Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Destroy Earth

by hobblygobbly - Jam Entry

Feedback/suggestions welcome

Update at 5 hours left till close: I made the first system/level a bit easier! Only update I can do for now, work/study priorities I have to do instead.

Premise
----
You are an alien species known as Rul

The Rul have discovered Earth and have tasked you to destroy it for some reason because you're a monstrous species that enjoys being monstrous and destructive!

The Rul become "one" with their spaceships/technology and are able to mutate with it biologically.

With each jump to a star system, your ship mutates into a better version. Along the way you will battle Sol Confederacy forces that are trying to prevent you from destroying their home, Earth.

How To Play
----
W - FORWARD (STERN THRUSTERS)

A - LEFT (STARBOARD THRUSTERS)

D - RIGHT (PORT THRUSTERS)

SPACEBAR - FIRE WEAPONS

MOUSE LEFT CLICK - CLICK ON ENEMY TO TARGET FOR GIMBALLED WEAPONS TO LOCK ONTO

Find the system star gate to jump to the next star system by flying into it. There'll be an arrow indicator providing you with the direction to it. With each jump to a star system, your ship mutates into a better version. Along the way you will battle Sol Confederacy forces that are trying to prevent you from destroying their home, Earth.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#925Overall(Jam)2.73
#2056Coolness24%

Comments

architect404 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:55pm

really like the graphics and ship design. I found the game too hard when trying to kill every ship and too easy when just rushing to the stargate. maybe an autofire mechanic would help balance combat rather than relying on how fast I can mash spacebar. nice game though, good effort!

rudra says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Cool Game, liked the graphics and the controls of the spaceship, though I had to practice it few times to keep it going, Overall, a Great effort. :)

KingGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Very fun! Good Graphics! Good sound! Good everything! Keep up the good work!

HellBlazer says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:45pm

This is very hard if you don't just rush to the stargate. Maybe a bit more mobility for your ship would be good? It's possible that I just suck. :) As architect404 said, auto-fire would also certainly be appreciated. In any case it's a good effort, and the development ideas you mention in-game sound like it could be a pretty cool game.

Miltage says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:44pm

I had a very hard time controlling the ship. I think you should call your game 'Dodgem Cars on Ice with Guns'.

I liked the little thruster details though.

Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Nice game, but controls were extremely hard for me.

paquinn says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:57pm

I really liked the graphics, especially the stars. Reminded me a lot of captain forever in a good way. If there were a way to design ships I could see myself playing this for a few hours.

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Nurbs says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:43am

Alright little asteroids derivative. I feel like there should be some more incentive for actually engaging with the enemies but the different ship upgrades are cool at least.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]