Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monstering Monsters

by NickMakesGames - Compo Entry

+------------------------------------------+
| Monster (verb): British, informal; |
| To criticize or reprimand severely |
+------------------------------------------+

In Monstering Monsters, you alternate between playing as a parent of some rowdy children and the speech bubbles that the parent creates by monstering their children.
Your goal is to monster your children enough that they calm down for the day before you get knocked unconcious by the objects they throw at you.

Controls:
arrow keys: Control parent;
Control monster (speech bubble) if present

keyboard:...Prepare monster

Enter:......Monster your children

Esc:........Pause game;
View key words

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#34Innovation4.02
#64Humor3.79
#93Overall3.77
#109Fun3.65
#166Mood3.50
#226Audio3.22
#228Theme3.75
#268Graphics3.47

Comments

Phil Strahl says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:42am

very funny game (love the sound effects!) and well executed, especially given the time frame. Interesting take on the theme, fun to play (I should brush up my typing skills, it seems). Also enjoy the art direction, everything fits together lovely. good game!

Mattress says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:43am

This was EXTREMELY fun to play, and, also, EXTREMELY DIFFICULT! I loved it!

cgmorton says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:05am

Brilliant! I had some real fun playing this game. It's a little unwieldy trying to dodge and type, and I invariably get hit when I'm moving a speech bubble, but you've balanced well for that. Great game.

VampyVampire says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:32am

Really good job dude. Nothing else to say.

JayWoody says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:43am

The minimalistic graphics are a nice touch.

I still don't quite understand what it is that the player is doing in the game. Why does "upsetqw" count as a word? Shouldn't be like real known words?

Anyways that thing aside it was an enjoyable little game!

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:47am

This game is amazing.
Those kids are too intelligent to be stuck in
the house throwing pieces of furniture that you stored
in random drawers around you house, and your wife should
be selling those bouncy objects instead of letting the intelligent kids play catch with them.

Acerio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:49am

Sound effects were.. neat? Little too easy though. (My game is TOO hard. I saw you said something about that. There's wall jumping in mine if that helps)

DoggyDog says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Great game, sounds and minimalistic graphics.

undef says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Absolutely brilliant!

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Sound is great, very well executed. The approach is genius. "Monstering" really cracked me up. Really fun to play. Keep up the good work:D

Somnium says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Very fun take on the theme, and the sound effects are a very good fit to the humor and mood.

Pretty hard though :-)

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Haha very funny. This is a good typing trainer. I love the idea and the cool implementation. It is a little hard in the last level.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Great sound effects and also your art style is very good!

Marcellus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Nice take on the theme, game is very innovative and fun, but damn it's hard.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Difficult and very very fun... I love it!!!

Shinmera says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:59pm

What to say, what to say.

The graphics are a nice beginning. It feels rather empty though. I understand the need for a large, open area in order to leave the player room to dodge, but it would have been nice if it had been integrated a bit better into the overall game. Instead of just a flat room, it could have been an entrance hall in a mansion with various things to throw in the corners. Just generally more detail in the background would have helped to make it more visually interesting.

It's nice to see a game that has some semblance of a story worked into it, that was very refreshing. Reading the various blurbs at the beginning of each stage was nice.

When typing things out I felt very constrained and unnecessarily stressed out rather than genuinely challenged. I can't move around while typing something or while moving the speech bubble around, so I'm completely exposed and pretty much up to the game's mercy as to whether I'll get hit in the process. A way to move both the parent and the speech bubble at the same time would have helped alleviate that problem.

Otherwise the gameplay follows a nice difficulty curve, arching upwards and adding new elements to liven it up. Well done on that!

pi_pi3 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:05pm

I love it. It's innovative, fun and great in every aspect

Dukio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:11pm

One of the bests here :3 The gameplay it's amazing and very innovative. The only lack I see it's the audio (no music, collision sounds are too loud), otherwise... I-have-no-words! ;D

Aun says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Nice work, the difficulty increases well. It made me type quite fast :)

goet says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Really digging the mixture of shmups the typing games. I feel like the level before the last is harder than the "final boss", but maybe throwing every colored object at the player would have been hard for someone who does not play shoot em ups regulalry.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:52am

What a charming little game! Day six is so mean that it starts being frustrating before looping over to hilarious. Funny take on the theme, obviously; I'm surprised your game is the only one that comes up if you look up "monstering" !!!

guoboism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Really funny idea! And game is very polished, hard work on the graphics! When there is 2 kids, game suddenly became too difficult as no way to tell which kid has heard which word already.

GFM says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:06am

Really funny! Seeing all my 'monster' at the end was great!

Bloodyaugust says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:27am

Really great entry. I loved the interpretation on the theme. More levels, slower progression, and maybe different types of items could make it sellable.

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Pretty funny, also really liked the tutorial/intro to each level. Good job!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:21am

Very interesting mechanic.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:33am

I loved the mechanic having the player come up with their own sentences and having them read out at the end. It was a really cute mechanic. And I loved how you tied it to the theme. CHILDREN ARE MONSTERS!!! I know...I have a little sister. j.k.

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Very cool typing game, I really enjoyed the mechanics as you had to kind of keep an eye on both what you're typing and what is going to hit you. Overall, very well done 5/5

MrTwister says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:46am

Incredibly creative game! It was a tad confusing at first but when the game started I quickly grasped the objective and the game mechanic.
It was hard as hell though! hahaha. Damn bratty kids!

Anyway, awesome entry, really fun! Congrats!

adsilcott says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Very clever and creative! I love the way you have to type something out and then actually control the speech bubble! The text between levels is great too.

superfreak says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:54am

Quite frankly this is a masterpiece. I laughed uncontrollably for about 10 minutes as I attempted to create order in some kind of unwieldly monster-hell. Adorable art-style and amazing take on the theme. Great job.

Sep 6, 2015 @ 10:46am

Great take on the theme! I included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/U5AMORGkiRk

Sep 8, 2015 @ 3:57am

Funny, but quite difficult. Well done!

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 3:01am

Very nice interpretation of the theme. Liked the idea of the game a lot. It had a very deliberate pace and a relatively smooth difficulty that made it pleasant to play. I'm not exactly a fan of multi-tasking where typing and dodging seemed like a necessity, but the overall presentation was great! Definitely would love to see this game extended, if for its silly plot.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]