Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Tower Clicker

by Cawrtz - Compo Entry

A cross-platform HTML5 *tower defense where YOU are the monster*.

- Prepare your waves in the spawning room
- Loot, kill, destroy

Good luck.

Edit : there is a shortcut that opens at some point. I won't tell more ;)

----
It has been over a year, and this is the first time I use the phaser framework (or a framework at all) for the compo. I highly recommand it!

Please contact me if you are stuck because of a bug so I can fix it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#86Innovation3.73
#213Theme3.78
#231Overall3.46
#275Graphics3.46
#293Fun3.27
#529Mood2.92
#553Humor2.50

Comments

shawn42 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:25am

Lots of clicking, but a unique play style. Nice work.

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Nice game idea, I like how you can spawn different types of monsters.

Valicitor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Very cool, has potential to be a very addicting game

Parappa says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:35pm

I liked it a lot!

frokes says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Hmm...intresting concept. though it feels very repetitive and punishing. Maybe makeing the towers "perma"-die would give it a bit more flow.

Jeasonfire says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:49pm

The graphics are great, and the game is - for some reason - really addictive. That was fun, good job!

axoona says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:01pm

I really enjoyed this game
and yes, lot's of clicking!

gnuwilliam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Nice graphics!

flokitall says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Awesome game, it definitely held my interest for the longest time out of the games that I've played so far. Great job!

The graphics fit the theme well, the movement of your minions was pretty smooth. I was expecting at least one instance of a minion getting permanently stuck on a wall or something, but the path-finding worked flawlessly.

I have seen tower defense games where you play the bad guys before, but this has probably been the most enjoyable one so far.

My only nitpicks with the game would be:
- the progression felt much too slow, I replayed the same portion of the level way too much; perhaps the game's difficulty could ramp up a bit slower
- I wasn't a fan of massive clicking needed to spawn minions (this is probably my biggest complaint)
- it took me a couple of minutes to realize what I could do and how the minions were following my mouse, not my character; some tips in the description would have helped

Overall great game, made even more impressive by the fact that it's a Compo, not a Jam!

Cawrtz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Thank you very much @flokitall. My goal was to make an addictive game, but as you and others pointed out, players loose interest with the slow progress. Lesson learned, will not make the mistake in the future ;)
Out of curiosity, did you finish it?

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Very addicting - great take on the Cookie Clicker genre. Would play again!

HayManMarc says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:32pm

Clicky-clickity-click-click. Interesting mashup of cookie clicker and tower defense. The little guys didn't path find very well and they had a lot of trouble destroying houses. Restarting the level over and over was kinda weird.

Goutye says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:42pm

I really loved this one! Until the end, without the last upgrade o/ Great great entry! Addicting <3 Nice graphics as well!

psychonull says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Excelent game. I love it. The graphics and the idea were awesome. Some sounds and music would have been great. The only thing that i don't like it was the mood but great game anyway. Good job!

MrTwister says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:02am

Nice graphics and fun game.
Too much clicking involved though!
It was really fun nonetheless. Good job!

Tijn says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:29am

Wow, this game is surprisingly deep! It took me a little while to figure out what I had to do, but once I started unlocking stuff, I was on a roll :D

SecularBaron says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:35pm

A very fun twist on a tower defense. I liked the spawning units.

uheartbeast says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:03pm

This game has potential. It feels like an RTS which is a good thing. Polish it up and throw it on mobile.

redzero says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:04pm

This is by far the ludum dare game that I spent more time playing.

sergicollado says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:38pm

It's a great idea, and so fun.

aeveis says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:25am

beat the game in 19 waves. Pretty good, the only problem I had was the camera control, I wish there was a large dead zone around where I clicked so the camera wouldn't always be panning around. I alternated between hold my mouse and clicking it, when I had a lot of minions they would they get stuck on things. Otherwise though, pretty good, the gameplay was pretty balanced.

SumGato says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Nice game. My main complaints are that it is too grindy and that the minions get stuck too easily and it's tiring to have to "rescue" them each time.

Larzan says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:50am

Wow, great game, very well balanced with the different types of monsters, the autospawn and the game advance, good idea and very well implemented in only 48h.
I like it a lot!

LandoSystems says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 6:32pm

I really enjoyed this game. It took a little bit to realize that I just have to click where I want the main guy to go instead of dragging, and sometimes my minions would get stuck around corners or not attack what I wanted them to, but it didn't have too much of an impact on fun.

I really wish there had been some sound and music, it would have added a lot... but time is short in the compo. I liked the art style and gameplay quite a bit and with some more polish it could be a really fun little mobile game.

Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]