Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Knightmar Club

by louis.denizet - Jam Entry

Welcome to the Knightmar club!

You will have to scare monsters while they sleep using their weaknesses you can find on their Monsterbook profil!

Made this game with my girlfriend, we were not really inspired by the theme so we made it just for fun. I hope you find it funny too ;)

Graphisms of Melissandre Samson
Programing of Louis Denizet

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#87Humor(Jam)3.83
#117Theme(Jam)4.00
#192Graphics(Jam)4.07
#196Audio(Jam)3.52
#202Innovation(Jam)3.45
#206Overall(Jam)3.62
#266Mood(Jam)3.48
#439Fun(Jam)3.17

Comments

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Gorgeous graphics, cute concept.

duskpn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:55pm

That was extremely fun and creative! The audio was pretty amusing with the monster moaning and all...

danidre14 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Nice concept, and cool graphics.

kozun says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Those sound made me laught especially those with medals :D

kmiitz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:32pm

I liked it all, 5 stars!

Can't pass the 3rd level, is it normal?

louis.denizet says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Thanks guys!
Yeah third level is the last one, didn't implement anything saying that we win :/

Fiveathome says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:06pm

HAHA this game was so funny ! And I love the sound design ! congratulation !

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:07pm

I liked the music.

FireTwin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:09pm

I really love the art style , so soft :) The concept of looking up what monsters dislike to scare them is just hilarious. Nice one! Would be cool if it was a bit tougher somehow though. Also you could have multiple monsters in the bed and you have to remember and figure out which things they all dislike.

t4u says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:54pm

I like the inverted Monster Inc. I don't have fun from playing. Never been a fan of rythm games. I would play longer if there were more monsters designs in next levels.

Scaring monsters with duck is fun but I would like to see it somehow developed so the whole scaring process has bigger humorous impact.

Galvesmash says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Loved the idea and the graphics! It's like a "Monster, Inc." reversed but it's great!

Nichii says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:17pm

haha this is pretty interesting. Reminds me of the Monsters Inc ps2 game I've played back then. I recommend adding the buttons in the bottom middle of the screen, that way players could be able to see the animations youve added.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:04am

Amazing graphics, loved the hilarious idea and the gameplay of this one. The music was pretty nice too and you did a great, great job overall, congrats ! (en plus si c'est un etudiant francais :D )

Pierrec says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:22am

It took me some time to realize the kid was scarrying the monster (I was focused on my keyboard). Lovely graphics

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]