Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Akumajou Crapula

by MaesK - Compo Entry

Welcome to Count Crapula's Castle! The Count just want to enjoy a fine drink, but his enemies won't let him rest!

Bastard sons, vampire hunters, bunchs of soldiers have entered the castle! Give them the fireballs they need.

Controls:
Arrow Keys = Move
Z = Jump
X = Fire
C = Simetric teleport

This weekend was reeeally scarce of free time, but I needed to finish something for LudumDare, so here it goes! :D

EDIT: Uploaded a Unity Webplayer version identical, replacing the HTML5 one, so that Keyboard buttons are not ignored by Gamejolt.

EDIT2: Fixed bug that got game stuck on round 4. Also fix wrong camera zoom.

EDIT3: Ok guys, now the boss has turned invincible somehow, it seems. I'll fix it when I get home. Damn vampires. *immortality now fixed*

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#197Humor3.33
#250Theme3.72
#283Overall3.36
#284Fun3.29
#288Graphics3.43
#509Innovation2.93

Comments

dmcfarline says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:52pm

A little simple, but pretty fun premise! Got really bad framerate problems when fighting Alucard, every time a fireball connected it froze the game for me, made it pretty hard to play at that point. The artwork is pretty good though

scottredrup says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Couldn't get it to run for me. Hit enter but nothing happened!

gene-z says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Nice game.. good idea

snooze82 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Need more Soldiers to kill - no more after around year 1400 :) nice game -- and gladly, he paid his taxes ;)

hgcummings says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:44pm

The 'symmetric teleport' mechanic is a neat idea and fun to play with. I like the graphics style too.

Unrelated to scoring, the game didn't run that well for me: I had to put it in fullscreen before it would pick up the keyboard at all, and it scaled to the full height of my (4:3) monitor so a lot of the level got cut off the sides (making it harder to play).

Demy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:46pm

No enemies left at 1300. Simple game but with the good idea of character placement mechanics.

TLansdale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Nice idea, Alucard made me laugh :)

Valicitor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Very cool, nice music, cool graphics

kidando says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:29pm

simple and playable. Has that classic 8-bit vibe which i like. Even the music and sfx fit well. Congrats on submitting.

kirilllosev says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:13pm

lovely sprites, not very annoying sounds.
gameplay is simple and i don't know why do i need a jump ability because even enemies with a shield looks at player and i can't hit faster by jumping across them and shooting in their butt :D

cxsquared says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:55pm

I really liked the teleport mechanic though it felt a bit broken if you stood on the edges of the screen. I'm not sure if the last boss is kill able but it seemed to go on forever. Overall nice work.

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:42am

I think I broke the game by smashing X+C together while fighting the... final monster?

That aside, a nice little game with cool mechanics. The teleporting gave it a great touch. Congrats!

General says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:31pm

I liked to teleport behind the guards. But was unable to kill the sword guy. Is there a secret?
On the 2nd run I noticed the dialog and laughed :)

Here're my video reviews: http://youtu.be/AkOdas_qL9A

MaesK says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Ok guys, Alucrap now can be killed! Sorry for that, he used a null pointer on my face to avoid being destroyed :D Damn smart vampire.

Shina69 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Best vampire simulator i experimented in years! That teleport power was a genius touch and the humor was sublime.

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:11pm

I loved the idea of the simetric teleport.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:26am

Really fun game. Like the teleport mechanic.

ZzCalvinzZ says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:47pm

fun game

sbarrio says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Loved it, superb idea. Also the dialog was pretty funny :)

tweedle says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Solid game! A bit shorter than I would have liked, but it kept me engaged throughout. Funny too!

TsN_RaMPaGE says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Fun and simple game. Good Work!

shawn42 says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 2:51am

Nice solid entry. Ran great for me. It took me a while to get the controls into muscle memory. teleport-fireball-repeat is your friend. ;)

Sep 5, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Wow! Awewsome! Really smart mechanic of teleport - very well made innovation! Sound and graphics are pretty good too! congratulations for this nice entry!

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 7:40am

Cool premise and concept, decent art and sfx. Slightly too long for comfort thanks to those pesky shield knights. Liked the simetric TP.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]