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#189Fun(Jam)3.54
#231Theme(Jam)3.82
#275Innovation(Jam)3.34
#398Audio(Jam)3.08
#400Overall(Jam)3.36
#502Mood(Jam)3.15
#602Graphics(Jam)3.22
#642Humor(Jam)2.59

Comments

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:25am

Fun game, got confused for the last 10 seconds or so when the screen shake caused me not to be able to see my mutant. nice work!

TsN_RaMPaGE says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:40am

Hard to get the movement down, but once I did it was a blast! Good work!

hcosta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:48am

Really nice game and art, really good.

mooncalf says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:51am

Loved it! I wish I had some indicator as to where people were before I jumped or after I was over them. I ended up mostly finding food to eat and then mostly missing the people on the bridge.

Jimbly says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:53am

Fun game! Very polished feeling.

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:02pm

The end was a bit weird, and OH THAT SCREAMING SOUND.
But I a fun nerveless! Also when that bridge broke... Welcome to the bloodbath :)

Maramasa says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:08pm

I really like this game! Don't think I've played something like it before. Wasn't sure if the bridge was meant to break or not but cool nontheless. Awesome stuff!

janiq says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Really interesting idea and gameplay. Very good game.

Jakob37 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Nice and polished game. The controls did overall feel very nice. I felt that more control over the jumping/eating-part could have improved it even further, it felt a bit random when I did or didn't manage to eat someone. Highly satisfying ending. Well done!

blahgyn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Nice! i liked it. gratz!

eric777 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:38pm

I'm finding that my favorite games this this LD are the ones where you get to kill LOADS of humans. This one was just fantastic! And different than all the others I've played. I like how your character looks when he gets huge. Jumping out of the water to nab people was very satisfying.

Nicely done!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Good work. I like the glowing effect on the orb things in the water.

Lancelot Gao says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:30am

pretty cool!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:53am

Fun thing but a bit frustrating that we can't really see where the humans are when leaving the water or falling down from the sky =(

n42k says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:00pm

Very fun game, had me hooked for a while, it's a bit frustrasting that you can't see the humans on the bridge and you have to guess where they here and hope the best, but apart from that, it's amazing.

SeaMonster131 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Nice graphics and a lot of fun, screaming people are the best :)

yokcos700 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Best ending to a game ever! Everything before the ending was not so good. Because I can't see the bridge when I jump, I can't control whether I'm actually able to eat people or not; I can't aim for my victims. In that situation, I'd like to do a long horizontal jump to catch as much bridge area as possible, but that can't be done because the game area is too narrow. Other than the time limit, there's not much opposition. This all changes once the bridge breaks, though: The end is far more satisfying than it has any right to be.

tl;dr: Make sure the bridge stays lower, widen the play area, good game.

Rongefilet says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:31pm

That arcady feeling works very well, good job ! ^^

disperse says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:37am

Awesome, really fun, which is what making games is all about.

LMT says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:48pm

That was pretty awesome. No idea how I broke the bridge, but I did it! and that led me to become the coolest mutant caused by chemical waste ever. Perhaps, rather than having an end goal you could've made this more of a scroeboard type of game.

I love the sound that happens when you eat the people.

schnerble says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:16am

Tricky to get the hang of, but I like the style :) (Doesn't work on Firefox, by the way - at least for me; I had to switch to Chrome)

Electron says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Good game , what did you used to make it

Hamsternator says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Played like a trickier version of Super Mega Worm. Nice =D
The simple controls worked really well. I'm happy I played this =)

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:40pm

A nice take on a classic web game. There is a point in which the bridge is too high to see, so you just have to jump at it and hope you hit someone, but before and after that it was a blast. When the bridge finally broke, the chaos that ensued was highly satisfying.

SKT says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Absolutely in love with the sound effects, especially when the monster catches those colourful things. Pretty fun game, but that was hard to eat people because we can't see where they are on the bridge. Nice job !

Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:57pm

lol loved this, the graphics were nice, the controls were super easy to get, the character was cool, my first failure was intruiged by the message"you are not even in your final form" made me wanted to play it again, which i did, then the thing broke and i was like YES YES YES YES YES awesome!!!! :D a bit slow and tedious to get to that point is a negative, you miss a lot. :/ some sort of indicature with your monster senses as to where ppl are on the bridge would have been super!

Larzan says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Haha, just beautiful the idea and implementation! The controls felt a bit strange sometimes, it would have been nice to correct the movement in air at least a bit.
But really well done, n1!

ripter says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:18am

I wish I had some indication of where the people will be when I pop up. Most of my jumps where wasted.

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Very cool game! I like the scary music.

hexagore says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Nice art and the gameplay is fun. Thanks :)

Flaid says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 4:10pm

It kind of reminded me of a game that I have for iOS: Super Mega Worm.

I loved the Wilhelm scream, and the ominous music definitely added to the mood of the game. I found it a little bit difficult to control, especially considering that you can't exactly see the people on the bridge, making for most of the jumps being complete misses.

logiclogue says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 6:35am

I really enjoyed playing this game. Very unique game. Great job!

bodsey says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 2:45pm

I don't think this is a good game, but I loved it and played it through the end. Now I need to reconsider my whole system of value, bravo

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]