Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Intergalactic Love Machine

by Slothmachine - Jam Entry

Story:
Astro is a spaceman on a quest to bone every species in the entire galaxy. Guide him on his adventure of lust.

Credits:
Noora Klaavu - Art
Jukka Rasmus - Art
Krista Erkkilä - Art
Miikka Harjuntausta - Code

Music:
Show Me - Kamikazi1
Brewing Something Funky - STS-M1tch

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#13Humor(Jam)4.46
#29Graphics(Jam)4.60
#34Audio(Jam)4.13
#61Fun(Jam)3.88
#66Mood(Jam)3.97
#70Overall(Jam)3.94
#417Innovation(Jam)3.14
#519Theme(Jam)3.46

Comments

saucygames says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:49am

10/10 dating sim, would date again

felipeberquo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:25am

For long I've missed games like this! Great job!!!

zillix says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:39am

oh man this is awesome! very polished and entertaining. well done!

collaboration says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:30am

Dudes, this is so cool! 5/5

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Lovely graphics! I included it in part 1 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/SB3lix7PW1A

Ellian says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Perfect score, even if the die and retry is so frustrating!
Insanely good job you did there. Super fun, incredible art style, amazing writing. Love it <3

NightShadow0 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Haha this is brilliant, the art style is amazing! I wish you didn't have to restart from the beginning, it's a little tedious to have to redo all your answers, but i enjoyed it! Nice work!

Hemuuuli says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:39pm

I got many waifus. You have my thanks.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:51pm

I played it till I can win finally :) It's really funny and smart. There was another game like this in Connected Worlds LD.

Dizzly says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Really like this... not quite sure how it fits into the team apart from that you are dating monsters.

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Best date sim evar. I may now go in space!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Restarting all over again everytime was a bit tedious, but the humor of the game is worth it!

magenta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:51pm

A great twist on the memory game! Graphics are super sleek, makes me want to watch Space Dandy now :}

magenta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Whoops, forgot to add - the Android APK worked like a charm. In fact, I think the game is meant to be played on mobile devices!

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:58pm

I think I'm going to get some girl friends very easily now because of this training! Thanks so much!

Birke says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:39pm

Hilarious game. I think the life system did not really serve a purpose though. It might be better if you could just try out all the answers without having to start over

Literal Games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:50pm

A monster dating sim. I didn't think I'd see the day. Really lovely visuals!

dos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:24pm

All my social skills have been now replaced with a knowledge from this game.

I hope you know what you're doing!

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:00am

5/5 for art and graphcis

Caspila says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:10am

hahaha this was so much fun. love the art, story and audio. everything spot on! good job

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:17am

Awesome writing and graphics and art. Especially Tina.

Having to restart every time made it take forever to beat though.

Gamepopper says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:28am

I love the dialogue and the text options, this is a really neat idea to base the theme on and the design of the monsters are really well made, fitting with the individual characters.

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:53am

I just loved your game, I'm not a huge fan of relationship games but I had a good time with this one. Spicy and weird!

Rulrite says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:05am

Brilliant game! The art is wonderful, the dialogue is funny, and the entire thing is very well-polished. I wish that I didn't have to restart from the beginning each time (maybe it could return you to the first question of the round?), but if it's meant to test your memory, I can see why it's like that. Great work!

Awpteamoose says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:58am

Really well made, I even understand why you made people replay all the dialogues again on game over.
Tina <3

rudra says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Really cool and quite different from most of the games out there. Good job :)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Great art! Haven't played one of these in quite some time.

Nappu says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Hi! I'm one of he developers. Thanks guys! :)
http://i.imgur.com/RECz0Da.png

NikB says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:10pm

This is so awesome, hard to think of anything not to like.
Also some very noteworthy puns in those dialogue options :)

Slapunas says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:06pm

You should have added checkpoints, other than that it was great.

Piotrek says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Funniest game i've played on this ludum dare. Good work.

01101101 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Really good looking game, funky music, funny dialogues, all in all a solid entry!

Hippomancer says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Hilarious, with awesome alien designs.

monetai says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:26pm

5/5 so fun, awesome music and "lovely" aliens =)

Strike says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Simply wonderful !

Zccc says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:46pm

This was perfect! I gave up after reaching the calculady, it's annoying to start everything over :(

Ithildin says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Great style! Music really fit the visuals, which were impressive, and the answers were hilarious. Amazing entry, congratulations! :D

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:33pm

I couldn't beat it so I gave up at the nightmare school girl XD graphics and music are great!

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Laughed too hard. Game was also hard. Very fun though, great graphics and great mood. Awesome job!

CrownCity says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Dude! I love this so much! You have a great sense of humor!

DragonGino says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:13pm

i loved the answers.pick always the worng ones out.

johnhattan says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Love the graphics, sound, and theme. This one hits on all cylinders.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Omg I made a dating sim too! I can't wait to play yours when I get home!

Jod says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Loved it. Completely lost it when the fish entered the screen. Can you get past 17?

OrangeeZ says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Brilliant!

Joror says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Verrry nice ladies... I mean graphics. I really want to get them in my pants... I mean in my good graces.
Would have loved a bit more mechanics for gameplay, but as long as it has alien hotties you got me.

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:30am

Did it, I got 'em all. Love everything about this! Glad to see another dating sim. More, please!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:57am

Loved the art style and humor. Great game overall, everything was spot on! Amazing work! :D

Jod says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Got to 48! Needed an orgy of 4 persons to score with all the aliens! AWESOME!

Really worth going past 17.

team_ftlol says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:56pm

I played it to the end. That randomized shoe-picking question felt kind of unfair, but the rest of it was really entertaining. The fish puns were top-notch! Beautiful art and great choice in music. The first impression at the menu screen is worth starting the game for.

Great variety of aliens! The game went a lot farther than I thought it would. Good mix of option-picking and... other kinds of interactions. Gameplay is pretty straightforward. It's a bit like a game of Simon, where you have to remember a long string of button presses. I'd like to see more of those non-option-picking minigames, though I know that's a lot more work.

-mildmojo

Slothmachine says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:23pm

@team_ftlol Thanks! But it was not a random show-pick. Look at her eyes next time ;)

team_ftlol says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:56pm

@Slothmachine Aha, I didn't notice the cue, only that it changed between playthroughs. Then again, it took me like 8 playthroughs to notice the soccer ball, so...

BTW, the WebGL build failed on start in Firefox. The only clear error in the console was that it tried to load "http://slothmachine.net/NewsFlash/NewsFlash_IntergalacticLove.txt" but the request was blocked because the Dropbox page is HTTPS and that link is HTTP. Visiting that address just gives me a 404. The plugin version of the game worked fine.

-mildmojo

Slothmachine says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:54pm

@team_ftlol Ah! Thanks for the report! I'we had some people complaining about a crash in the beginning and I haven't had a clue what could cause it. This might be the issue.

andreiichim says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:07am

Sweet game. Love the graphics and the audio.

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:24am

Hey, it's the game about my friend, really. 10/10

petitpois says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:43am

Very fun, great graphics. Great take on the theme!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:52pm

DEATH BY SNU-SNU!

GagaPete says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Repitition on failure was a bit annoying but the game is pretty polished.

bloomingbuds says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Nice game guys! You have tons of good art, congrats!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Wow, just wow.

iossif says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:10am

the music really got me into the mood

jcwelgemoed says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Extremely well made. Good fun. If you suck at it like me though it gets a bit tedious going through the same order time after time. Still did not stop me playing though. Good work

Ivan Volkov says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Omg, replayed it for about.. 12 times, I don't know. Maybe because my english is not really good, but some answers wasn't really clear for me.
But I've got it till the 29 level! That was fun to play, here's 5!

Tuism says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Great writing, it's a rote game, but humorous games tend to be :)

Fantastic art, great music. The concept of "you're the monster" is way too subtle, but perfectly there :)

Nice one! Bow chika bow wow! :)

Patacorow says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Words cannot describe how much I love this game

guoboism says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:53am

Wow, so polished graphics! Great job!

MintArcade says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:16am

Very cool game, love it! Best dating sim :D Thanks for creating it! Awesome.

TijmenTio says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:11pm

This is great! Especially the humor, art and awesome music. Only thing I disliked was that I had to do everything all over again when I retried. And I did that a lot because I wanted to see all the conversations :) But as a result the replayability is really bad.. Otherwise totally loved it!

disperse says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Really well done, wish there were a couple checkpoints though.

Biruts says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:09am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Interface says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:45am

LOL!

arzi says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Amazing!

Sep 4, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Pssst - You've been featured in todays Ludum Dare to Believe! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FUCBlrR9qzA

Drauthius says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Very nice game, only wish I didn't have to go through all of them when I fail. Very funny with nice graphics. :)

pereubu says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 11:25pm

I am really bad at this game >:

spotco says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 12:59am

Great writing and art, music was absolutely killing it!

CreamyBacon1 says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:51am

The fish got me! Good job!

Kizler says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 5:00am

This game is brilliant beyond words. :)

SkullPixel says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 2:32pm

What was that? I like it. Nice idea, and the gameplay is so weird that I may just go take a nap and hope I don't remember flirting with monsters...

wooltech says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Fun, great looking and well polished game. Shame you have to restart from the beginning when you get it wrong, not just restart the, erm, lady you are with.

suppi says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:43pm

High five!!!

Gaius Baltar says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Hilarious.

Galvesmash says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 7:35pm

That was the most funny and beautiful game I played. I lost sometimes because it was really hard not to choose the funniest answer.
Excellent game!

Wekid says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Real fun! Awesome concept! Great Job!!

CtrlAltTea says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Insane - and insanely gorgeous. Also, loved the writing!

randoman says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Oh, I didn't know half of the foods for the Fish, she's too much for me. Altough I don't see how it fits in the theme, was a very nice game to play.

garygreen says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Great looking game and fun too. :-D

Nappu says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 9:11am

Oh my god you guys - thanks! :D
I'm so happy if the monsters have made you laugh!

Sep 7, 2015 @ 11:26pm

uh... okay....I still don't know 100% what I just played, but it seemed pretty cool so I guess I'm okay with it.
The overall style and presentation of this game was very impressive, but I really was kind of disappointed in the gameplay. It (typically) boils down to just being very simple multiple-choice questions which don't really pose any interesting challenge to the player. What makes this particularly frustrating is the lack of checkpoints. If I mess up while ... seducing the fish, I have to start all the way back at Uhara. Seeing as I've already answered her questions and none of them change, it kind of feels like a chore I have to get through before I can return to the funny parts of the game I haven't seen yet.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 4:30am

Nice musics and funky aesthetic. A must-have for those who like click&point little adventure. Neat ++

kerotan24 says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 6:43pm

its like Space Dandy!

jimmypaulin says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Without a doubt the most hilarious game I've encountered so far. The dialogue trees are pure monkey island (or should that be leisure suit larry??) - it's what mass effect would be if we happened upon Shepard in some downtime between saving the galaxy. 5 stars

bombjack says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 7:56pm

amazing soundtrack and graphics :)

Arnage says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Great writing and artwork. Feels very polished overall.

adsilcott says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 2:39am

The caress my nose part had me dying. Fantastic job!

crucknuk says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 11:22am

Well this was hilarious!
loved the dialogue and see how far could i go.
I felt into the trap many times before seeing that some of them got their 'caraters' :P

The drawings are great and it was really fun and enjoyable.
Keep up the good work! :)

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 1:17am

Boned myself from another dimension.. 11/10

Seriously though, wow guys. Great music, AMAZING art (I know there was 3 of you but damnnn that's a lot of high quality assets). LOADs of content, hilarious from start to finish.

WUHUUUU! I scored 46 :)

xWarZonex says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Really funny game.

pirate_shell says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 7:03pm

This was a well made simple game with a great presentation. I would say more depth but it's already good as it is so great work!

Vladirien says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 9:41am

Really fun game. Lost it when I saw the fish :D

Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:19pm

You have to be a true monster to caress that nose!
I lol'd a lot with this game..

shawn42 says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 1:09am

Lots of fun, not so great for replay value though. Amazing art and the music and sounds really fit the mood of the game; nice work!

Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:57pm

pretty darn good, had a good chuckle, well done, nice audio and amazing art.

MikeEnoch says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:07pm

That title screen! Sets the mood brilliantly, and it just gets better and better, fantastic game :)

jsmars says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Haha awesome graphics and humor in this one :)

BoyWithStick says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 12:15am

HAHAHA. So funny. The crotch thrust kills me. The artwork is so good. Awesome entry.

Nov 14, 2015 @ 4:48pm

I included your game in an article of my favorites and added a trophy to your profile! http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-33-part-1-uzbzpjci

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]