Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Optimiser

by madalaski - Jam Entry

Sometimes there is a price to pay for your happiness...

WASD to move. The bar on your left shows your happiness. Gather the souls of The Lost in order to increase your happiness. Avoid the increasing blasts of Negativity. Try to stay alive for as long as possible. Does it matter who gets hurt along the way? Just keep on smiling...

Just a warning, this game is very interpretive. If it doesn't make any sense to you, that's fine. If it does, good for you.

EDIT DUE TO FEEDBACK - Make sure to start moving as soon as you get in the game. Grey things are friendly and red things are not. Even if you think you can't lose, keep on playing. You might be surprised.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#244Theme(Jam)3.80
#376Innovation(Jam)3.20
#461Mood(Jam)3.21
#621Audio(Jam)2.42
#716Overall(Jam)3.00
#897Graphics(Jam)2.52
#1268Coolness48%

Comments

sausagroll says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Interesting game, the weird soundtrack fits it perfectly, also has a good message which it portrays in a simple way. I ended up just not moving when i realized what i was doing.

UrbanHelsing says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Nice theme

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:49pm

no web/osx :(

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Interesting mechanic, I've never seen something like that. The quotes when your protectors die really help emphasize the theme. The sound did get annoying after a while. A couple recommendations: maybe give the player a chance to build up more people before the next wave, and maybe do a gradual curve instead of instantly changing the difficulty. Overall, cool idea and generally well implemented.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:14pm

I think there is a cool idea, but not so clear. It vould be great "in game" text that explain something... not all, but a sort of guide. The sound is in fact annoying. But for the rest great work, and nice thought.

Keon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:13pm

The sound of the things firing sorta clashes with the theme. Other than that I really like the subtle way you presented the theme.

Rothens says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:35pm

I really liked the mechanic, I think I could get the message as I saw a connection with the theme after some minutes. :)

Arnage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:16pm

You managed to convey an interesting message in a very effective way. It's hard to criticize as a lot of things that might have made this a more expansive game would have probably distracted from that message.

AsixJin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Very nice entry! Love your usage of the theme and everything just seems to fit. I didn't read the instructions but I was able to pick up on what was happening fairly quickly. It was definitely worth it.

Shugor says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Cool game, very strange, but cool game. It's fun to try and amass the biggest shield you can!

fermenter says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:59pm

*eye brow raise*
spooky spooky!
but wait, WAS it worth it?

Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:08pm

hmm I guess I am not clever enough because I don't get the message everybody is talking about. But I somehow really like the gameplay. As simple as it is it is also quite addictive. Got pretty far.

1y1e says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:28pm

I think this is kind of hilarious: as a player you've been gradually building up pressure and now you're under heavy bombardment, you're fighting to cling on and then suddenly SMASH CUT TO SILENT BLACK SCREEN WITH EXISTENTIAL MESSAGE. That unexpected jarring feeling was great. Not sure that's what you were going for but I enjoyed feeling it! I would have voted 5 stars for fun if you had let me :P

Lucho9 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:39pm

IT S SO FUCKIN WEIRD I GET IT AND LOVE IT! i knew someone will try this idea. i enjoyed it, that is what it counts

Quij says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Very cool! Good use of a simple mechanic to demonstrate complex thoughts.
Like, is it worth making friends if we're just going to hurt them down the road?
Alternatively, if I'm immortal or long-lived, what's the point in making friends if they're going to die so much sooner than me? :P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]