Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Mon Mon Quest

by LegacyCrono - Jam Entry

♪♫ You gotta be the pretty good like people haven't been before! You are the 'mon!~ ♩♪

This is a simple RPG inspired by Pokémon, but inverted. You play as a monster, trying to grow up strong and become very powerful. However, those pesky trainers are coming for you! Be careful!!

Controls:
Arrows - Move
X - Action

Obs: Due to time constraints (and because this was much harder than I anticipated) the game is somewhat unfinished. Many minor features were cut out, e.g. the main game objective. It IS playable though, so please enjoy kicking trainers around!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#164Humor(Jam)3.55
#476Overall(Jam)3.27
#477Theme(Jam)3.52
#599Mood(Jam)3.00
#603Innovation(Jam)2.91
#657Graphics(Jam)3.09
#708Fun(Jam)2.82

Comments

gquibao says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:46am

HAHAHHAHAHHA Incredible. Just amazing. You should develop for 3DS, would totally buy it. Congratulations dude! Your monsters look much better them the ones from Pokemon X and Y.

MiniBobbo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:29am

That was really funny! It was a huge time saver once I learned that you could just keep using your best skill even though it only said one use :)

My keyboard hates you.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:02am

Nice subversion of the monster RPG format; very fitting to the theme. Art could be improved but the overworld was pleasant enough. More variation in monsters rather than color palette change would be a strong area of improvement. Otherwise, nice work.

duskpn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:03am

Best interpretation of the theme I've seen. I'd love to see this idea more developed.

madmaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:38am

Captures (get it?) the pokemon feel perfectly. Love how ambitious this concept is.

PEBKAC says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:07am

Nice game, very good graphics.

Solifuge says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:22am

At least Sproutic's Bark isn't worse than its Bite. I appreciated the messages for Developer POV too. The ability to button-mash for power was nice, but the damage values seemed highly random even when I hit 5 stars, so it was a let-down.

Neat take on the theme; this is a role-reversal I'd like to see more of. Thanks for putting this together!

celisoft says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:34am

Nice!

fullmontis says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:44pm

This was a fun take on the theme. I really like it, and made me laugh.

treeman says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:10pm

I love me some pokemon games! Very funny. Unfortunately the gameplay is a little slow, but then again I always played pokemon on ultra speed (emulator).

TomOlivier says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Great game, had some good fun !

khahem says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:43am

My keyboard is dead, but not in vain. Great theme interpretation :)

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Fantastic work, I went into expecting a lot, and my expectations were exceeded, great job!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:24am

Simple and straightforward, a good use of the theme.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:26am

Really cute sprites for the trainers and the monsters. Really great implementation of a battle system. You crammed a decent and polished system for such a short period of time. Great job!

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Yeah, that's... wow! You could totally expand this into a full retail game. Excellent!

sbarrio says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:28pm

You totally nailed it, my take on the theme was similar to this but I liked your implementation way better!

fistmaker says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Hard, but fun! I couldn't win even one battle...

Lady Beardo says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:22pm

"But I'm the very best!" Well done.

Drauthius says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Good concept. :) Too bad you ran out of time!

wademcgillis says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:20pm

A little slow, but this is fun. Do you ever evolve?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]