Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Delicious Cortex

by deepnight - Compo Entry

You are the Lich King.

The annoying City Watch is messing around your domain so you take the only decision that fits such a situation: you invoke minions to kill everyone :)

In Delicious Cortex, you don't control your minions directly. You just lead them around and try to give them orders. But hey, they're zombies, so don't expect to much.

Controls:
ARROW - walk around
SPACE - catch/release your minions


UPDATE: I posted a hotfix on Monday morning to add WASD control support and re-enable the life bar

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Overall4.46
Coolness53%
#9Fun4.30
#9Graphics4.61
#9Audio4.22
#15Mood4.19
#18Theme4.30
#26Humor4.08
#41Innovation3.97

Comments

oxysoft says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:19am

Very well made game, once again

watupdb says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:48am

Simply great. Great first impression, art is amazing (once again!), the game-play just works as expected.

dollarone says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:06am

Fantastic. Will re-play. Delicious graphics, excellent handling and innovative gameplay. All thumbs up!

shawn42 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:09am

Very fun and great art. The lag of zombies catching up to you really slows down the gameplay, but overall amazing game.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:29am

Awesome, as always. A few nitpicks: i would like a health bar or something to tell how close i am to dying. also the crypt was a little too hard.

whalebot says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:35am

My only complaint would be that the gameplay got a little slow sometimes with the speeds of the characters. Everything else was amazing. Great work!

mklee says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:41am

Really great stuff, wished I had just a little more control over which enemies my zombies would attack (but then again they are zombies...). Awesome and fun!

Notsu says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:02am

Génial :)

johnhackworth says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:10am

Best one I've played on this LD so far :)

nicotuason says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:15am

LIVEEEER! Haha this game is just... the best. Hat's off once again! Really catchy tune too.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:53am

Beautiful and super fun. Another amazing entry. Every part works very well.

fuzzalicious says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:32am

Faaaaaantastic!

lubos says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:11am

It all comes together perfectly - music, art, gameplay.

Split82 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:13am

Very nice. Love the movement animation of zombies.

adamwoolridge says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:46am

Awesome as usual. Great job!

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:02am

Another fantastic one, this time it's very Overlord/Pikmin-esque. Great presentation, simple gameplay, very fun to play. Only gripe is the difficulty in the later levels. Fantastic job :D

scorched says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:03am

Amazing!
Consider adding WASD control!

scorched says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:18am

Stuck at the purgatory, it's very tough! :-)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:08am

As always, your game has excelent graphics, inovative gamplay and funny dialog.
A joy to play your game.
:D

steve says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:25am

Brilliant as always, I love that the horde is a little uncontrollable and will run off on their own

Sublustris says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Great, as usual :)

jorgemoag says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Awesome. Best of the bests.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Amazing work. Kinda like undead pikmin :)

EwChap says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Top notch. Really fun all around. Lovely style and feel. Perfect fit with the theme. Great mechanics. Well Done!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:51pm

I love everything about this game. Even the sfxr sound effects aren't quite horrible :) The zombie mechanic is brilliant: you have to get close enough to the enemy for your minions to spot them, but far enough away not to suffer any damage yourself. Amazing job!

kewleus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Great use of indirect control. Fun game.

Jared Sartin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:15pm

As always, AWESOME!!!

KeyboardCat says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Really great, even if I am stuck at the purgatory.

Good job !

rnlf says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:11pm

I only get a black screen with music on Linux (Firefox/Iceweasel 38 + Flash 11). I will try again when I get a chance to run windows.

The music sounds great already!

Cawrtz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Terrific. Beautiful graphics, simple yet fun mechanics, and the 'deepnight humor'© is there as always.

anissen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Quit outshining everybody with your inhuman talents! The game is absolutely awesome as always.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Incredible, simply incredible as always. Five stars all the way.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Flawless! So much character and fun, the art and music are top notch, zombies screaming LuUduumm was funny as hell.
I think I need to find your games every Ludum from now on!

marudziik says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:43pm

I really would like to find a flaw in one of your entries. Like, once. ;) Well, maybe next time. 5/5 all. :P

axoona says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:32pm

This game is great!

General says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:56pm

This is something really great! When I saw the 1st screenshot on twitter I couldn't imagine that such an awesome game will be created. Today I've rated 11 games, yours is the best (it's even better than mine, I must admit ;) )

I like how you combine the "Indirect control" with "You are the monster" here.

I made videos of me playing LD entries: http://youtu.be/6Al6aF0oETA
Your game is at 13:37

Ventura says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:16pm

I love it! I love the mechanic, I love the music and these simple controls! I think because that, this game can be an amazing mobile game if you export it to these kind of platforms. I would play it.

aeai says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Simply awesome. I especially like the graphics.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:04pm

What can I say that hasn't already been said before. Simply an amazing game.

zuurr says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:43pm

great as always.

the logic/mechanic for when your followers are standing vs attacking is a bit wonky, but probably something that can be worked out (making the radius of uhm, influence bigger could be all that's needed).

either way its a really cool concept for a game, and extremely well executed.

LeoM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:16am

Great, as always ! ^^

Realize2D says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:20am

Great game!

Meat Us says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:24am

Really really cool game. Can't believe an only man can do that, great job !

conormn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:29am

Geeez, this is crazy good. This mechanic works so well. Congrats!

omaha says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:42am

It's just crazy how much content you've managed to build in 48 hours. Your color selection is wonderful.

Nice work.

zatyka says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:19am

Seriously impressive.

LeReveur says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:23am

A really enjoyed playing your game, as always !

radmars says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:49am

Nice! Really good gamefeel & graphics. Nicely challenging too, once it got going. Somehow we both had basically the same idea so bonus points for that :D Great work!

fullmontis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:52am

Super fun game as usual!

Thorig says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:01am

Can you please stop with making awesome entries? This is really fun to play. Those graphics are great and music is maybe a bit too happy. It is a nice Pikemin style of play. Too bad you don't add the killed people with their skills to you army. Still a great game.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:16am

You're always one of the first games authors I check when a Ludum Dare contest happens. And I always like your games.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Very nice, turned out to be more tactical than it seemed at first!

psypol says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Bravo. Your like the LD's wizard to me Sebastien

Donpastor says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Amazing. Or should I say a-maze-ing?

Gammel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Great game!!! The only thing lacking is story, or different monster types (and each one could have different skills, just to make it more strategic). You have seriously achieved something good here!

Pietdagamer says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:44pm

5/5 for everything, truly amazing.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Neat graphic, looks almost cross-stitch! Chuckled at the dialogue and the zombies' shouts, fun gameplay too - great entry!

freaknarf says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Perfect gem once again !
I'm in love with the visuals and it feels really great to lead a crowd of hungry zombies... There's fun, music sounds nice, excellent graphics, an efficient and simple gameplay.
Awesome game. Great job.

Yakka says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:42pm

One more great Deepnight's game :)

Legulysse says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:32pm

As always, great entry. Polished and all stuff!

scorched says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Completed on second playthrough! A lot easier WASD-way :-)

deepnight says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Yes, thanks for the suggestion ;)

Sanju says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:32pm

Great game! 5/5

plusultra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Amazing polish. This is a real accomplishment!

RobotMeal says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Yet another amazing entry! Smooth artwork, solid set of audio, and fun gameplay. Awesome!

dancingmad says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:11am

Great game, very original on many ways !
One only problem : flash performances ...

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:40am

Amazing game, Sebastien. I think this is your best Ludum Dare game to date. It's so good, and fun, that imo you could extend it and sell it. Pro level in every way. Put this on Steam. Get rich.

johnhattan says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:04am

Oh this one is lots of fun. High marks in all categories. I hope you'll keep working on this one, because it deserves a commercial release.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:24am

Reminds me of pikmin. Great work on the level design.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:25am

How do you do that, seriously? Congratulations on being awesome.

dydx says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:57am

Just awesome. I got stuck in Purgatory, but I appreciate the difficulty curve :)

raphix says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:17am

Wow !!!
I had great fun playing this game, and the "words" are truly funny ! Well done !

Strike says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:00am

Simply perfect.
One of the best LD33 game I have played.

Yamzho says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:14am

As usual, it's a masterpiece...

Arche-san says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:28am

Wow!
This is impressive for a 48h game. The game mechanic is really fun and reminds me pikmin. The art are excellent and zombies messages are really really funny.

A small improvement will be a visual feedback when all humans are dead (like "Go to exit").

allinlabs says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:11am

Always a good time with your games. Everything is perfectly executed, the difficulty curve is good, it's easy to play and you understand immediately how things work. Many thing to learn from it. Well done!

recursor says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Phenomenal as usual, and the zombie dialog is hilarious.

ColmiYveul says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Annnnd another killer entry by Deepnight, how surprising :D
I'll always be amazed on how you can create such great things in so little time. Amazing concept, greats graphics.

tMalicet says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:51pm

I love the pixel art which looks like voxel art! And I love the music too. Completely appropriate!

bombjack says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:52pm

just amazing as always :)

ehtd says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:07am

A bit weak on the gameplay, very good on the rest. Good job.

Justo Delgado says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:15am

Awesome game as always, nothing else to say.

xvw says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:24am

Hmm, each deepnight's participation are awesome! Thanks for your exceptionnal job !

scriptorum says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:50am

Delightful.

Grouflon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:42am

A good idea for a great Game !

REIN1 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:58am

Fantastic.

cbstegeman says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Really, truly fantastic. Just the right amount of difficulty for a short game. And hilarious too.

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Absolutely beautiful as usual. Very interesting gameplay as well.

FrederickK says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:37pm

As always, great job sir!

Suese says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:17am

The quality and content level of the graphics is exceptional with quality sensory feedback.

This one is really really buggy and it made it virtually impossible to play.

Also, I find it really annoying that you are consistently the least cool person in Ludum Dare. It's really quite a jerk move to be "the best" every time and not even take a few minutes to look at the hard work everyone else put in and give your opinions and ratings. It's a bit arrogant and self-centered don't you think?

All these people have time for your game and you're too important to even contribute? What's that all about?

Aumni says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:57am

Very fun game! Awesome art/audio. Good work!! :)

spotco says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:33am

just like pikmin, love it :)
was hoping for some sort of boss though

LeafThief says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Just wow

SoulGame says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Super amazing entry :)

Everything is pretty much nailed as always. I only felt a bit annoyed by the movement of my character somehow a bit glitchy I felt. Nothing too serious tho.

rnlf says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Ahahaha, that ending! Plays really smooth, the last three levels required a lot of strategic planning.

I will not say anything about the art, we expected no less from you ;-)

Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:45am

Fun, spooky and cute! Couldn't make it past the purgatory.
Luuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuduuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuum! [¬º-°]¬

01101101 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:06am

Can't believe I hadn't rated yours yet :D
What more can I say anyway? Great art, fun and challenging gameplay, lots of polish, cool music... A really good game as usual :)

tanis says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:33am

Super as usual! Love your games fella!

someone says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:38pm

I just get a black screen with music on Linux.

PeYMaN says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Incredible! 5/5!

jhrrsn says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:01pm

As always (!) this is a super fun, neatly contained idea that has been executed very well. Good job!

01010111 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Super awesome entry!! Solid all the way around! Amazing work as usual :)

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Great design, art, music. A+ game

NightShadow0 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:20pm

This is really impressive! The mechanic is great, i expected it to be mindless but it's surprisingly strategic as the levels become more complex. I'd suggest having regenerating health, since you already have the primary losing condition of losing all your minions and it's not very easy to gauge the range of the enemies. This didn't affect my enjoyment much, however, which was high throughout.
Amazing level of polish too, surprising length, great graphics, and a really catchy tune. It doesn't make sense to me how you made all of this in 48h. Brilliant work!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Very polished game, and great job on the level layouts!

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:57am

Love the mechanics! Beautiful art also. Great job, as always. :D

Togimaro says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Amazing game! Great graphics and musics!

Gornova says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:04pm

AWESOME!!! :d

SKT says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Très fun à jouer et magnifique à regarder, comme d'hab :)

Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Great graphics, the bloom, pixels, detail, and shadows look very visually pleasing. Liked the theme of the game. I liked the music. soo fun! didn't care to much for the fact that i wasn't in control, but it was so much fun to watch them i didn't reeeeealy mind all that much. gj

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Really not much to it aside from leading the monsters around. The sound effects and music feel like they're from an old Atari game. The game tries to be funny with the popup text over the monsters, but it just really doesn't work.

aprotasenya says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:51am

This is plain excellent. Thanks, I've had a good time playing this. :)

cjke.7777 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Wow, every ludum dare you kill it. Man, inspirational.

S0rax says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:09pm

A very funny game, good job

Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:04pm

PSSST - You are featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yzmckPggrwA

Miziziziz says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:05pm

VERY impressive. Technical and gameplay-wise.
great pathfinding, no issues at all.
Level design was good: challenge gradually increased

Drauthius says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Wow. Amazing work.

S0lll0s says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:59am

a lot of fun, a mechanic I havent seen before and one of the most polished games I've seen this LD.

jackrugile says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:02am

Blown away, great game!

Saf says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 7:23am

Best. Entry. Ever.

Niebule says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:51pm

This game is amazing! all kudos to you sir!

wooltech says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 1:09am

Brilliant. It's a fun game which looks and sounds great. very well polished.

The levels are just long enough to be interesting, but short enough to think "I'll just try that again" when you die.

arzi says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Aaaargh :D :D The best game in this LD! The zombies are so awesome! Really good *everything*.

Zephyr Raine says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Amazing, impressive and inspiring work, as always.

ethankennerly says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 2:40am

When I introduced myself as the evil lord returning to his property, I smiled and was subsequently enchanted by the consistent world you crafted. If you continue to develop this, when I died in the Family Cemetery, I didn't notice my life bar, and felt a little discouraged to reload and re-recruit each zombie.

Techblogogy says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 5:29am

Great game! Very fun to play, looks nice and music is great. "Evil Lord My Ass"-cracked me up a bit. Well done!

ZNCatlaw says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Absolutely amazing. I had a hard time believe that this was made in 48 hours, but then I watched your timelapse. This was super fun, gorgeous, and the sound design was very pleasing. For me, this is the winner. ^o^//

Gamepopper says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 8:30pm

I found this really funny, controlling a hoard of zombies is really satisfying!

Mach60KAS says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Graphically stunning, but one of several zombie control games I've seen this dare. The soundtrack is pretty neat, and lines of flavour text from the zombies and hunters make the game funnier all around! :) Great work, keep it up!

Teesquared says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 1:26am

The music and humor reminded me of "Shaun of the Dead." Great all around entry. Surprising amount of strategy. Enjoy cleaning up your piles of gold :)

crucknuk says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Just... wow! I am amazed that you managed to do all this in a compo! The game is really fun to play! Excellent entry!

egor-idiot says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Perfectly done, one more time.
Grat job!

Afenda says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Fantastic !!! i like very well your game !

LandoSystems says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 12:11am

Magnificent... you had me at the very first scene. Great art style and animation, solid mechanic and implementation, excellent audio and music. Fantastic work!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 4:37am

As usual, you did something great. I like aesthetic and gameplay. Nice entry ++

bloomingbuds says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 7:30am

Great, great, great...

Ibai Aizpurua says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 11:14am

Really nice and polished game!!! Amazing

dcolgan says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 11:09pm

My overall mark for judging games is how long it can keep me playing without me feeling like I need to keep playing. Every time I resurrected, it was because I wanted to, not because of a sense of obligation. It was easy to learn, but got difficult fast. I spent a long time on the purgatory alone and I thought for sure that would be the last level, but there was at least one more and I could not get past it.

handkor says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 2:11am

Your pixel art is so nice. Game is fun too. Very good job. In my top 5 so far.

Patomkin says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 7:10am

A fantastic game, undoubtedly one of the best in this LD

Sep 12, 2015 @ 9:38am

One of the greats.

madmaw says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 11:56am

So polished. It's depressing competing in the same category as you

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Awesome job as always. Didn't know you were using Haxe too! Apparently you're rolling your own haxe framework as well? Sheesh! @_@

Insality says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 4:07pm

The beautyful graphics and so sweety gameplay! Very enjoyable, great entry! 5+

Sparrow says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Great fun and well polished. Awesome entry!

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Nice and fun... Impressive !

cyrixd says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 2:14am

Wonderful game, so much polish and attention to detail. Great stuff.

Vladirien says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 8:37am

Really good game on every aspect! Fantastic job!

chromebookbob says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:56am

Hilarious dialog, really polished

local minimum says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Very well executed game indeed. My only wish would be that it had a fullscreen mode or adjustable hight. Playing on my TV (which claims to be 720p), I can't fit it fully so I couldn't see the healthbar if I wanted to see all the way down. I think the gameplay worked very well and minion management while not having any cool abilities yourself... it was very nice. I didn't notice, but if killed enemies became minions, that might be nice. The one thing that would make this game even better is to work on level design more so that it becomes harder to figure out which was is best/optimal to go. In part this can be solved by having the optimal way needing some backtracking or having forks in the road where both ways seem equally good at start. But more importantly, a dynamic world. Having some enemies walk around, give enemies a visual field. Stuff like that. Very good game though. Hope you do continue working on it.

uheartbeast says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Top scores for innovation, theme, and humor. This is one of my favorite games so far. Great job.

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Amazing art and fitting sound effects and music. Love how you introduce new game elements. Very cool entry!

walsh9 says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 6:21am

I wish there was a polish category so I could give this game 5 stars in it.

Larzan says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 7:59am

Great game, beautiful and extremely well polished!

Erkberg says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Your games are always awesome and this one is no exception. Very nice gameplay mechanics combined with beautiful visuals and good sounds and music make for simply a great game.

Sep 15, 2015 @ 3:37pm

This really is a great game. Discovered after LD33 and I played until the end. Simple but good challenges, good sound, graphics, humour... not too long. Worthy of #2

OldPeculier says ...
Sep 19, 2015 @ 2:23pm

You've still got "Source (soon)." How soon?

Aiursrage2k says ...
Dec 5, 2015 @ 1:22am

Holy shit this guy is a golden god

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]