Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

INSIDIAE

by FistBumpGames - Jam Entry

Insidiae

26.08.
- Thanks for the testing and playing. (: - We will fix the RockPaperScissors-Bug later today. ->

rockpaperscissors bug fixed! Have fun (;


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#108Mood(Jam)3.84
#238Graphics(Jam)3.98
#245Innovation(Jam)3.39
#259Audio(Jam)3.39
#398Theme(Jam)3.61
#518Overall(Jam)3.22
#701Humor(Jam)2.45
#867Fun(Jam)2.59

Comments

sylvainAB says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:31am

Nice graphics and story !

AntonyBaasan says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:38am

Athmodphere is good

felipeberquo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:41am

The link for the web's version is broken! Couldn't play :(

DanteDouglas says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:41am

Loved the visual design and music. Gave the whole thing a really ominous feel.

dwemthy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:41am

Really great style and mood. The pace and animations really created a sense of tension. After blue declared rock paper scissors for a vote with just one other person(green) nothing happened and the game just sat idle, might be a bug or just ran out of time.

scriptorum says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:42am

Game pace is a tad slow, but otherwise lots of things to like here. I like the mood, the music, and the art style and the setting. I had a hard time getting those suckers to trigger my traps, though! I gotta go back to trap-school.

amortus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:43am

I like the art style and the idea overall, but the dialogues were too monotone. You should also alow the player to jump the current dialogue line by clicking.

Quadnozzle says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:43am

Awesome setup and story. A bit lengthy in the rounds between. Great mood and very fun.

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:44am

Very cool game, nicely done!

Loutrattitude says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:52am

Very interesting and very good realisation and nice story ! Plz add a button to accelerate the text or go to the next sentence (maybe there si one ? i didn't find it).

dollarone says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:53am

Very cool game idea. Good mood and I love the graphics. I hit the same bug as dwemthy, but will try it again to get to the end. Great work!

boardtobits says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Didn't entirely understand what I was trying to do, or the +, -, -- thing. But loved the graphical style.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:23pm

I really, really, liked the atmosphere. The audio and the graphics came together to really make the mood and you win major points for that.

tweedle says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:27pm

The graphics and music were really good! It made for a spooky atmosphere. Story was nice as well.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:17am

Nice art and quite interesting story!
A little too slow peace of the game maybe.. btw Nice entry! Well done! :D

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:24am

Cool game! Atmosphere looks prety well

MFEP says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:10am

Great idea but the intro is too slow and a little boring in my opinion. The graphics and the atmosphere is awesome.

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:32pm

It's really nice !

Stending says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Awesome mood and take on the theme! A bit slow, but it makes the tension and the atmosphere more powerful! Nice work!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Really creepy atmosphere! But I'm a fast reader, and I have to say that not being able to skip through the dialogues faster was a bit frustrating. People read at different paces!

glerikud says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:54pm

I don't get it. I managed to get everybody, but the game said I lost. Maybe it's a bug? My reliability was pretty low, but the last guy (yellow) didn't come back

Other than that, it's an interesting entry. Nice and simple realization of a teen horror movie. A little bit slow, but it has enough tension to get one through. We've got some horror story stuff too if you're into that btw.

Niebule says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:54pm

A bit slow upon waiting for the others to come back, but I think this is the game I've spent most time playing from the Dare! Great job! Interesting concept!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Just great. Very cool game. Nice story.

wavegunner232 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:50am

creepy smart and visually impressive nothing wrong with this experience 5/5

Cynapse says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:08pm

Such a great atmosphere. I do wish I could click through the dialogue though.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Confusing, the game takes a while to settle in and I didn't really want to wait that long (yes I'm impatient but I don't have a lot of time to browse the LD games and I'm aiming to rate 10 games per day) however the atmosphere and graphics caught my eye. Well done!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:22pm

I really like the atmosphere of the game. Great audio and graphics!

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Aw, blue is not coming back :( Love the atmosphere, seems a bit slow to start with but once you get the idea it's pretty fun. Would love to see this with more complex traps and mechanics! Nice job

Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Nice idea, very atmospheric.

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:35pm

I liked the atmosphere a lot, this includes graphics + audio + setting. Liked the game mechanics less. I didn't quite get, why the traps would disappear after I've set them up last round. Also, what exactly does it mean, when you set a trap. It seems the people disappear quite randomly. I'm sure, I'm missing something, just don't know what...

6DownStudios says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:25am

Mood is outstanding! Art's excellent; style matches the music and the composition is well thought out, very balanced and everything on the screen from the font choice to the multi-layer text-boxes complements the aesthetic. Kudos!

Wefiends says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:50am

Really really well done and innovative. There were minor annoyances like the text speed, and it was a little hard to figure out what to do. Once I did though, it was a really great experience.

bombjack says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:35pm

the graphics and atmosphere are amazing. But it seems to lack deeness of gameplay. Or did I missed something ? I wasn't maybe patient enough to reach the bets part? If so, I 'm sorry of it. But gfx are still amazing :))

Patomkin says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 2:31pm

The idea is very nice, but I wish I could skip dialogues so the story would go faster.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]