Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Inspector Clumber

by GraciCebola - Jam Entry

This is a story driven, inspection game, style is dark and multiple endings.

Have fun!

This is a Ludum Dare 33 game, with post-jam bugfixes (no additional content, only fixing the game)
After downloading, simply execute the application to run the game.

Use WASD to walk, click with the mouse to interact with objects in the scene

F is to use your lamp, E or I toggles your inventory and SPACE or ENTER keys to move text forward!

If you get stuck, try to go back and look at every inch util you find what you need ;D

Game made by Graciliano Galindo, Eduardo Simões, Renato Alencar, and Pedro Castilho.

http://gurashicebola.itch.io/

http://xtty.itch.io/

additional samples by clruwe, leady, zabuhailo and alukahn at freesound.org

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#364Mood(Jam)3.33
#425Graphics(Jam)3.59
#437Audio(Jam)3.00
#667Humor(Jam)2.55
#683Innovation(Jam)2.80
#758Overall(Jam)2.96
#873Fun(Jam)2.58
#875Theme(Jam)2.92

Comments

magenta says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Would love to try this but it keeps crashing on startup for me. I am running it under Wine in Linux so that could be it :}

GraciCebola says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Will package it to both linux and mac soon! :)

Ixeno says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:12pm

I can't play it! ):
The screens looks interesting !(:

xvw says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:23pm

The first time I played, inspector has his legs buried in the ground. (z-display) I had the text "LIGHTING NEEDS TO BE REBUILT (13 unbuilt object(s))" displayed on the screen, I didn't know what to do.

I restarted the game so now it's working.
Into the pub, I just can talk to the barman, I go through the other people, I can't go upstairs.

I restarted the game ... back to the first bug! :D

It is a pity that we have to use both the mouse and keyboard. I think making "mouse 100%" or "keyboard 100%" gameplay would be much better!

The game is very beautiful, it takes a lot of memory but it is impressive to see this kind of game in a LD.

I wait for more post-jam bugfixes. :D

block97 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:47am

Fun Game, made the mistake of letting Norris live. Really liked the art style.

GraciCebola says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:32am

Thanks! We would do full mouse interaction into the game but sadly we didn't have enough time to do that for the jam.

We are trying to fix every bug we find out and updating the game as fast as we can!

Also, I can't seem to reproduce that error you are talking about, xvw. My friend also said it happend to him. Did you extract everything before playing?

Also, mac and linux build are on the way to be uploaded :D

GraciCebola says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:34am

Oh, and when you couldn't go upstairs... you missed something! Try to go back and solve the case ;)

Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:12am

Graphics are great! But I couldn't find a way to unlock the door at the top of the stairs. I walked around clicking on everything I could but I never seemed to be able to interact with more than the body outside, the doorman outside and the bartender and glasses at the bar. At some point I got a letter in my inventory (I'm still not sure how) but couldn't seem to do anything with it.

Mykaelos says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:07am

I'm actually a bit frustrated because I want to see where this game goes! But There doesn't seem to be anything else that is clickable except the Pale Ale and the bartender inside the pub. I found the three clickable things outside. None of the other NPCs in the pub are clickable.

Also, how do I use the letter in my inventory?

Otherwise, this game looks good and the theme looks really fun.
If there's a bug or something, let me know and I'll come back and play it again. Or maybe a hint on what to click? I clicked everywhere in both areas for a good ten minutes.

Also, Enter key is really awkward to press for text dismissal when the player has their hands on WASD and the mouse, thankfully it looks like space also dismisses text. I recommend putting that in the description.

GraciCebola says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:48am

Thanks for the sugestions!

You guys are missing something! Try to look on the corners outside, maybe you will find what you need.

Yes, I understand that the controls are a bit off but that's what we could come up with, giving the time we spent on creating the assets... Maybe next time we focus a little bit more on user interface.

You can't read the letter, but it's needed to continue though.

ChaosCult says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Nice graphics and sound, but I really don't feel the theme here.

Also, the game really needs to be started twice to get rid of glitches! Please fix this or include a note in description!

GraciCebola says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:33pm

I still couldn't reproduce this bug, even trying on other computers...

About the theme... you need to get to the end to find out the relation the game has with it :D

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 1:35am

Great atmosphere! Loved the graphics and audio! Camera placement was really awkward though, since usually it points to another direction and the character appears in another point of space, almost felt like teleportation...

/******* SPOILER ALERT ***********/
So I did get to the ending, but didn't get the second choice, like, why did I released him? What's his story?

Anyway great job!

MercuryXGames says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Wouldn't start, tho, I gave you a decent rating for the nice screenies!

Oct 20, 2015 @ 12:31pm

It lagged a bit for me, but it seems like a cool game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/t2uXuiSquSk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]