Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Destroy Things

by Cory Martin - Jam Entry

DESTROY THINGS. HOW MANY THINGS CAN YOU DESTROY IN THE TIME LIMIT? THINK ABOUT IT.

ARROW KEYS TO MOVE

SPACE TO DESTROY

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#26Humor(Jam)4.19
#27Audio(Jam)4.17
#34Fun(Jam)4.00
#46Overall(Jam)4.04
#71Graphics(Jam)4.40
#96Mood(Jam)3.87
#251Innovation(Jam)3.38
#287Theme(Jam)3.75
#1268Coolness48%

Comments

Mozz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:43am

fantastic art!

tullyhansen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:48am

Gorgeous pixel art and fun tunes. Playtime felt a little long?

guoboism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:56am

Fantastic art! Funny music! Picked by GB!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:56am

Right off the bat, the pixels remind me of a Game Boy Color game. I do like the art style. The tune is trippy, I guess.....? Does grate my ears a little though. Also, as tullyhansen said below me, playtime did feel a little long. I was wandering around aimlessly for quite a while.

I guess the monster controls like Sonic, with the rolling thing that it does, and it is fun to look at. :)

BlockyFish says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:57am

Really impressive visual style and I love the simple screen shake on object destruction. Nice game overall, nice to look at and calming to break things.

Yrr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:57am

Its beautiful, I love it.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:13am

The music is an experience, I need to know where to find that instrument. All of the sprites were fantastic, but I have to say that the flamingo tombstone is the best.

Lots of fun, and similarly pretty confusing. (house of toilets, flamingo garden basically just waiting to be turned into a graveyard...)

sararyCow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:44am

Great art and technique, and good gameplay! This added to a very fun mood makes it an interesting game. Pretty splendid.

I love the flamingo part :D.

sophist says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:17am

great game, very nice score and design

10/10

LazyPenguin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:58am

A lot of fun! My high score was 116.

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:59am

I WILL BREAK YOUR HOUSE!!! NOW YOUR HOMELESS!!! I WILL BREAK YOUR DOG'S!!! NOW HE'S HOMELESS!!! Good game there man, I liked how silly it was. The game had a fantastic art style, and the music was very nice to listen to.

Warxen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Loved the juicyness and graphics of this game, would be cool to see if this game works with a combo meter to keep up the destructive morale. Higher combo = more speed, more score. RIP Bird made me lol.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Great art, cool sound. Well done.

Mase says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:18pm

I enjoyed finding weird areas like the room of toilets and the, um, lawn flamingo graveyard.
Very amusing graphics.
The gameplay could use more complexity.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Fricking loved this! Very fun indeed and that music track is amazing, fits the game perfectly.

And I too have a house full of toilets.
Brilliant stuff.

Dibasis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Love the senseless vandalism, stumbled across link's wet dream (room full of pots), music was awesome, art was awesome. Great game overall

Unept says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Who needs therapy when you can play this game? Solid design, sounds, graphics, super duper song. well done, as usual.

Sparrow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Awesome, great fun! Loved the graphics and the gameplay. Sound effects were spot on and the music fit very well.
I agree with others above that the playtime was a bit too long.

walsh9 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:36pm

RIP BIRD

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:10pm

That was some good quality fun! I enjoyed all of the artwork, which was the meat of your game. I would have loved to see some more gameplay mechanics, but it still has enough to keep you entertained. Great job!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:08pm

The graphics are great, the audio is great, the gameplay is great. Overall, just a great entry! 4.5/5

t4u says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:39am

Great art. I had fun playing it but one run is enough for me.
SFX was nice but music was annoying.

ceosol says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:06am

RIP Bird lol. 120 seconds seemed a little long. You put in a lot of content into this game. If it was maybe 60 seconds or less per trial, I would have played it multiple to explore everything. It was fun rolling around and the music was very fitting.

merrak says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:24am

One of my favorite jam entries! Playtime does feel a little long, though--you can always play a second round or two to explore.

The house of toilets was a nice touch.

ruerob says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:00am

You've made an awesome entry! I really love this game! All this objects and their destructed versions! I had a good lough with the dead bird sign! Thank you for this game!

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Loved this game, the music is so odd and whimsical. It actually fits the game super well - and together with the vibrant art it feels like a little complete package of chaos. Well done!

Kep says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:13pm

How delightfully absurd. Nice work.

jeapple says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:29am

Sick enough

01010111 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:25am

This is one of my top picks so far! The gameplay is simple and fun, the graphics look really cool, but what really made it for me was the music! The title sounds like a funny toejam and earl tune, and the main bgm is like a cute earthbound tune! Your sprites and colors are over the top good too! Awesome job!!!

LMT says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Well... That was an experience I'm not going to forget soon. I love the music and all the graphics, but the timer does feel a bit long (I see you modified that in the post compo version)

Zemmi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:07pm

He's like a cat, scratching n' smashing all my stuff but I still want his cute face around.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:51am

YEAH!

i liked this one!

probably my fav LD game so far!

realyl good feel

music is charming and fitting with the frantic feels!

reminds me a bit of katamari what with the variety of items

can totally see this being a bigger game

good job!

no complaints!

cool one!

nice!

yeah!

uvwar says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Very nice music!

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:24am

Really love the graphics! I laughed at the RIP Bird ahahah. The music was great also, it made me enjoy my time destroying all the things. Great job! :D

Saf says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:35pm

'DON'T RATE BASED ON THIS'
Don't tell me what I can and can't do! *rates based on this*

In all seriousness, this the most enjoyable LD33 entry so far! I just broke the heck out of a room filled with urinals, and birds! Just what I look forward to in a great game! Kudos!

zatyka says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:24am

Simple, mindless, fun. Played a few times to make sure I saw everything.

LastLeaf says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:58am

Cool! Especially the audio! Keep laughing while listening.

xWarZonex says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 11:33pm

The amount of art created was impressive for the time frame. I enjoyed the game, I thought it was fun, but I felt like it lacked point and was too long. You would mindlessly run over objects, which is fun, but after 60 seconds... you almost await the end. I personally would prefer if the rounds were like 30 seconds long, but you were spawned at a random place in the map. I liked the game in general, I thought everything was placed together perfectly, but I felt it like the gameplay was way too long.

OldPeculier says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Superb. I actually had fun with thus (unlike some entries). Great job with the large number of objects in their normal and destructed states.

wooltech says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Looks and sounds great, it's really fun to play although perhaps the time limit is a bit too long.

ponywolf says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:00pm

I loved it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]