Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Out the Window

by YellowLime - Compo Entry

Instructions:

1. Unzip
2. Double-click .jar


Selling points:

* No audio.
* Seizure warning.
* Randomized game overs.
* Create your own 32x64, 3-piece critters! (*)
* Maybe unsuitable for kids, for the above reasons.
* Having more than one picture of the game would give it all away.


F.A.Q.:

Q: Why is this not a good game?

A: I was not familiar enough with Java to develop a game quickly. But that's the point of this!

---

Q: Why such ugly garish color(s)?

A: Not enough time to work on aesthetics, although I admit I didn't work on this for as much as I could have these 2 days.

---

Q: Why do the little things look like awful holograms?

A: I couldn't get Java to draw transparent images that could also move freely in the short time I had left. The holograms are the best I could do.

---

Q: (*) Can I add my own 3-piece critters?

A: Sure! Go into the 'img' folder and edit any of the 3 images that the game uses (height must be a multiple of 64). But why would you?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2092Coolness22%

Comments

MetoolDaddy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:41am

I don't even think it's a game.

VampyVampire says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:42am

Interesting idea. I'd like to see this taken further.

YellowLime says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:54am

@MetoolDaddy, you're entitled to your own opinion, although it really is kind of a stretch. Thanks for trying it out.

@VampyVampire, you're too kind :) I thought about trying to making it presentable (music, graphics) for the jam, but I'm spent.

Ybalrid says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:28am

I don't really understand what I'm viewing, nor what I have to do... But if it's your first creation with Java, at least it's running without crashing! ^^"

Graham Weldon says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Not sure what to do here. Decent work though.

YellowLime says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Ybalrid, Graham Weldon: thanks for trying it out and also for your kind comments.

The objective is to click on the monster that doesn't move, before time runs out. The presentation is very lacking so it's understandable that you didn't know what to do.

You're supposed to be picking out monsters that you see from out your window. At the end it's revealed that you are the biggest monster, since you were actually sniping the monsters, so this basic little game actually does follow the theme, if not at first glance :p

Thanks again!

Dejvo says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:23am

A for effort i guess... I hope you learned programming

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

WubAlliance says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Interesting entry, a little hard to understand. I couldn't see any of the icons that are shown in the screenshot, probably because of my computer/java versions. If you are looking at doing gamedev with java I'd strongly suggest finding a good library such as LWJGL (what my team uses), JFrames tend to be a little glitchy for graphics. Congrats on trying something new, we hope to see you again in future Ludum Dares!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]