Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Entropy

by sprawl - Jam Entry

Entropy is an abstract puzzle game about the end of the universe. I Highly recommend the tutorial on the first playthrough.

For this Ludum Dare, I wanted to try my hand at a puzzle game. The whole game was made by me except for the music and some textures for the particles effects. I'm pleased with the result and had time to complete most of what I intented. The theme isn't explicitly presented, but it is present.


CREDITS :

Game By Alexis Lessard

Music by Kevin MacLeod :
"Peace of Mind" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#58Overall(Jam)4.00
#77Innovation(Jam)3.83
#93Mood(Jam)3.88
#97Audio(Jam)3.77
#123Fun(Jam)3.67
#313Graphics(Jam)3.83
#1059Theme(Jam)2.24

Comments

Jod says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:58pm

My thoughts while playing:

-"Click anywhere to destroy the universe.", now _that_ is an opening statement!
-Aaah! The black thing on the bottom is talking to me and I missed stuff! Damnit!
-Wow... this is tablet-ready.
-Hey, a Maltezer cross. Cool! Ooh! Ooh! A Triforce!
-Oh, there's a par! Wow, that text is hard to read if you're focussing on the big shiny balls in the middle.
-Aaah, I lost what the big balls do.
-Wow, the music is pretty.

All in all, colour me impressed!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:59pm

I've failed to see the theme but honestly: polish it and release it. Great puzzle game!

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:00pm

A really simple concept but you put a great deal of work into the way it looks and that paid off.

Juin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Really awesome game, great graphics, good levels, nicely explained, good mechanics. Hard to point out something bad out it.

razavidn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Really strong game, love the clever easy-to-understand mechanics which build to get harder and harder. Soothing soundscape. Don't know that it fits the theme, necessarily, but would love this on mobile!

GanonsSpirit says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:14pm

It would be nice if the moves didn't jump to 0 as soon as you beat a level, so you could see how close you were to par. Also, the number of moves doesn't reset when you restart the level.

Rothens says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:47pm

I didn't find the connection to the theme, but I really loved the mood and graphics in this one. :) Maybe texts should be lighter for easier noticing. :D

sprawl says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:01pm

@Razavidn @Rothens , The theme is linked to the "story". But you have to reach pretty far into the game to get it. Guess it's my bad on that part :P

Thanks to everyone for the comments.

g_o says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:20pm

I'm not sure how this relates to the theme but great game nonetheless!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Nice graphics, really relaxing game. I included it in part 7 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) youtu.be/Ly6pR3C_dVc

grywhttl says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:33am

Interesting game! Nice production values too.

mahalis says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:34am

This is great! Really elegant puzzle game, and I liked the dark hints at whatever it was you were Actually Doing… wish I could’ve gotten past cluster 9, I’m curious what else there was to see.

superfluous says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:36am

This was really good. I thought I'd seen every puzzle game there was, but this was new to me yet still very simple to grasp. Not sure how it tied into the theme, but I found myself sucked into it for longer than most jam games. Good job!

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:04am

Visually impressive, atmospheric and rather dense. Some of the puzzles after the "easy ones" are are rather easy, but level 6 was absolutely bonkers compared to the ones that followed. I think the restart button in the last level was broken for me? Regardless, loved the aesthetic and the puzzle mechanic. Fantastic work!

sprawl says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:35am

@Mach60KAS Yes, the retry button is indeed not working on the last one. I wanted to do a weird alternate ending there linked to the story but ran out of time. Forgot to put back the button in :P

As for the difficulty, its really hard to adjust since it really differs from person to person. Thanks a lot for playing !

dydx says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:56am

Really nice visual style and FX. The puzzles were really difficult for me, but it was satisfying when I finally beat the game.

P.S. the hud text has very low opacity on the web build... not sure if it's better on the windows build. I wasn't really able to read those notes at the bottom.

sprawl says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:56pm

@dydx I noticed this as well for the hud text. I will fix it for an upcoming mobile release.

phi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Huh, that was interesting, and fun! I really enjoyed it, and I felt like I understood the mechanism better every level. However, as far as I conceived it, this has nothing to do with the theme... Maybe you didn't like it, but not integrating it at all might convey the impression that you had already planned this game ahead of the jam, which is not really the point... Anyway, the graphics are nice and fluent, everything worked fine, and it's a great little puzzle game! :)

sprawl says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:17pm

@phi The theme is there, in the story. I understand that it's not in your face and you have to reach a certain point in the game to get it but I personally believe it fits the theme. However, I knew I wanted to do a puzzle game so I designed it first then integrated the theme afterwards.

Thanks for trying the game out !

HeyZeus says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Cool idea, loved it.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Very cool graphics effects, and really smart idea. Not really sure why, but the puzzles never actually "clicked" for me after you added the big joining spheres. I did complete the game, but it was like brute force? ...and I'm usually good at these things. Loved the idea, but there were just too many variables for the later levels to be solvable by someone who just started playing a few minutes ago.

Story was interesting! Looked like it was going somewhere even more interesting in the end when I didn't complete the final puzzle for a while and it started nagging me, but nothing seemed to happen.

reheated says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:11am

Marvellous puzzles. I see other people complaining regarding the theme but I disagree - this is a great interpretation.

vikpek says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Impressive! Strong game!

tehPHEN says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:19am

Interesting puzzle mechanic! I was surprised you were able to keep it interesting and simple at the same time! Well done!

Dianouille says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Interesting puzzle game. Maybe a little bit too hard, I was stuck at level 6, but it just might be me.
Great work !

crucknuk says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 6:51pm

I loved the puzzle game, felt so relaxing and even if some part aren't from you as the textures, well the effects are just cool and it was real relaxing playing your game. I don't feel monstruous enough cause this gigantic puzzle was juste ....nice !:D
good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]