Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries


by benmcnelly - Jam Entry

Instructions: Gather and store all resources until further notice, or you reach maximum capacity (over 9,000) units.

WASD or Arrow Keys to move, space to jump. You must return to Home Dock to empty payloads, and charge up. Some one time only charging pads exist, use sparingly.

Wrap up thoughts: is not entirely clear how you as a little space roomba are evil until you win the game, but I like that there is a reward for those who beat it.

***spoiler*** for those who don't get it, the way this fits the theme is; you (the STAHR robot) are just doing your job, but to the celestial object you are on, you are an alien robbing it of its life sustaining resources. The real monster is whoever made you, even if destruction wasn't intended, if we aren't careful we will become one of the monsters we humans fear most, an alien species sending its emotionless drones to harvest a peaceful planet.

"History will Judge us for what was done here, and by us I mean you."

CHeck out the "Bonus Features"! I had the idea during the JAM to save whenever someone won the game, and use that data to represent each person doing their part to destroy the celestial resource. I just now had some time to do something with that data, so here you go; now you can see every time someone beats the game, and maybe even someday see your name there. You monster you.

+Bonus+ now I know how to load in dynamic image assets at run time!

Downloads and Links




Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Pretty big file O_O
Very cool little game, grabbed my interest for a long time. First off, Really cool intro and icon. Also the minimap and effects were really cool. I liked the jump effect, it shadows the ground more.

Aumni says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:10am

I really liked how your game showed the 3D depth even with the top down view. I also enjoyed the relaxing ambiance that the music created. :D

valid4life says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:13am

Not bad!
I noticed the Zelda intro piano haha!

ranmaru90 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:46am

What a pretty game! I like the minimap!

aprotasenya says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:03am

Very cool audio/visuals, especially the minimap which is not the usual static schematic representation of the reality, but the actual reality shown from the cam somewhere above that's drifting and rotating a bit. That last thing is my favourite. :)

amras0000 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:59pm

The game is relatively compelling (got me to finish it, even if it dragged on a bit) and you nailed the mood. There's just a lot of small things that bothered me throughout the game:

-The music, while nice at first, eventually got repetitive and grating.
-The mountains/pipes/etc aren't textured at all.
-There are clipping issues in places, both between pieces of geometry and with camera intersections.
-The texture on the ground isn't tiled properly; you've just reflected it across both axes, without hiding the fact. Photoshop's bandaid tool is your friend.
-Theme! How is this in any way related to "You Are the Monster"?

Finally, in the end credits you mentioned that you didn't make the music. If this is true, I believe Ludum Dare rules request you disable voting on the game's Audio. Thanks.

Pleasant experience overall.

benmcnelly says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Thanks for the detailed review, and we are pumped you were able to complete the game! I think you are right about the music category so we opted out of that one. Our music designer had to go home after day one, and we came up with the game idea after he left!

Lancelot Gao says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:04am

Very cool art and sound, Amazingļ¼

Galan says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:11am

Very chill. Would be very enjoyable broken into a series of short stages, especially to clear stress.

Acerio says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:40am

I really love the 3D view! Great job. The music got a little repetitive but that's okay, I read about why it was like that.

And I see where you got the theme idea from. You're like me, thinking outside the box :) Great game!

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:07am

Looks and feels awesome, there's not much gameplay but the great tune and cool graphics left me playing for around 15 minutes just searching around. Well made. I would've rated audio highly, but for some reason you disabled it D:

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:17am

I like the intro, feel epic when first time open the game

martymon says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:56am

loved the music but couldn't rate it :/. I thought he top down jumping was pretty innovative though!

AdayMC says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Very good entry, amazing artworks. Music, sounds and graphics were very well done.

Good job

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:44pm

Really chill game, I thought the minimap was an especially awesome addition. Ps nice zelda music.

HellBlazer says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:14am

Not a bad entry but I feel the theme could have been made clearer, if only in the ending text. I read your "spoiler" above, and that's an interesting interpretation of the theme, but in-game I don't think it's really clear that you're doing anything harmful, even at the end.

benmcnelly says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:06am

Totes agree man, I wish I would have done more in game to convey that. I had a plan (now live at the top) to show that off better, but no time to work on it until tonight. Work has been crazy and I just want to sleep when I get home ;-)

CheesyRamen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:49am

Nice job! Reminds me of playing the resource collection parts from Star Control II =)

ManuelGF says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:54am

Call me a rare, but I understood the theme simply by looking at the map on the game, it reminded me instantly to the world's map and its energy resources (though the map it is not from the earth). Well, not much to say, I simply love this entry, awesome work.

jk5000 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:21am

Great music.

tweedle says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Good stuff here! The mood is set well by the music and lighting. The minimap looks really cool, and it's incredibly helpful to find your way back to the recharge station.

You must sign in to comment.

Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

[cache: storing page]