Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Destroyer of Cities

by Sedsibi - Compo Entry

In this you are monster, the destroyer of cities. WSAD to move, Space to jump, and mouse to aim and shoot.

All the buildings in the game are completely destructible. I spent far too much time on that and didn't get to implement much in the way of game play. I had a great time anyway.

This is my first successful attempt at Ludum Dare, third times the charm. I really like the original concept I was going for and will definitely continue to work on it.


EDIT August 27, 2015:

I have continued to work on the game. I've changed the name and moved away from the original monster theme. The basic mechanics I came up with in this demo are being used to create a team based shooter with both construction and destruction mechanics. Similar to what Ace of Spades was when it was a Free to Play title. I'm planning on making it free as well.

The new buildings I'm working on have complete interiors, and have a better damage mechanic. Projectiles, and now explosions, will have the potential to pass through multiple walls. Additionally I have added working mechanical interiors, with functional elevators and doors. I've also switched to a PBR materials from the simple textures of the Compo, I will be keeping the bright color pallet and overall cartoon feel. Next I will be adding a cell shader and the ability to construct various structures in the world.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#681Graphics2.63
#710Humor2.13
#715Theme2.96
#771Fun2.54
#851Mood2.09
#865Innovation2.15
#877Overall2.50
#1226Coolness49%

Comments

TimWright says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:31am

I downloaded the windows version, but there is no executable. Couldn't play it.

Ybalrid says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:35am

It's pretty. But there no much to do in it, sadly...

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:37am

This game would have done a bit better with some sound, or a plot! I just didn't feel it. It was oddly satisfying to see those buildings come apart though.

Chronodrax says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:58am

pointless destruction and fun is always welcome after 48h of hard work :D

Deadeyejoe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:31pm

i detroyed all building :D love the style art !

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:36pm

The sensitivity needs some tweaking, it's different for x and y and way too slow on x for me.

Boehrsi says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:27am

Loved the destruction, some sounds would be nice. :)

FloatingGhost says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Linux x86

it made me face backwards and move continuously

Sedsibi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:18pm

@FloatingGhost: Sorry I didn't get a chance to test it thoroughly on OSX and Linux. I'm actually still working on this, so I'll have to try and setup a test environment for OSX and Linux before the next release.

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:28pm

If you update this, change the attack method from those little pellets into the monster arm clawing the buildings and make the player about 2x/3x taller to get a nice godzilla thing going on. Nicely done.

Sedsibi says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:53am

@Zenmumbler: That was my original idea, I had a lizard that hatched and you would chase around people eat them grow and destroy the city, but I ran out of time getting the eating and growing mechanics to work well with a 3rd person camera. So in the last hour I ripped out the 3rd person stuff and dropped in the FPS destruction.

Koba0100 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:17am

Very slick, excellent for 48 hours! I really liked the way things blew apart, although it seemed a bit buggy at times. Sometimes buildings refused to crumble, which made it a bit less satisfying. I'm a fan of the little things, though, so the double-tap escape to quit put a real smile on my face. Something about it is just so clever and useful! Tiny, but meaningful.

Aevek says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:29am

A cool concept, but sadly not much fun in this state. I can definitely see what you were aiming for and the improvements you're working on sound awesome. Good luck with finishing this and making it into the game you want it to be. (also I agree with zenmumbler, a height boost and some camera shake would really nail that godzilla feel)

Kai20 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:29pm

wow looks ok but it makes so much fun i love it

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Nurbs says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 1:13am

A tech demo but a neat one. Physics-based destruction is always fun.

bossmojoman says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 1:01am

Nice start, should make the POV higher, you feel normal sized when I want to feel like godzilla!

MercuryXGames says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Didn't work?? game looks cool, so I gave it a decent rating :) would apreciate if you would rate my game as well! search for Death Maze

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]