Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monsters Vs. Cookies

by kidando - Compo Entry

Are you the ultimate cookie monster?

HOW TO PLAY
- WASD or arrow keys to move
- J or X to throw spoons
- Hold down K or C to sprint (burns energy)

WHAT TO DO
- Destroy all microwaves FIRST.
- Destroy all other monsters. They drop cookies
- Eat cookies to gain energy. Hold down K or C to sprint (burns energy)

UPDATE:
- Removed bug that had the music do some overlapping thing
- Less unfair hitbox on Icecream Sammy

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#213Audio3.26
#249Humor3.22
#266Fun3.32
#361Graphics3.29
#383Overall3.21
#521Mood2.93
#697Innovation2.63
#756Theme2.85

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Very neat! I when you die though the music start to play on top of the music that is already playing - fix that with

if !audio_is_playing(song){
audio_play_sound(song,0,1)
}

Other than that, it was fantastic! Pictures were pretty, felt like battletoads meets my toaster :D

Skoggy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Good game. It was pretty hard though, died a lot!

Tigris says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:16pm

I liked the "Amiga" tune and overall theme.
Very good graphics.
Small bug when you check the "how to play" section as commented by patvanmackelberg.

kidando says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Thank you @patvanmackelberg! I can't believe I missed that. Thank you. for the comment :).

@Skoggy. Thanks!!! I died a lot too. hahahhaha.

@Tigris. Thanks a bunch dude. It's fixed now

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:51pm

This game has great charm and the retro graphics are extremely well done!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Really good music ! The game is too hard but funny.

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:56pm

This game is really frickin hard, but I was able to beat it and feel rewarded about doing it.
Nice job on making a hard game that is beatable.

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Nice game, cool music!

kidando says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:29pm

@PeachPieProductions thanks a bunch!

@adrenalineChallenger thanks. I like the music too :)

@RadioLemon. I'm so happy you beat the game. You understand exactly what i was trying to do.

@codeNMore. Awesome. Thank you for playing!!!

gene-z says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Nice and Hard game

Daisuke909 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:55pm

I felt genuinely compelled to keep playing this one. It was really hard and I really wanted to win. I also loved the sprites and the music. I would buy a plushie of that big guy.

kidando says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Thank you @gene-z

@Daisuke909 I'm glad you felt that way :). About that big guy, me too. hahahahaha

folex70 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:22pm

cool

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Nice arena shooter with good graphics. My only major complaint is that the hit boxes on the enemies are really big. Usually when you have full range of movement and the characters are rendered like a side view, the hit box is only the bottom half of the each character so that you can walk behind characters when you aren't in plane with them (Look at castle crashers for an example). The issue this brought up was that with the boss if you saw him coming at you from the bottom of the screen, there was a really good chance he was going to hit you regardless of what you did. That said I did finish the game after 4 or 5 tries.

Also as a side note I think I found a but where it you hit "R" while in game it takes you back to the title screen and afterwards the music never plays again even after you press space.

kidando says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:00pm

@dalbinblue thats really really helpful. I'm going to create a patch for that. But thanks a ton!!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:09pm

cute presentation, but frustrating gameplay. A lot of the collisions with enemies feel a little bit unfair. It's easy to get hurt by barely brushing up against a monster - it would be nice if characters had a few pixels of leeway on the borders of their hitboxes.
The other big problem I found was that there was very little real feedback when the player got hurt, which led to a lot of unexpected deaths because I didn't realize when I had taken damage.

kidando says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Thanks for the feedback @NickMakesGames.

ashbyte says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Dark Souls - Confectionery Treat Edition
This is is so hard, I love it! It has great music and I enjoy the look of the sprites. I think the hitboxes on the big toastie monster is too large :( I made a youtube video of me playing it and stuff, talking about what I like/dont like!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KCMQqLSe4o&index=2&list=PLjL9mJvOocbhQPIywHb4cns00Ud2ZGfTs

kidando says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Thank you @ashbyte. I going to release an update for the game soon. The video is great!!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:53am

I think that the animations are incredible, the graphics and the gameplay, without problems :-) Maybe is too hard but nice work!!

kidando says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:36am

Thank you Mechanic Moon :)

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:20pm

The hitboxes are still rather large for collisions, I feel and the cookies can run through walls. Surreal little title, zool-like retro art.

Sanka.X says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Great game !

The monster hit box and the fact that you can't shoot down or up side is a bit frustating though.

Pretty hard but I like that :D

Alexbrainbox says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:22pm

I love the sprites! and its bloodly hard! Spent 30 minutes playing and I've only managed to get the boss down to half health before being murdered by homing icecream missiles!

kidando says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:45am

hahahaha. Thanks for the people guys. Shooting up and down is something I'm seriously considering. I think after the compo I will bring this game to life. Complete overhaul

derr says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:36am

Great sprites and music! It's fun but very difficult to get the timings right. Solid entry.

kidando says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Cheers @derr

Sanju says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Nice game, but maybe too hard for me.

LewisChaplin says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:09am

Cool game, liked your monster and the cookies were cool, very hard to play, would have liked to shoot up and down as well as left and right

Benjamin says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:08am

Very good entry. At first I was thinking the game was way too difficult but when I learn how to use sprint it was ok. The balance and objectives are well designed. I would have put a cap on the energy ( maybe 20-30 ). Because once you reach 100+ energy you stop worrying about it, and the mechanic is not efficient anymore.

kidando says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:23am

Great insight @Benjamin. I will definitely consider making an adjustment to that for a more polished release. Thank you

Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:37pm

Love the artworks! Congrats with the great entry!

nihilaleph says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Yeah, shooting up and down would be great ^^; It seemed that going diagonally is faster than straight, because I outrun the sweets much easier that way
Other than that it played really well, great animation and music!

guoboism says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:21am

Cool game. Cookies are summoned to this world and only monsters can save the... world?

Dunric says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Good job on the game.

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 12:38am

Pretty fun game! I liked that running away is your defensive system that has limited fuel. It lead to some really tight situations ideal for these kind of action games.

Personally, I found the graphics to be weakest, specifically when it came to feedback and repetitiveness. For feedback, it was hard to tell when I got hit, and how long I remained invincible after I got hit. Similarly, I think some extra visual feedback when hitting the enemies would have helped. For repetitiveness, the ground and the walls could use a bit of spice. Maybe some chalk drawings, trash cans, or pebbles?

General says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:22pm

I managed to kill the boss!
Liked how could accelerate and run away.

The video reviews of the games I played: https://youtu.be/gAPMEoLs5yA
Your game is at 5:30

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]