Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Mobs, Inc.

by Pietro Ferrantelli - Jam Entry

[Play on Chrome or Firefox please]

"Mobs, Inc. is hiring new employees ! The dungeon the company has been taking care of, has become so attractive that too many adventurers are visiting it every day.
Become one these new employees hired to maintain a constant challenge for these adventurers. If you're doing your job quite well, the CEO might give you a promotion and enhance you with some new powerful skills."


----------- MOBS, INC -- INSTRUCTIONS -------------------------------------------
Every monster in the company has to follow these three rules :

1. Kill adventurers with quick strikes, by dashing through them (Left-Click to attack).
2. Kill more adventurers with your specials skills once you are promoted (Press Q / W / E ).
3. Do not upset the CEO, it will be fine. If you disappoint him 4 times, you will be fired. (and have to start a new game)

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Pietro Ferrantelli - Game Design & Programmation
Theophile Loaec (thomaslean) - Character Art, Sound Design & Music
Augustin Grassien (anabir) - Environnment Art, VFx & UI.
OrikMcFly - Environnement Art, VFx & UI

PRO TIP : Don't click on adventurers but behind them ! You have to dash through them !

PRO TIP 2 : Don't click on yourself

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Overall(Jam)4.67
Fun(Jam)4.65
Coolness100%
Audio(Jam)4.55
#4Graphics(Jam)4.83
#6Mood(Jam)4.52
#7Theme(Jam)4.47
#18Humor(Jam)4.29
#38Innovation(Jam)4.03

Comments

drkrunk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:03am

The link is broken.

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:07am

Download link is dead

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:25am

Oups sorry about that ! I'm working right now, so I will fix that tonight ! Thanks for warning me ! Please don't rate the game before the link works ;)

drkrunk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:14pm

The link is still broken for me.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Yes I will not be at home before a few hours, sorry ;)

kikaz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Error 404 on the web link !

hrd_games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Really looking forward to playing this once the link is fixed.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:28am

[LINK FIXED]

oxysoft says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:30am

5/5, most fun I've had with a ludum dare game in this one. Please make this into a full game with more mobs and stuff

Florent Juch says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:39am

Best game I ever played for LD ! Congrats !

hrd_games says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:44am

Wow, it was worth the wait! Great game, nice level of difficulty, and cool promotion system.

Enol says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Good job, this is the best LD game i have ever played !
Really fun, nice graphics (UI/Character/Environnment.
Nice music too !

ruerob says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Stunned by your game! Really great work!

Caracole says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Fun, nervous, funny, looks & sounds nice... the level of polish of this game is too damn high !
Favorite entry so far. Incredible work !

kikaz says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:33pm

really great job ! nice graphics & music ! everything is in your game, I spend a good time, thank you for this !

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Great game, the graphics are wonderful

LeafThief says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Colossal work for 72h! Very well done! I absolutely loved the CEO animations and the waiting room after a promotion. So good!

iossif says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:35pm

i'd buy this on steam or psn right now. what an awesome entry.

DragonGino says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:40pm

best game i ever played.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:42pm

[BUGFIX UPADTE]

Jod says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Intro screen of awesomeness. Guitar of awesomeness. I just... listened to it for a while. :D

This is just so incredibly, incredibly polished. Wow. The soundfx matches the gameplay. The graphics are extremely well-timed. Character design is simply gorgeous.

I hate archers. With a passion.

Incredibly well done.

Sanju says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:53pm

I love this game. The graphics, the sound, the frantic gameplay, the variety of enemies...

Great work. It's nice to see such great things coming from Construct 2.

Joror says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:54pm

5 star game all around. Too good. Nothing to note except that it is excellent.

Ulydev says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:55pm

One of my favorite entries !

wavegunner232 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Amazing just amazing this game has everything art audio mood humor and a great theme 100/5

justthestudio says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:07pm

At first glance I thought "hey, these guys are trying to copy a success of similar game which won LD once" but after a while I was like "OMG THIS IS FANTASTIC!". Good work, really good work. The level of polish, audio-visual details and "juice" you put in this game in such a short time... I'm amazed. I'm curious about post-jam version :) [T]

wavegunner232 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:11pm

in fact this is so good that it would be good as a full PAID game

veoviscool12 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:12pm

I have absolutely no problems with this. Extremely polished and excellent graphics, fun gameplay, upgradeable spells, humor! I loved the Promotion screen, made me laugh every time. This definitely has the rock solid foundation of an excellent indie game. Perfect score!

gillenew says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Totally awesome, cool upgrade system, easy and fun gameplay, great animation and nice characters :D

Great game!!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Awesome work, it's great audio/visual feedback and the neat little animations that make this fantastic.

bloomingbuds says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:11am

Awesome, 5 stars :)
Very polished, very funny, pretty challenging... when you can't tell anything wrong about a game, its a 5/5
Good job guys ;)

Sicilica says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:13am

Very nice little arcade game. It would be way cool if you built upon it and put in even more levels / promotion abilites

Four Quarters says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:50am

Great game, died on 100 level.
Is it maximum?

Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:06am

OMG ! Didn't know it was possible to reach level 100. It's not the maximum because there is no maximum. But you reached the highest difficulty in adventurers spawning.
Thanks for your comments everybody !

AlexPGilbert says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:06am

Thanks for the game!

What I liked:
The presentation is amazing! I was determined to see my final form!!! The spells were a nice addition to an otherwise pretty simple game

Areas to improve:
I didn't like that the enemies appeared on the screen the instant you spawned. That seemed a little unfair to me. Gameplay was pretty simple, but as I mentioned before the presentation really fleshes it out fully.

Overall a fun game! Good job!

Solifuge says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:06am

Slow progression and add a bit more content, branching, chararcter development, etc. and this could be sold on Steam. Mirroring what everyone else is saying; absolutely excellent work.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:33am

I... don't know what to say... this game is freaking amazing!!!!!! Oh man the smooth gameplay, awesome characters, hilarious "office" scenes... best thing I've played in a long time. BRAVO

theshadowteam says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:36am

Blooooooooooooooooody awesome game you have there.

Excellent music, amazing mechanics, and impressive arts. Just a lil bit of the arts have a bit inconsisten (pixel arts for the slash effect)

tehPHEN says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:10am

Super polished! Hitboxes felt a bit weird when you were max promotion. But SUPER simple and SUPER fun none the less!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:22am

Wow, just wow. Amazing game! Great idea, excellent execution! I would buy the full version of this!

dusho says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:46am

amazing game.. well done

jsmars says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:13am

Game is truly awesome! Nice work!

Grouflon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:38am

Shut up and take my money !

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:45am

Guys...this game is just a 5/5. It's awesome. You did this in just 72 hours? Whoa...

Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:06am

WOW! Really polished! I love myself a promotion.

lyskaros says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:05am

5/5 across the board. Simple as that, best LD game I've ever played.

BeardyBard says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:00pm

Wow.It is one of the most completed games on #LD33 Very interesting idea. And faultless realization.Cool atmosphere, graphics, sound and game play!!! 10/10

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Fantastic game, 5/5 on all counts! Nicely done!

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Everything is amazing! My only suggestion is maybe to add some slight auto aim to the main attack. Other than that it's crazy good. Great pixel art.

TomOlivier says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Amazing game, everything is polished, audio is perfect, incredible work! 5/5

Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:50pm

This is incredibly polished for a 72 hours game jam! very impressive and great fun! I got really sucked in trying to get the next promotion. managed to get to level 100 :)

freaknarf says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Perfect. Amazing work. I loved everything in this. Great gameplay, great visuals, great vibe, great music and sounds, great levelling ... I just don't know if there is a win condition :) I reached lvl 70 (for now), and i've read somebody that was wondering the same thing that reach lvl 100 ... all stars anyway. Super good job !

Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Thanks for your comments everybody ! Oh shit you're right, I made a mistake concerning the level limit and the combo count is set to invisible so you can't see it... I will probably fix that tonight.

Anabir says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Thank you a lot for all your feedbacks and your comments guys, you're crazy ! :D

dunin says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:52pm

cool mood and graphics!
and fun!

nassi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Got to level 83 on my second try. Damn those archers... Really intense gameplay and the game is as polished as gets. I knew I had to play this when I saw the gif with the promotion going on in one of your posts. Nothing bad to say about this really, left me wanting for more!

Nice subtle humor too!

sydan says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:54pm

This was amazing. I absolutely loved your last LD entry but this was even better. I can't help but give it an almost 5 star rating across the board. The game play works perfectly and kept me amused for the last half an hour. I really really like getting those promotions!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Wonderful game! One of the very few games I have given at least four stars in almost every category.

JoseArias says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Very goood game!!. Keep improving it and sell it. With different monsters, skills, etc.. I think that it has future. Great job!!!

Fenrirr says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:02pm

A. M. A. Z. I. N. G.
5 stars all the way for me.
Probably the winner of this LD.
One of the best little webgames I've ever played.
Can't stop playing, release it on Steam !

SUNFURY says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Fucking Amazing game love it!

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Brilliant. A very complete game. Just love the sound effects, especially the boss dragging on his cigarette. Wonderful presentation. Wish there was a download version.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Definitely one of the best LD games I've ever played! What a great idea for a game mechanic. My one complaint - it was frustrating that the levels began with monsters already on the screen. Often times I would take damage before I felt I had time to react. But it's a small complaint for an amazing entry!

jofra says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:34pm

awesome game. so well done love all the details (the creeper picture of employer of the month - awesome) one of the best i have seen, very good animations and mood.
Great job! almost a full 5* game on all topics for me

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:43pm

i love this game so good for 72h nice graphics and sounds good idea nice entry good job :D

mantis says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Holy shit, I'm glad that you guys made this work and poked me about it! It's so incredibly juicy! Controls are immediate and responsive, the action is visceral, the audio is spot on, the special attacks feel great, and even losing a life feels rewarding.

It feels good to be bad when I play it, and I LOVE that!

Great job! This is what I call a proper game.

adamwoolridge says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:12pm

Everything is awesome! Great job. Loved it. Controls are really nice.

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:28pm

The game was awesome. I always love the art and the concepts of the game you guys make. Two things I would like to comment on is the difficulty curve, and some strange lag I was getting at every death and once I reached the final form. The difficulty curve is a bit too slow, I had to want to die in order to die. Also, there were periods where I would wait for like 30 seconds without an enemy to attack. Anyways, great job as usual! :D

Fenrirr says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Finally managed to reach level 100 ! One more time, you did a perfect job !

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:00am

10/10 BEST GAME I PLAYED DURING THIS LUDUM DARE
I love Everything of your game, art, gameplay (very similar core mechanic with mine ;) ), humor (the lobby and the boss.. GREAT).
I would play non-stop a Bigger version of the game.

I loved you Genamon the last LD, and I wished it would get to the top. I do the same with this, great work and good luck!!!

Four Quarters says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:22am

Caught a little bug. If you got promoted from 1st form to 3rd, you get animation of promotion from 2nd form.

EwChap says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:39am

Amazing. I am blown away. Fantastic job. I agree with pretty much everyone here that I cannot find anything to really complain about. Great work on the style and feel. Coming back to play more of this once I do a bit more voting.

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:57am

Wow, what a solid game. It took me a little while to connect that dying == verbal warning, but once I did, everything fell into place. Great art, music, everything.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:21am

The most fun game I've played so far. Great work!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:35am

I'm just your average Hell spawn trying to get ahead in this bureaucratic hellhound eat hellhound underworld. Seriously though, this is super cool!

SojaBird says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:00am

5 stars all around!
Great art and sound.
Super easy but fun gameplay.

I have not yeat been promoted at 60 :c
Need to play more :D

SojaBird says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:11am

Crap does anything happen at level 100?
I got to 99 :c

thomaslean says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:17am

I'm pretty sure there is another promotion at lvl 200 ;)

Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Wow thanks a lot for all your comments, dudes !
@SojaBird: no there isn't anything special, but at level 100, you reach the epic difficulty and you beat my own score ^^. We will may add a little reward for players who achieve this.
@Pierrec: means a lot from you, I'm a total fan of Oujevipo for years

louis.denizet says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Oh my god, you guys are so so so good, last ludum you owned so hard already!

Bravo à vous :D

Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Dojo of Death with RPG mechanics and quirky humor! Stellar!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:47am

Incredibly polished -- like this is incredibly well done.

K.Chplr says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:06am

Great game, definitely a good contender for the fun award :)

jrhee says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:18pm

MIND BLOWN. Wow.

Beavl says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:07am

Wow. Nicely done. Fun mechanics, great graphics and music/sfx. Congrats!

KingMatthew says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:45am

This was amazing! I love the animations, and the graphics style. The Promotion system is cool too. Good Job!

valid4life says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:12am

Fantastic!
Loved the mood! My only gripe was the mouse control felt odd. Sometimes youd click and wouldnt even hit them

intXparts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:16am

Wow, I love everything about this game. The humor, graphics, gameplay, theme are spot on. Excellent work!

dpisarcik says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:28am

Amazing game. The audio production quality is top notch. This is a truly talented crew.

magenta says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:42am

Very sleek, sounds great, looks good. Would be perfect on touch devices! Love the intermission :}

alexrus07 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:48am

Amazing LD entry, really had fun with this one!

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:49am

One of my favorites. Awesome Graphics, Great Mood as well. I played for a while (which is rare). Well done Guys!

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:18am

Fantastic art as well as a neat self-awareness and style. Very fun, but the mechanics themselves aren't all that interesting (they are fun though!). Well done!

Karai17 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:56am

Very polished and fun game! Great job!

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:57am

Love the visuals, the gameplay, the music; so much juice on everything! Really great job with this. :D

Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:12am

EXTREMELY PERFECT! have no words to describe! congratulations, really great work!!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:18am

Amazing Game Man!

Galvesmash says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:32am

One of the best LD33 game I've played.

Hope you continue this and release a mobile/steam version with new monsters and new features.
When you do, please, tell me!

madmaw says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:10am

This is incredible!

walsh9 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:17am

I really love the pixel art in this one. Gameplay-wise it feels like a way better version of fruit ninja. No really, I mean that in a good way.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:18am

PERFECT :D GG I loved it! the promotion screen was hilarious, the enemies were unique and the special abilities were allot of fun!

Tortoise says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:52am

Great game, one of the best I've played this LD

TerinHD says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:18am

Purely awesome.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:34am

made it to level 100, great job! wonderful game!

TsN_RaMPaGE says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:59am

LOVED this. Got to level 87, but had to stop because the game was running really slowly. It ran fine at the beginning of each dungeon entry, but would gradually slow down as each run progressed. It may have something to do with the blood splatter, not sure. Either way, this really was an amazing entry. Well done guys.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:01am

Great game, very well executed idea, very cool sfx & vfx.

JackDegree says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:17am

Amazing game all round!

Modoc73 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:17am

Very well done! Everything about it was great!

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:41am

Perfect mood, my first 5* rating, congraz!!

treeman says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:47am

Incredible, my favorite game so far!

silentlamb says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:48am

I am unable to find single flaw of this game. I've opened it with 3-4-minutes of gameplay in mind but I spend so much more! Everything is polished, from visuals, audio, gameplay to mood and humor.

Well done!

Now get back to work...

Slothmachine says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:56am

Truely fantastic arcade action! Animations and graphics so stylish. This is Amazing!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:40am

I feel like "a monster" rather than "the monster". Other than thaht,the game is excellent !! Graphics, gameplay and audio rock ! Really fun!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:29am

JUST WOW...
Your game is brilliant in every way, it fun, the music really feels like some thing the grim reaper would have on their IPod.
And the upgrades come at a steady pace, with unique powers and a nice dificulty curve, it also really nice to think about the
life of a boss in a dungeon.
:D :D :D

ladybenko says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:45am

Everything in this game rocks :)

Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Download link dead.. =/
Try mirroring on Google Drive. Or itch.io. Or something..

Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Solid. Robust. Tasty. Nice!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:59pm

@Steve|tacospice I added a Itch.io link :)

zuurr says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:03pm

probably one of the most well polished ludum dare game ive played ever. you seem to all work very well together.

on the downside the the gameplay felt samey towards the end and i think the amount of grind required to progress between promotions was too much (or maybe just felt too much like grind).

ehtd says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:28pm

This was great, you are the second game in this compo to earn all my stars. Excellent job.

randoman says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Oh, I was expecting a "YOU ARE FIRED" animation at the end instead of a regular "Get back to work". Despite that, this bacame one of my favorite games of this Ludum Dare. Extremely well polished. Thanks for the entry!

KeyboardCat says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Just... Epic ! Best entry I've played so far, good work. (Et vive les Frenchies :))

Wefiends says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:11am

Incredibly well-polished game. Every action and reward felt really responsive and detailed. From the animations to the level structure, there was a lot of skill that went into making this game, and it really pays off for the player. Great job.

grywhttl says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:10am

Simply brilliant! Looks like the winner to me

MiniBobbo says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:25am

This was wonderful.

The only thing that seemed a little off to me was the hitboxes. There were times that I could have sworn that I should have hit when in reality I missed. Are you testing for intersections on a line from current position to click location? I didn't have a good feel for when I would hit the enemy and when I wouldn't.

This is actually a very minor concern because everything about this was excellent. Great polish.

Patomkin says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:34am

I have no words because this is perfect <3

Ithildin says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Wow...Your entry for the previous jam was impressive, and this one is at least as good.

Ithildin says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Wow...Your entry for the previous jam was impressive, and this one is at least as good. I loved all of it, from the graphics and music to the game feel and progression.

Congratulations, my good sirs, for you get a perfect 5!

Biruts says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

uheartbeast says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Perfect.

David Yates says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:58pm

This is incredibly well done. Best game I've played all LD. Great job guys!

Beau Lamb says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:09pm

This is awesome! my fave from the jam so far :)

Shaun LeBron says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:11pm

that was really really fun

Literal Games says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Great fun, really nice gamefeel, and really satisfying! Nothing bad to say about it, one of my favourite entries, loved the artstyle!

SiMouth says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:29pm

P.E.R.F.E.C.T.

someone says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:29pm

That was epic. Great job guys.
I did find I was missing a lot at first as I tended to aim for the middle of the enemies rather than their feet.
Needs a 'YOU ARE FIRED' message when you lose.

Insality says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:30pm

oh my god.
Perfect. But you know is already, right?
LD Winner.

Dianouille says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Loved it !!! The concept is awesome ! Maybe it's a little too easy to defeat the heroes, anyway it was really fun to play you game ! (and the music is really really cool).

Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Thanks everybody. We will definitely add this "you're fired" message soon.

lyskaros says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:41pm

The best. Everything is so so so perfect !

ChaosCult says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Awesome, really, you should make full game from this demo.

Tuism says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Holy crap, best of jam. BEST OF JAM.

The only thing that felt a bit off was not knowing when you get "verbal warning" - sometimes you get hit and that happens, but sometimes you get hit and you blink a bit.

BUT OMG SO GOOD. The juice and animation and the music and everything is top notch. SHIP IT.

Crosstales says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:36pm

AWESOME! Make some more games like that!

hobblygobbly says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Amazing game and awesome style/adaption of the theme. Best game I've played for this jam.

UncleChris says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:38pm

This is a pretty darn sweet game! Liked the humor and everything is VERY well polished. Love to see more games from you guys, with what you accomplished in 3 days - amazing stuff is coming!

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Wow, I could play this all night

onilink_ says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Wow, very very good entry. Nice concept, good graphics et cool music.

bytegrove says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Wow this is good! So well polished, the gameplay, the art, the animations and the music and sfx. It all comes together so perfectly. The boss is awesome!
Only thing I missed was a "You're fired!" on game over.
Really nice work with everything! :D

Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:24pm

A highly enjoyable, fast-paced game! The spells were good to keep combat fresh and interesting, as otherwise I'd be worried about RSI! :P

axoona says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:33pm

GG!! but please don't forget about AZERTY people... ;)

Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:35pm

There are AZERTY controls ;)

dos says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:25am

Level 91. Will return to it to try to make it better.
Really great entry!

Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:42am

Perfect!!!!!! This game is going to win. 'Nuff said.

HappyHour says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:57am

Very stylish! The game itself is easy to pick up and hard to put down. It's also welcome to see a different take on the Monster Boss/CEO. Great job!

t4u says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:28am

All 5s

Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:10am

really well put together.

controls feel good.

everything feels super polished.

awesome job!

jackrugile says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:11am

Perfect score, holy crap.

Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:02am

You could use some delay before the start. The enemy attacked me before I was ready and I started the round with 1 health less is disadvantageous. Otherwise, awesome game!

Fenrirr says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:50pm

LD winner ! I discovered this awesome game 5 days ago and I'm still playing it.

DarkwindMedia says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Really nice :)

Lukbebalduke says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:57am

I would pay for this one. Best game I've ever played in Ludum Dare (in 2 years). You guys already mastered the secrets arts of developing!

HThomson says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:25am

Absolutely fantastic, the level of polish on this thing is just incredible for only 72 hours of work. If I wasn't playing this on the Ludum Dare site there's no way I would have guessed it was a jam game.

Aske says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:23pm

HOLY SHIT! ADDICTED TO THIS D:

Miltage says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:43pm

This game is pretty fantastic except for the pixel font rendering looks bad in some places. Amazing entry!

Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:29pm

The best art and animations I've seen so far.
Also its very addictive and has a nice sense of humor.

dollarone says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:21am

Fantastic entry. From the mood in the title screen to the "employee of the month" posters, this is all good. Great work.

thomaslean says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:00am

Thanks everyone ! We currently working on a new version with the "you're fired" animation :3

Ibai Aizpurua says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 12:34pm

The BEST game of ludum dare 33 by FAR! Fun, great animation, music and really original!!! HILARIOUS MASTER PIECE!

Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:30am

ALL STARS ALL AROUND! This is easily my favorite entry from this Ludum Dare. I'm not a monster... I am fucking death! You guys did a hell of a job! The game is polish, finished and fun as fuck to play. This game deserves more play than some of the other ratchet titles on the itch.io page.

Stellar job, guys!

-Loi LeMix

Frump says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:50am

Wow, that was excellent on all fronts. Great work. Very cool art.

collaboration says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:21pm

This is so awesome! 5/5 Only problem is music - guitars are out of beat.

pixzleone says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:27pm

wow, spot on.
that was awesome.
would love to see more!

kerotan24 says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:38pm

Awesome entry!!!!

MrSylar59 says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Amazing!

MaesK says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Excellent game, in music, gameplay and graphics, awesome work. Creeper should be employee of the month, but well, I guess exploding doesn't solve anything :D

m3_on says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 2:19pm

The art and animation are fantastic!!! But I think it would have been easier to control the character if I could just move with arrow keys and then left-click to dash in the direction of my cursor. Moving with the cursor makes it very imprecise which lead me to getting yelled at a lot by The Boss...I guess that could be part of the experience, but it feels like precision dodging is something the game wants you to have.

sprawl says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 2:41pm

The graphics and visuals feedback are amazing. So much fun.

The one little thing that bugged me is that everytime i started a level i always got hit in the first second without having time to move.

Great game, Good job!

chuckeles says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 7:45pm

I wish I could make graphics like this. Awesome game!

Drauthius says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Man, this game is amazing. I'll have to come back later to play some more. The only thing I think should change is having different responses from the CEO. Being told to get back to work when you're actually being fired is a bit heartbreaking.

dancingmad says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 9:33pm

EXCELLENT !
Your game is so polish and fun !

Maybe the best game I played since the beginning.

Kizler says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Super Awesome!

Matzigon says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 8:42pm

One of the bests. Great game, nice graphics, intense action. :) Well done.

ethankennerly says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 3:40am

When I was promoted to an air striking skeletal wizard I was blown away! If you continue to develop this, I was playing on trackpad and at first felt confused how to attack, and when I moved my thumb to adjust the reticle rapidly, I felt awkward.

Polyganz says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 5:12am

Spectacular!

bombjack says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 6:49pm

everything in this game is amazing. :)

pirate_shell says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 8:34pm

The presentation was outstanding. I loved the way the pixel art looked and this was very polished in terms of screen shake and effects and everything really. The upgrades all worked very well and the combat while simple at first was surprisingly engaging and challenging. I loved the take on the theme and overall loved the entry. Only thing that needed some polish is some more feedback when the player is hit as I found I very easily lost track of when I was getting hurt. I did play without sound so it might have been the issue for me.

Sep 7, 2015 @ 9:08pm

@pirate_shell Wow thanks for the detailed review ! Yes of course, half of our feedbacks come from the sound design ^^

radmars says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:36pm

This was straight up amazing. I want this as a full game. Top to bottom great stuff.

Sep 7, 2015 @ 11:18pm

I'm thoroughly impressed by this game. Between the simple but satisfying gameplay, the speedy progression curve, and the stylish graphics, there's a lot to love here.
I would like to make two minor complaints, however. The first is that judging attack locations felt a bit off to me. It seems as though the cursor points to where the monster's feet will end up, but it feels more natural in my mind to expect the the monster's center to end up at the cursor, leading to some awkward missed attacks here and there.
My other minor gripe was that there didn't feel like enough feedback when getting hit or dropping to one heart. Some kind of subtle persistent warning that my next hit would lead to a verbal warning would be greatly appreciated, as without it many of my deaths felt kind of sudden and unexpected.
Outside of those two small issues, I found this to be a particularly excellent game. I really enjoyed my time with it and look forward to seeing what you do next!

Sep 8, 2015 @ 3:58am

Awesome entry guys! Really polished game. Had a lot of fun, hope you keep it up

shawn42 says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 5:50am

Really fun to play. All the art and the cutscenes.. amazing. I love the creeper on the wall as runner up for employee of the month! Great job!

wooltech says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 11:56am

Once I got the hang of the controls, this was great. The addition of the office setting really take it above what could have been a generic game to something memorable.

SkullPixel says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 10:13pm

You are going to win.

Only time I have ever given five stars on everything. ;)

copass says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 5:56am

5/5 amazing! level 99 my personal best!:D

Demy says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 8:17am

Awesome game. Cool graphics, nice audio, just the perfect thing.

xevozfighter says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Wow. This is awesome.

leparlon says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 2:55am

This is my favorite game for this LD, awesome, take all my stars

GhostBomb says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 5:07am

Great game all around.

Sep 11, 2015 @ 6:04am

Would totally buy, those graphics are incredible, super fun, cannot believe you made this so quickly.

Krunoslav says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 11:50am

Wonderful game, nice graphism and animations!

Sep 11, 2015 @ 1:12pm

When my only request is more, you know you have the perfect post jam game ; D

Yrr says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Probably one of the best entries in every category

Zupoman says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 2:17pm

The game seems to not be very optimized, it lagged a lot on my computer, causing the gameplay to be slow and monotonic and making me quit playing it earlier. Besides that, really good and polished graphics! And I really liked the idea, it fits the theme nicely.

Sep 11, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Wow, thanks for all your feedbacks everyone !
@Zupoman : that's weird, you seem to be the first person having this problem, sorry about that. Did you play the game on Chrome or Firefox ?

jndm says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Awesome game! Amazing graphics and fun gameplay.

I have two little complaints though. First there is no indication (atleast I didn't notice one) when the ball skill is stopping. Second issue was that I had was that after getting a verbal warning the game just instantly continues so at least I lost couple of hearts instantly after spawning again. There could be a 1 sec delay after starting a game again or something.

Still all in all great game in such a little time, 5/5.

Sep 11, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Psst - you have been featured in todays LUDUM DARE TO BELIEVE! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g2nO6BNooPI

DuzDuz says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Very good game! I was trying to make a game using similar concept, but this one is really better!

Sep 11, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Fantastic!!!!!

thristhart says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 7:30pm

I love the aesthetic and visuals so much! I wish the theme tied into gameplay better -- it's still just a generic dungeon brawler thing -- but it's super fun!

deepnight says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Ah ah! Excellent entry :)
The feedbacks are very good (except maybe the one for the player death). Also, the fact that walk & dash in the direction the mouse is pointing at makes it very difficult to attack and dodge at the same time.
So usually, spamming attack works better.

Very good job guys :)

dcolgan says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 10:13pm

This is good, but really hard. I got the first promotion and was really close to the second. I think I would have done better had I been using my trackball mouse. The humor was great and it looked cool too. Everything was well crafted. I am very impressed. I will probably come back to retry it.

MrTwister says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 6:15am

Well, I have really nothing to say here. This game is perfect, beautiful in every way. 5/5 all across.

Congratulations, this is hands down the best game I've played.

Stending says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 9:35am

Incredible! Dat polish, man!

Jishenaz says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 2:42pm

Excellent polish! I see no flaws with this game except one thing: I can't tell if I get hurt. I know there is an audio queue for getting hurt, but it sounds too similar to the adventurers.

Overall awesome work!

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:50am

Thought it was a really polished game, but attack was too short and I often missed despite clicking exactly on a hero. Some indicator of the range of my monster's attack would have helped. I do think the special attacks were really cool and satisfying.

Occasionally, it looked like I would get hit mid-way in an attack. It wouldn't always happen, however, making me wonder if that was a bug, or my eyes are deluding me.

Vladirien says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 8:53am

Loved this entry. Really polished. Great work!

local minimum says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:01pm

Very very good game indeed. A bit hard however, or I must have misunderstood something. The boss' communications skills aren't all there after all and I feel like I kill the adventures as they spawn. Still the boss just complains as tells me to get back to work. There's some tiny text on top of the enemies, but it's just impossible to read. If it's very bad to say ruin some of the cave features, then it would have been nice with some clearer feedback. In all some better feedback about when one is upsetting the boss or making him happy while playing would have been nice... Besides that though, insanely well made game. Very polished graphics, audio and those camera shakes... Great entry.

Aaranos says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Super good game. Not a single complaint really. I love the art style, the music, and the gameplay. Speaking of gameplay I found that the only thing that could really get me was the archers.

sgehlich says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:18pm

This... is brilliant

Vaclav says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 2:46pm

crazy :) and well made

RiaDelva says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 4:53pm

very nice idea and lovely graphics! I had some trouble figuring out what exactly I kept doing to anger the boss, but apart from that I enjoyed it a lot! wonderful game :)

Yamzho says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Okay, that's pretty cool ! :) I really hope to see updates on this one !

sorlok says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 6:23pm

First perfect game. Really captures the theme well, and is a lot of fun!

Erkberg says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Wow, that is one impressive game! The visuals are stunning, the music and sounds great and the gameplay very fun and action packed. One of the best games of this LD for sure.

Joseaper says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Amazing!

awesomerex says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Very cool game! I liked the difficulty I haven't been able to unlock the final ability. Had a lot of fun with this game.

RedFil says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:39pm

Amazing game!
Awesome everything! Except it could have a sound volume controller xD

Great job!

ZNCatlaw says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:56am

HOLY HELL! That was amazing! Y'all just blew my mind.

ErelDev says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:44am

This game is awesome !!!!

egor-idiot says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 7:14am

Oh very nice!
10/10

bossmojoman says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Best game of the jam, hands down

OldPeculier says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Brilliant. Good fun. Nice round presentation. Want more!

Jan Tuts says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 6:48pm

This should probably win the Jam :P

Jelinib says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Really satisfying to play, fabulous art, lots of fun! SO JUICED!

tweedle says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Wow, what a great game! The dashing mechanic feels super satisfying, as do the rest of the abilities. The slowdown effect is really fantastic as well.
Great job with the music. It really adds to the overall mood.
Super fun!!

BoyWithStick says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:24pm

...wow. This game is amazing. If I don't see at least a Steam release of this game I'll be amazed and angry. This would be such a killer 4 player game to include at a gaming party. So much you could include and expand upon with this game. Excellent work. Bravo.

thomaslean says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 1:14am

Thanks to everyooooooooooooone ! GOD DAMN IT I'M CRYING

saucygames says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 6:09am

Congrats, this is amazing.

jk5000 says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 6:58am

Congratulations

Thief says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 9:31am

This is fantastic fun, you should consider doing a paid release!

feiss says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Amazing job guys! well deserved winner, is a 5/5 in everything!

Vereos says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Wow, epic game :) I'd buy it for sure if I see it on Steam. I hope you are going to try Greenlight. Congratulations for the deserved first places! :D

GabrielGFF says ...
Sep 17, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Epic fucking game, Awesome and addictive :D

Big Cow says ...
Sep 17, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Excellent! Very fun, smooth fast-paced gameplay, lovely art and animations, great mood.

Mezzenstein says ...
Sep 27, 2015 @ 3:30pm

NICE

Chaoseed says ...
Oct 20, 2015 @ 7:07pm

The controls feel clumsy. I frantically click around but my monster just seems sluggish. I got to level 19 and then died, so I ragequit.

Oct 31, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Don't suppose you would be interested in publishing your game on steam would you?

pvtroswold says ...
Dec 4, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Wow, nice polish, fun & creative design. Solid job & good humor to boot.

lectric.monk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:12am

I can't stop playing this game, this is incredible. And the art style is amazing. So addictive. Are you going to keep working on this and maybe publish it to steam? I would freaking love that and buy it in an instant! Pretty please!!

ecmrakuma says ...
Mar 31, 2016 @ 11:52pm

Error (429)
This account's links are generating too much traffic and have been temporarily disabled!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: using cached page]