Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Gelan's Quest

by rnlf - Compo Entry

*************************************************
I've added an experimental Web version. I made it using my equally experimental LÖVE for Web port, Motor2D.

If you have any problems running the game in the browser, please try the standalone Windows or Mac version or download the .love file and run it in your own installation of LÖVE.

If you find any bugs you think may be related to the web version, don't hesitate to tell me.

I've heard reports that Chrome stops playing the music after a few seconds for some people. It seems like Firefox plays it flawlessly.
*************************************************


Requires LÖVE >= 0.9.1.

Gelan has to leave his home. Guide him to safety in this classic point and click adventure.

The game is more like an interactive story, only a few small puzzles are included.

You can set the speed of the text displays (dialogs and narrative) with keys 1-5. 3 is default, 1 is super slow, 5 is too fast too read ;-)


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#5Mood4.41
#33Overall3.98
#100Graphics4.00
#142Audio3.45
#167Theme3.87
#315Innovation3.24
#547Fun2.91
#729Humor2.06

Comments

pavel_insight says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:17pm

I love to see a point&click adventure here! Serious story and the message. Emotionally touches, of course. Well polished game (except 1. some minor typos 2. bug with repeating quotes and 3. the very last sentence). And artwork is pretty nice!

Aurel Bílý says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:23pm

As I already told you, well-polished.
Good music, clean graphics. (the 'punch' was kinda funny)
But definitely trying too hard to push a message. I would love more gameplay where you actually make decisions and make a difference rather than an 'interactive' movie.

Fenreliania says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Relatively simple gameplay, nice graphical style, and a really impacting story with an important message. A bit too much writing with not enough gameplay, and some awkward phrasing, but great nonetheless.

Tijn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:31pm

This game is just great. I can't believe you made all this in a single weekend. It's true the game is a bit heavy on the writing and isn't subtle about its message, but so what? It looks/sounds/plays absolutely top notch. Very well done! 5/5

VDZ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:03pm

There's not really much I can say other than that it's an excellent story game. I would have preferred clicking to advance the text instead of auto-advancing text, but that's a matter of personal preference.

rxi says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Firstly: its quite a shame you didn't manage to make any gifs because the animation is what makes the visuals in this! Everything seems to have a nice fluid consistent motion to it. The walk cycles, the kid jumping up and down on the bed, it really brought life to the work in places where you could have easily had a static image. The chunky mouse cursors were perfect.

The music was nice and simple, it was minimal but provided a nice atmospheric drone, and fit to the mood well, it went through numerous loop iterations but never felt irritating or intrusive. I really liked the other small details, the text fading-from-black in small chunks was a nice effect and also helped to match the mood in a similar way to the music.

I felt the story was a bit rushed, especially given the message it was trying to deliver; it'd be interesting to see how it would have turned out given more time.

Overall nice work, I enjoyed playing it!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Moody. Really nice graphics.

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Good game, fantastic message, nice mood and feel. Nice job!

zuurr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:02am

dang that was some serious shit

(html5 version worked like a charm fwiw.)

lukepilgrim says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:30pm

surprisingly serious for a gamejam game. well polished, nice art. this needs a subtle but emotional background music, a bit more gameplay, and the message shouldnt be that much "in the face" from the beginning, so there would be a more surprisingly revealing in the end, but: super great for a gamejam game.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Outstanding game! so simple and well written. An amazing accomplishment.

GagaPete says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:46pm

I almost cried. 6/5 for mood. Well, one can not miss the message of the game.

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Well done. The story is really awesome, good gameplay, but you need some audio for the atmosphere. Finally I liked it. =)

johnhattan says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Nice little point-n-click game. Movement was a tad slow, though. Would like to have had some shortcuts to walking around.

rnlf says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:59pm

collaboration, there's music and some sound effects, what do you mean?

Galan says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:06pm

The story was a little heavy-handed, but for a very good reason. This is the kind of game I don't ENJOY, but most certainly appreciate. On top of that, it felt really polished for a 48 hour game. Please continue to make games like this one, the world needs them.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Quite impressive content for 48 hours. Your pixel art was very consistent and detailed, and the mood was appropriately gloomy and soul-crushing.

I only noticed one bug in Firefox, where the music stopped if I switched tabs and never came back.

I have one suggestion for the game in general -- don't automatically change to the next line of text. Having different text speeds and clicking to advance are both great, but as it is, if you glance away for a moment you can still miss when a line of text changes over. You might have a tiny [>] continue button in the corner, and clicking anywhere could still continue to the next line of text.

Gamepopper says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Brilliant message, and a really well made point-n-click game. Great job!

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:38am

Not much of a game, but a lovely and thought-provoking experience. I wish there were more player interaction. I feel like 80% of the game was just text between scenes. That may be unavoidable with this genre and the time constraints. Graphics were quite nice. Impressive for 48 hours. To the top of the mood category for you!

LeafThief says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:35am

Thank you for making this. I'm living in Austria and like in many other European countries we are also incapable of dealing with the situation in a human way.

Here, too, there's racism founded on the arguments that they use in your game.

Here, too, the refugees have to hope for someone to show them a kindness.

Here, too, there are so many monsters.

I will share this and spread the word about it. I'd have this play everyone, especially those blind to the topics addressed by your game.

WetDesertRock says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:06pm

I liked this entry.
The music worked very well, you choose a good style, and you pulled it off well. It meshed well with the story and provided a nice background to the game. My only complaint about it was that it never changed. I kinda wish each episode had new music, perhaps getting darker and darker as the story went on.
I'm less a fan of interactive stories, but as I enjoyed this one. It was one that was new. Not something you hear about all of the time. The message was a good one as well. One thing I think it could've use more was interaction. Even if the story ends up the same, I believe you could make more puzzles not based on dialogue, and more based on an inventory system and using stuff in the right places. This would serve a couple purposes, keep the player thinking, and also make the player more invested in the story.
I liked the graphics style, I think the cycling to saturated to unsaturated was a nice effect, however I wish the unsaturated point was less to make the effect more subtle.

WetDesertRock says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Oh, I should note that again I mentioned things that you may of already thought of, but couldn't do due to time constraint. Dunno, sometimes its hard for me to know what people would do if they had more time. Also, the music comment wasn't saying the music you had was repetitive, just that I believe your game would've benefited a lot from music that interacted with the story more and changed.

WetDesertRock says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Hey! You cannot edit these.
Another thing I wanted was more sound effects, your game would've benefited a lot from a subtle few interface clicks, maybe a sound byte of you speaking the language you cannot recognize, wind sounds, footsteps, etc.

MrTwister says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:47am

Well I'm... speechless. That was deep. Really thought-provoking. A nice spin on the theme flawlessly executed.

A beautiful entry. Incredibly polished! I'm really in awe. Congratulations!

Zeriver says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Whoaw, that was deep. Nice approach to the theme. I liked art style and music is setting right mood.

axoona says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:53pm

This is a very good entry. It's an experience you don't find often in video games. I hope more people will have a chance to see your game.

Granat says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Wow, this was great. The story was very unsettling and I had a knot in my stomach while playing it, not knowing what would happen next. The audio and visuals were well made, and perfectly suited to the rest of the game. Fantastic!

rodobodolfo says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:35am

Wow! thats a really well polished game! one of my favorites.

freaknarf says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:38am

Well polished game ! Very good work, it really has an old school point'n'click feel. As some said it's as much an interactive film as an adventure game, but I think the most important here was the message behind it and what it means, not having fun solving non-sense puzzles. Well written and well done ! Good job !

KeyboardCat says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:29am

Wow. Brilliant ! The end gave me chills.

Really good game !

dos says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Very strong message. A bit too-slow paced and could use some better puzzles, but nailed the mood and is really nicely done, especially in graphics. Good job!

dawik says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Cool game with important message. Gave 2 stars for fun and mood, but thats only because of the seriousness tone of the game. Good job!

shawn42 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:42pm

wow. nice message in a game. Love this entry!

Jelinib says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 2:25am

Music, dialog, and the static/desaturation effects did well to set the mood. Riveting writing. Amazing job, especially for a compo!

euske says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:03am

You would get 10/5 for the message.

Personally, I felt it could be better not to say that phrase explicitly at the end, letting the player dangling and ponder.

LandoSystems says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Excellent story, very well presented. Lots of polish. Great art style and music. Great work!

Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:25am

Nice to see use of LOVE in an adventure game format. A mature and emotional game relevant to the present issue of refugees. All in all a polished and tense adventure game experience with a lot of narrative content for a jam game.

Would recommend.

wesley werner says ...
Sep 16, 2015 @ 4:56am

Congrats on placing in the top 100! This is a nice little adventure game. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]