Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Tag

by Greg - Jam Entry

4 player (Monster)Tag game!!

Controls:
From keyboard(s):
Player1: WASD + SPACE
Player2: IJKL + N
Player3: ARROWS + RCTRL
Player4: num8456 + num0

Xbox360 controller(s)
Left stick + A

Gameplay rules:

-100 points if you get caught
no points in monster form
boost the monster to dash forward
no points for 1 sec if you boost
pick up coin for +50 points
the first player to reach 1500 points wins!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#180Graphics(Jam)4.10
#285Fun(Jam)3.40
#287Audio(Jam)3.33
#303Overall(Jam)3.48
#479Humor(Jam)2.88
#499Innovation(Jam)3.04
#539Mood(Jam)3.10
#703Theme(Jam)3.21

Comments

Elenesski says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:50pm

I didn't rate this, and only wanted to mention you might have difficulty finding 4 players at a time to try it out.

NineBears says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:05pm

I tried it with 2 players, so we just avoided the other two player sprites, ad it was really fun. Hunching over the same keyboard was entertaining in and of itself. Love the production values on this as well. Maybe just add a number of players option

fubenalvo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:47am

It's f*ckin' awesome :D

Wevel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Nice game, would be nice for a single player mode, although I know AI is difficult to do

Strike says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Nice art, fun concept. I know what to do with my colleagues now :D

SoulGame says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Such a shame our team split last night after the launch, we would have had a nice coffee break on this. I'll rate it tho, and rate it good, cause I'm confident this would have been very fun and anyway, it's obviously well realized.

TMW says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:20pm

It was awesome :D

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:28am

Game looks nice, but need 4 players is so risky. We're 4 in the studio but... so risky gamble

kaitokidi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:48am

Please make a one player or two players version : )

lebrokholic says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:51am

Woooooow! I like it! Please, say, who's an 2D art designer, he's a professional

Afenda says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:40am

Awesome !!! I like it !! Graphics are good and sounds too. Just one thing to say it's sad that there was no single player. But it is really good game.

MFEP says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:44am

Király volt srácok, csak kicsit unalmas. Nem teljesen volt tiszta, hogy mit kell csinálni, meg néha kicsit bugos volt az irányítás. A grafika menő, csá

camlang says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:55am

Сool game. Especially liked the style of

Hefaistus says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:58am

Great stuff, seems like a fun party game.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:31am

I have played it with my niece and she loves the game :-) Good graphics and cool retro music. The gameplay is good, adding bots to play with them would be a great addition. Good job :-)

crucknuk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:42am

The graphics are very good, it's a little fun game. Well done :)

monetai says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:44am

What a good game!!! Very funny I love the ambiance.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Nice little game, I don't have anyone to play with so a singleplayer mode would've been nice. *sigh* I need to make friends.

Taldius says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Simple concept but really good game!
I love the art style and the music too.
Nice job!

randoman says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:59pm

I downloaded it and looks very polished! I bet is a pretty fun game, but is hard to find other 3 players at the moment :(

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Whoa! Good work! Nice mechanics, maybe it would be good if you could choose the number of players! I liked it.

terop2 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:12pm

works nicely. wish i had more players around...

emongev says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Wow you guys this is just so unfair xD Great game, unfortunately i didnt have anyone to play it with, but i can just tell it would be a lot of fun, although cant the monster just camp out near the coin? Great job you guys!

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Really love the art and UI on this one.

glimaleite says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:35pm

I didn't get 4 players to play, but with 3 it was fun enough! Innovative, fun and cute. As others are saying its a risky choice, but it made the game very different from the others! Great job guys!

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:04pm

Cute :D nice idea. Played a lot with my friends.

Clurect says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:23am

Cute. I really like multiplayer. Some AI would have been a nice add on

Shaw says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:46am

Great fun with two people, graphics are really cute.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Tried it allown but saved it for the next party

folex70 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:16pm

cool game!

Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Very cute, and we all love it. As mentioned, will be nice for a single player mode.

bombjack says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:50pm

I tested it alone. I can forsee how fun this game could be with the complete four player. I hope I'll be able to test it with four players quite soon.

Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Neat game, loved that it supported 4 players. Graphics were also cute :D

rodobodolfo says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 7:48am

Lovely visuals and concept. Would have been nice to have a single player mode. I played 2 player but it would have been really fun if the other monsters were playing.

superfreak says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Dat adorable art!!! Awesome to see a multiplayer game too - lots of fun!!

KaiseanGames says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Tag! You're it!

radmars says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:22pm

I like the simple but classic interpretation of the theme, the monster is "it". Super nice graphics too! I found it hard to see the benefit of dashing, maybe make the speed boost higher but with a longer cooldown?

SoloDuoTeam says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 11:26pm

I did not feel like rating it as I could not find 4 players. But it feels good.

REIN1 says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Good arts!

felipeberquo says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:10pm

Wow, you don't see games like this in the jam very often!
Great? Hell yeah!

DruhinM says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:24am

Its awesome

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]