Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Hotel

by NikinCZ - Compo Entry

Little bugfix and balancing

Citation of FAQ: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline ... No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.
- Rebalanced money got from guests: 100$ after 10th night was just too much.
- Increased host capacity to 40. It was stupid limit.
- Fixed a little time speed bug.
- Only 3 lines of codes were affected by this update.

Added a Web port. Please, use Windows version for rating if you can.

Welcome to the Monster Hotel! Take a role of a monster businessman and create the best hotel for monsters in whole Transylvania! Handle the big crowds of guests and entertain them.

- 8-bit pixelart graphics
- Start with low budget and build yourself into huge hotel for up to 25 monsters.
- Your limit is 7x10 grid! That's a lot of rooms!
- Build 7 different types of rooms including bar, relax room, pool and elevator.
- Four different types of monsters, each with different habits.
- Monsters have AI, they will need bathroom after time, visit different rooms and eventually go sleep.

Menu soundtrack created by me using PulseBoy. Didn't match game very much, so I moved it to menu.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#457Innovation3.00
#536Fun2.92
#541Humor2.54
#553Graphics2.92
#658Mood2.68
#660Overall2.92
#797Theme2.73
#1314Coolness47%

Comments

APC says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:44am

I thought it was a fun game. I liked seeing all my guests roam around the hotel. I also thought the tutorial and the speech bubbles were nice touches.

I felt like the curve was a little off. In the beginning I didn't feel like I had much to do and was waiting a lot, and later I was able to build a floor everyday and didn't have any more expensive options to choose from. So if you continue working on it I would recommend you add more interactions early game and add some more expensive options for the late game

NikinCZ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:19am

I agree that balancing and more rooms are really needed. As you may realize, I was in hurry when I was finishing. Underestimated time again. In fact, without playtesting of friend (I think that's allowed), game would be broken as I had not much time for testing.

Code is little bit messy (no time for cleanup, you know), but could be extended into a post-compo version. I'll see.

IndigoWolf says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:09am

I love the concept, very original and quite polished! The camera was a little annoying, using WASD to move it would have been better I think.

Tuism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:31pm

There's... nothing to see, nothing to do, nothing to change things with. Following the tutorial messages you lay down some stuff. Then there's ENDLESS waiting until the next things happen, in the meantime, I can't do anything but put it on maximum speed... And then?

The game doesn't tell you how fast its running (no highlights), what the guests want (if anything), what they're doing (they disappear into rooms and... and?), what future guests might want... Anything at all?

As a player I felt totally helpless.

The zoom/scroll happening all the time is very distracting, even when I'm operating the menu bar at the bottom. I can never be looking/doing stuff down there and be looking at stuff I wanted to be looking at.

There's an arbitrary time/condition that made me unable to build stuff when I had the money to. It looked broken.

I'm not sure what the game is because you haven't shown enough of it!

NikinCZ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:36pm

I agree with everything you said. I had a great idea, but only had time to show roots of it. If you look at my previous LD games, you can see improvement. And that's what this competition is for me.

terop says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:34pm

a little different kind of graphics than we're used to, but it worked nicely and allowed creating rooms...

Kurisuta89 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:58am

definitely makes me think of the Fallout Shelter app game, but I do think there should be more games like it.

tried the Web & Windows version and sometimes it won't let me build new rooms even though I had money. restarted, went through tutorial perfectly, then waited a ton clicking on the room I wanted to build until it finally allowed me to. then more waiting to save up money.

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:06am

Nice concept, but sure it needs moooore work, and I am upset - no one wants to live in my hotel :(

Headmade says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:11am

At first I wanted to comment about the long waiting times, but since others have written about it already let me pick up something else.
I had trouble finding and reading how much money I had. Increasing the contrast between the text and the background would help.

NikinCZ says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Yeah, it really is about waiting sometimes. As you build more rooms and get more guests, there is however more to watch. You can build only during night, ie when guests are gone.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]