Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Is This Me?

by Benedikt Vogler - Compo Entry

You need Java 1.8 in order to run this game. Also you need non-crappy speakers. Game should not be played without sound.

Controls
Action: "space"/"Left Mouse button"
Move: "A"/"Left" and "D"/"Right"

This is my first try on an "industrial" game. Inspired by industrial music like by the bands PAL, Feindflug, Genocide Organ and Skinny Puppy.
This is more an interactive experience / art then a classical game. Therefore I removed "Fun" and "humor" from rating.
The game may be disturbing for some people, others may find it funny or boring but I intended more a replication of a state of mind.

I did not feel to well this weekend therefore total time on the game is more a 24h entry than a 48h.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2226Coolness14%

Comments

mortus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:30pm

It crashes right after the disclaimer screen for me.

mortus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Looks like it's a problem on my side though, will check later.

Sam Twidale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Also crashing on my system (Windows 10) on the disclaimer screen (unzipped it, hit space, window closes).

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:28pm

hmm, I will check it out. Thanks for pointing it out.

Phil Strahl says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Worked on my system (Win 10 x64, JRE installed). Very interesting art style and … surprising second screen. Had a bit of Kill Bill vibe to it, audio was very good. Unfortunately a bit short, though.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:32pm

Okay it should be fixed now.

mortus says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:07am

It works now. Not that I'm entirely sure it's a good thing though :D.

Does it have only 3 "levels" or is it crashing again after level 3? I mean... I've definitely seen some nudity and gore, there were disturbing noises alright, but I'm not so sure about sexual violence. Yeah, you can't really tell. That's why i think there could be more to it than I've seen.

Zeriver says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Well that was an interesting idea. I don't know what to think but i think i enjoyed this "game"

Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:38pm

@mortus: the sexual violence was something I wanted to implement but I had to drop it then.

Sep 3, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Very disturbing at least. Kudos for trying something else!

MercuryXGames says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:57pm

wow... xD

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]