Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Hero Mate

by Lancelot Gao - Jam Entry

A hero can't make his legend without monsters.
Play as the monster(s) and help the hero beating each game level!

Move: A/D, Arrow Keys
Jump: Space

---------

This game used to be a Compo entry, but I can't stop polishing it and making more levels after 48 hours.
So I decided to work on and make it a Jam entry.

The code and assets were made from scratch and solo. Win & lose SFX are stock assets.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#33Innovation(Jam)4.07
#54Overall(Jam)4.02
#63Theme(Jam)4.14
#83Fun(Jam)3.80
#108Graphics(Jam)4.30
#228Mood(Jam)3.53
#259Audio(Jam)3.39
#287Humor(Jam)3.25

Comments

REIN1 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:38am

Very cool concept! Just little short!I wish i can play more levels of this game in future!

nicotuason says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:01am

Beautiful art! The characters are very cute and the world has lovely colors. I think the concept is interesting, and a bit sad because the monster has to die so that the hero can reach his goal. Would love to have seen more levels and content!

lolfrad says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:33am

This game is awesome. Really cool concept, really great graphics, great music.

bombjack says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:24pm

I've been surprised that the monster had to help the hero. But why not? pretty fun.

felipeberquo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:42am

The art style is very nice, remember me the old N64 games!

TEAM-TIGER says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:48am

Amazing. Very clever to make you the monster in the game but also that you want the hero to survive. very well done.

Arg410 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:53am

Great Game. Never would've thought of a monster helping the hero..... what if all this time the koopa troopers they can fly. Go up and down in one stop just waiting to help somebody across the unjumpable gap!!!!! MIND BLOWN

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:02am

Fantastic! Amazing interpretation of theme and very interesting puzzle gameplay. Good job!

khahem says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:04am

Good idea, the multi-monster control and stacking is really cool and intuitive.

During the first level I was sometimes tricked by the orthographic perspective, I wasn't sure if it was below or in front of something else, not a problem though :)

Thank you princess !

dwemthy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:07am

Great game. Solid graphics, neat concept that was developed well over the levels.

AntonyBaasan says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:23am

Wow lot of work here. Good job.

pkenney says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:28am

Ha! This was a really clever take on the theme, I liked it a lot. Nice graphics and controls, too. Well done!

cowboycolor says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:32am

Cute to death. I was expecting a role reversal "kill the player" type deal, and was pleasantly surprised. Great art and I love that jump sfx

AlexPGilbert says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:35am

wow wow wow. You won me over just with the innovation. I love your take on the theme. Way to think outside the box!!

Great game! Good job!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:01am

Very fun little game! Loved the levels, great work

jtpup0 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:03am

Mind bending and different< a very fun twist on being the monster!

Sicilica says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:06am

Ha, makes me rethink so many classic games

benmcnelly says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:06am

Ha, I didn't read the instructions and just started playing. I was so confused. Figured it out, and I love it. One of the best plays on theme, stellar graphics, multiple levels. Hands down one the most solid entries so far!

Rulrite says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:06am

You did a really fantastic job with this game! I was pleasantly surprised by the concept, and I love the puzzle element - it's really well done, especially considering you made it in three days. You should be proud of your work!

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:12am

Great game man! This is so well made!

mooncalf says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:14am

Great visuals and audio! Poor monster, better be getting cookies for making the hero look good.

dydx says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:14am

This is great! Cute, clean graphics and fun puzzles. I loved the final level :)

TaleEngineer says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:14am

Great concept, great art, great mechanics. A fantastic game all around!

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:06am

Very nice entry, bro!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:09am

Really great game!

saucygames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:22am

Amazing job, gg

Simonaiso says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:39am

Nice completed game. Haven't seen this concept before, original, clever and fun!

Rocketship says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:43am

Very nice take on the theme and interesting mechanic. Levels got progressively harder which was nice design also. Well done!

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:50am

Really a Great work!

Tuism says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:02am

Great concept, it works really well mechanically, even if narratively it makes no sense... It's dying for some writing around it :P

The music is grating! But other than that it's pretty polished, it feels like it could use a bit more... fine tuning (movements, animations and such) but it's great for a jam product :)

Well done! :)

Piotrek says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:03am

Nice concept for theme using, graphics looks nice and levels was fun to play

Jod says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:10am

That was surprisingly cute!

Very well executed and polished. Loved it!

Oh, if only the hero knew of the purple slime's love for him...

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:14am

Fantastic execution! Really creative use of the theme, and I felt the art, music, and gameplay all worked really well together.

fullmontis says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:31am

Excellent use of the theme! To me it was not obvious that I am controlling the monster, I thought that it was a platformer on rails or something like that. I thought this because I saw the hero in the intro and I thought I was cotrolling him. Anyway, the gameplay is quite nice and clever, I really like it!

Azure_Kyte says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:46am

This is awesome! I really hope you continue this game, I had a lot of fun with it!

theshadowteam says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:02am

Very great concept, hope i can save the lovely princess :'(, more level in world 2 (if you expend) please , the best game that i play so far in ld33 , great job!

lancemaker says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:14am

nice game, lovelly art.

Arnage says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:33am

Great concept, great art, great levels, just great :)

reckhou says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:35am

First five star rate. Well done!!

Solifuge says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:38am

Monsters helping an incompetent auto-scroller hero is a really clever take on the theme, and I appreciate it a lot! Love the cute style, and the surprising variety you got out of just movement and jumping. Short and sweet, but a definite favorite from this LD!

freaknarf says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:43am

Cool game mechanics!
That's original to help the "hero" rather than trying to kill him... Graphics are super cute and well done, and the game itself was a bit easy, yet nice to walk through. Game's end was quite fun :)
Good job !

GhostBomb says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:48am

Very cool

LeoM says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:21am

Nice concept ! Good use of the theme !
I sadly didnt succed to finish the last lvl... :'( I always miss the last jump, but was fun anyway.

pereubu says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:21am

nice level design and art :>

ovenchips says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:36am

Spectacular. You are very talented. This is the best game I've played so far.

Oran Bar says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:47am

A really good idea, and well executed

Dell says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Wow this is great! Such a good use of the theme :) Well done!

qkerguelen says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Very cool game with sweet graphics and audio. Good job!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:58pm

The mechanic is original and nicely implemented.

bytegrove says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Really cool concept and really well executed! Super nice work! My only complaints are:
The music, it was really annoying.
The level with the large squid. The jump timing and hit areas are too unforgiving, combined with the music and the fact that you have to clear the gap 4 times, made me give up.
But all in all one of the best and most original entries I've played so far, really nice work!! :D

ferpess says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:29pm

cool game,amazing concept and cool old school gameplay!

Robinerd says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Congrats, you got my best ratings so far, and a really nice game for sure! I really like the use of the theme, and I can't really see anything bad about this. Great concept and a great execution! Thanks for letting me experience this.

Shackhal says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:01pm

The game is well executed. Cool level design, nice graphics and sound. And the controls are very responsive. One thing I notice is the annoying "hero" that want to splash every single mob, so he goes backwards, ruining the run. Also, the "adeventure" at the end xD

Overall, is a very good game. Well done.

Donni11 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Wow ! Cool game ! I love the graphics !

shawn42 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Very neat. I liked the twist here.

smotko says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Excellent! Nice clean graphics and a really cool game concept. Well Done.

eric777 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Fantastic game. I really liked the cute theme and visuals. All around an amazing job!!!

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:34am

Great use of the theme and visually very well handled. Great work!

yuigoto says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:29am

Whoa, beautiful! The art style is cute and the game is really challenging. :D The polishing you did on this game is really worth it! :)

I wouldn't be able to do even half of the 3d work done here. :P It would be nice to see something with the monster not dying, like being a slime block on Minecraft. :P

Controls are nice and responsive and the audio/ost fits the game pretty nicely. :)

It would really be nice as a tablet/mobile game. It's also really friendly for children, save for the "monster has to die" thing.

Congrats! :)

taaboo says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:44am

The polish is amazing. Geting the hang of the gameplay was abit hard at start with no directions but after that it was prety good to play it. (I had the idea i was controlling the hero constantly)

dregamr says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:55am

Jajaja!! The princess is helping hin...obviously !! XD
Very good game, congratulations for so nice work.

justinooncx says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:00pm

Holy shit, great game and concept. Very well polished, too, can't wait for World 2!

CrownCity says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Like everyone else said: this is a very nice concept! You can see that you've put a lot of work in this game. Like to play it too!
Only thing is: I'm not a fan of the music in the background.

glimaleite says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Interesting concept! Very cute game aswell. I just thought the monster was too slow. Still, great job!!

Mase says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Good quantity of levels. The interactive title screen is also a nice touch.

DuzDuz says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Really good concept! I loved it

Tanton-H2X says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:30am

What a amazing idea this game and the level design are pretty cool!!~
Smooth music and the Colorful visual presentation is sunny and full of young atmosphere!
At the game beginning ,When i recognized that i was the little monster(not the hero) i was so shocked, How genius it is ~!
Boss-Level is prettycool,so profound and strong gameplay and challenging level design,not too difficult ,but also not easy to stage clear .

remember that i may chanllenge it for more than 15times for the final level,and it seem has a small bug may in the Boss's collider? it appears at when i fallen into water after the boss was killed first time ...when the level reload because my death, found that i couldn't attack the Boss anymore... ToT..

this was be found when i first played it at the day before yesterday(sorry for forgot reply that time) i am not sure Whether the bug is still here, i just quit to the mainmenu and reload it to solve it just at that moment~~

in a word ,this is a totally genius game~! Hope you create more cool game next time! Best wishes~~☆゚

Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Very nice gameplay focused interpretation of the theme based of classical Mario tropes and perfectly executed as well.. but don't me I'm just the squishy purple monster. *sigh*

Riftpoint says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Its the best looking game of this ludum dare!

derr says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Wow that's the most innovative game I have played so far. Fun concept, you should develop this further post-Jam!

danialias says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Wow, very good one! Probably my highest rating so far. Waiting for the jam has been a good decision, it can compete easily against games made by groups. Congratulations!

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Very innovative idea. Game play is fun. The graphics are really cute.

GFM says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:57pm

If I'm a slime... and a monster... and monsters have captured the princess... why am my going again my own people to help that hero bastard who wants to oppose us? .___.

Nonetheless, interesting idea! The graphics are really cute! =D

Arche-san says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Very interesting concept.
I love the way you interpret the theme. :)

Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:21am

graphics are fine. Found it kind of annoying that you are helping the hero to get to the end of the levels. :/

Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:24pm

It looks really nice, good job!

chuckeles says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Interesting idea. First game I played that wasn't about killing the player. Nice!

BtheDestroyer says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Great game, but I'm not sure if you qualify for Audio if you're using audio that other people made :/

Shaun LeBron says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:46pm

beautiful art in this game. nice little mechanic too. the dialogue at the end made me laugh

Lancelot Gao says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:31pm

@BtheDestroyer Win & lose sfx are bought on Unity AssetStore, so I think I'm qualified to use them :)

veoviscool12 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:47pm

This reminded me a lot of the Yoshi sacrifices in Super Mario World. Love it! It's a great little game with a fantastic art style, and I enjoyed the puzzle elements. Overall, excellent job.

Denis347 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Nice concept and cool graphics. Great game!

DarkwindMedia says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:33pm

sweet idea!

guoboism says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:36am

Great game! Innovation as the monster helps hero...

Birke says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:39am

Good art and gameplay. It was a bit difficult to figure out where to stand and movement of the monsters felt a bit sluggish. A reset button on the keyboard would have been nice since you sometimes had to wait for quite a while for the hero to drop down in order to play again.

Donutttt says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Awesome idea! Very original, and a clever interpretation of the theme. Fun to play as well. The graphics and audio were really well done, really impressive.

walsh9 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Great concept and the progression of the idea as you go through the levels kept things interesting. I liked the boss level.

dcolgan says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Awesome use of the theme!

Clurect says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:20pm

SO GREAT!

Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:42am

Good concept, feels like Kill the Plumber.

bloomingbuds says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:42am

Very nice concept and style!

dickpoelen says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:40am

Nice game, but why are the blobs helping the hero? :)

treeman says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:53pm

I love the idea!

allinlabs says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:53pm

It's crazy how good the graphics are and how polished the game is. Really good game and interesting take on the theme

block97 says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 5:44pm

really creative and fun puzzle platformer!

Drauthius says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 7:54pm

The monsters are always under-appreciated. :( Very nice entry!

wooltech says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Hah, great stuff! I was pretty confused at first - I though I was playing the hero for the first few levels, then realised he was on auto pilot, and finally noticed the controls moved the purple monster.

Nice puzzle game, highly polished.

valid4life says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 11:52pm

The stacking of audio somewhat is obnoxious but overall a great entry!

spotco says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:08am

Very original concept and polished!
Wish there was a keyboard reset button.

jofra says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Very cool concept! very fun game :D Awesome art and very polished game. A 5* game for me.
Awesome job

boardtobits says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Cool idea! The hero death music was a little long after the first couple of times, but I liked the innovative use of the monsters.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 12:00pm

Polished graphics and slick gameplay :)
it is a really nice little game, the art style you choose suits the game as it is.
Kudos :)

Demy says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Awesome game and the game design rocks!

Pierrec says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 7:21am

Really clever, innovative and pollished! congratulations!

StaNov says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Wow man, just wow! You are simply pro. The best game I've played on Ludum Dare ever. Great job, great graphics, great level design, ... great everything!

Btw, did you also make the music by yourself?

Resonious says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 1:02am

I love the concept. Makes for some really neat puzzles.

Lancelot Gao says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 1:26pm

@StaNov Music was generated using software. I can't make music.

Sep 13, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Cute, fun game. I included it in part 29 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/s8htp2RZS7I

Ludipe says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Wow, this game is great! Liked the take on the theme and the level design. Art was also very cute. My only complain is that sometimes it's hard to guess what the hero is going to do, so it'd be super helpful to have some kind of indication that hints when he is going to do each jump.

Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Perfect :D I loved it! please build more levels and make a larger game with this concept ;)

dancingmad says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Your game is AWESOME !
Excellent controls, great artistic direction, innovating gameplay, polished game.

There is only one little problem : isometric view isn't always easy to understand, you could add a shadow under the player to correct it.

I'm happy to discover your game before results.
Great work !

Zccc says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Nice take on the theme, only the levels don't have much variety!

wademcgillis says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 12:19am

great game. spent too long on the last level and couldn't beat it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]