Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Oranges In Love With My Fly

by ViliX64 - Compo Entry

Lead your army of oranges, bananas and potatoes in a heroic quest to save your fly.

Warning: the gameplay takes about 20-40 minutes and rating based only on the first 30 seconds of the gameplay makes me sad.

If you get stuck, I made a complete walkthrough video. If you're interested in the story, there's also a video made out of the story cutscenes. Links are below this description. The controls should be pretty straightforward: pick a unit, then a row and get at least 4 units to the enemy side. Warning: there are long story parts in between the actual game.

Walkthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qhnww8fV_ng
Story: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YmcsiA82J5g

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#147Mood3.56
#354Graphics3.30
#374Innovation3.15
#375Overall3.23
#455Audio2.74
#602Humor2.39
#789Theme2.75
#819Fun2.44

Comments

BortStudios says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:46am

The graphics are nice, and the mood is actually good. But the gameplay itself is boring. I wish it was just the story!

ViliX64 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:48am

You may be interested in this video then: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YmcsiA82J5g :)

Korso says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:48am

I'll leave the complete walkthrough for tomorrow. Graphics in cutscenes are awesome :D

JayWoody says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:51am

Nice grey feel to these graphics.

I didn't quite get why I was throwing little orange and banana men in three different lanes, but it was still fun, so who cares! :)

Nice little game!

kirilllosev says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:51am

not my type of games, but being objective, that's pretty nice. it has different levels and style. and yes, i watched the walkthrough video

Arg410 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:51am

Never thought i would see a Stickman with a orange for a head :D

Ethan Allwood says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:52am

try to explain it better and gameplay is also boring

otato says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:52am

Loved the graphic style, liked the story, but the gameplay felt incredibly slow. I don't know if it was the scale of the units or what, but compared to every other line battler I've played that was almost glacial in pace.

ferdbold says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:52am

Clicked on the first "level" (if I understand correctly the screen with the puzzle pieces) and got stuck on a black screen :/

boardtobits says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:57am

Love that Dali is making games for Ludum Dare. Very surrealistic but well put together.

weazen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:01am

I didn't realize right away that I had to mouse over to the sides of the screen to observe the entire battlefield. Story driven games aren't particularly my cup of tea, but I really enjoyed the mood and graphical style of this game.

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:29am

Okay, I played through the entire game, and I am still confused. I think I get that the player and his opponent are the same person; and I'm guessing the entire game is just "your" imagination playing out a few random items on your desk, but I'm still just very confused about the whole premise. Maybe I missed something.

In any case, the presentation was good, but the gameplay was a bit lacking. I can't quite put my finger on it, but the levels just seemed like a slow grind. I didn't see much of an advantage using any unit except sometimes the clock, and it seemed most effective to just rush either the top or bottom lane with oranges and hope that the spawns are on the opposite side.

I think the game play would be better if the different units actually felt like they had more drastic advantages/disadvantages than what was shown, and maybe if the gameplay was fast or if you could see the whole level at once, it would feel less tedious.

ViliX64 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:34am

@dalbinblue The story should be about the fight between your inner irrational part. I should have made that clearer. That's the problem with surrealism, you never entirely knwo what it means.
Thanks for your constructive critics though :)

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:42am

@ViliX64 no problem. I think the story might have been a little more clear if near the end and in the end scene with the mirror, that the "opposition" was a little more overt about either helping, or getting the the "imaginary" head to realize that there is something deeply wrong. I think a more dramatic mirror scene might have also helped (not sure if that means anything to you, but I have something in my head that's hard to describe).

mrjorts says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:49am

I think your game length estimate is a little optimistic. I played for an hour and got to the second to last level. The gameplay feels sluggish, and the maps drag on indefinitely with neither side able to press any advantage. The overall speed of the units, and the rate you gain units could be increased, and more information should be surfaced (like health bars) so that the player can see what's happening and intuit what to do differently.

The art and setting is very good. The dialog feels a bit heavy handed, but overall I found that side of the game interesting and cool.

qkerguelen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:46am

The mood is really cool, but I feel like there is something missing to make it a really cool game to play. But great entry ! ;)

K.Chplr says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:47am

This is more than my sleep deprived brain can handle (ended up watching the video), but I enjoyed the surrealist visuals.

Acerio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:52am

It was kinda boring but it was very polished, especially with graphics.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:12am

I tried the final level a few times before giving up and watching the last part on the YouTube video. Solid game, but I don't think the gameplay matches well with the story. The story is deliberate and well-paced, while the gameplay (in my experience) devolved into spamming a set rotation of enemies and hoping it would eventually pay off.

One writing critique: The phrase "Isn't it absurd to die for what you've until recently lived for?" is difficult to parse; I'd break it up into two sentences. "You've lived for this until recently. Isn't it absurd to die for it?"

Generally, the art is excellent and the mood is on the right side of surreal without being too much. I dig it!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:12am

I like it.. simply that.

scottredrup says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:32am

The mood is amazing, and although some find it boring, I actually really liked the gameplay, it's my kind of game. I would have preferred there to have been more enemy types though. I didn't really get the story and would of preferred to have skipped it by the third cut scene as the walking takes too long. Good fun though, nice!

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:36am

Surreal but not much of a story to keep me (personally) engaged for more than a minute.

drakekin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:15am

Gameplay is so slow as to be incomprehensible. Didn't make it past the first "battle" and not for want of trying. Five minutes of throwing apples and oranges at lanes before I realised you could scroll. Some instructions would be nice.

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:33am

I adore surreal stuff like this, but I tend to agree that the gameplay feels ridiculously slow. You captured a mood perfectly though with the polished pixel art and music. I enjoyed it!

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Pretty cool game. I was one a quest to save my fly ;D. This is TRULY hard to believe it was made in 48 hours.

John Drury says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Hillarious, loved the the idea ahah. graphics were very good!

Joseaper says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Improve the gameplay, however the graphics and tone are set brilliantly with the story.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Not really fun, but very thematic and moody.

BuddaKaeks says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Does anyone know Java's or C++'s answer to Math.sqrt(-1); ?
I don't thinkt they can handle complex numbers :D

conormn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:29pm

The cutscenes had a great vibe and I enjoyed the battles quite a bit. Well done :)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:41pm

This is one of those really good games that leave you thinking. Well achieved.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:57pm

People are so impatient nowadays so I wonder if anyone bothers to play this game through. Let's hope they will.

Blobo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Really good job on the story. i like the idea of fruit fighting back.

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Great idea :)

vividhelix says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Whoa, this was really trippy. Dug the art and overall b&w/pixel art dali feel, well done. When the bananas started shooting it just made my day.

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:53am

Graphics are nice, music is fitting - overall nice mood. The gameplay itself is a drag though. Wish there was an autowalk button for the cutscenes :D

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:38am

This game was very interesting and the cut scenes were very weird. Good game. :)

Dejvo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:21am

Interesting game. Surprisingly long for a Ludum Dare game. but good job nevertheless.

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:41am

The mood of the game is quite good but i got lost somehow about the gameplay

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:12am

Damn.. the splash arts in the story moments are DAMN GOOD!
A strange gameplay idea and a strange mood..
You.. you did a good job, well done! :D

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:14am

Gameplay is simple, but amazing mood saves it! I really enjoyed this one!

ruerob says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:03am

Nice game with a nice story and wonderful graphic style! I love the slightly depressing music! Great atmosphere!

terop2 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Nice feeling in the game. I didn't figure out what you can do in the game, but the still feeling in the music and graphics makes up for lack of action.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:29pm

I think people are just impatient, most games in the jam are very fast paced.

Yes it's a bit slow but I have played games in similar genre(warfare 1944) and they were only slightly faster. The game play actually involved strategy to win and when you introduced the new units the level was modeled after them. like when you introduced fast units there was almost no cover on the level, when you introduced clocks there were many enemies in cover. I hated those enemy pots man.....too strong! Game play was among the best so far out of the games I played. Graphics pretty unique. Audio was bad but glad there is a mute button. Over all excellent game.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Nice graphics which sets the mood of the game pretty neatly. But the game is too slow, walking needs spamming on mouse clicks. Also, it wouldn't load when I choose my first destination. So, I could not continue playing afterwards.

jrhee says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Interesting game - took a bit of poking around to figure out what I was supposed to do. Liked the surreal atmosphere but it felt slow (esp with 2000+ other games to try)

jofra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:29pm

An unexpectedly fun game! realy cool one.
some sounds would make it really great.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:51pm

I really like the visuals but the story is way too vague to understand what was going.
Combat felt unnecessarily drawn out, it needed to be much faster.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:11pm

nice mood on this one, grat story!

jk5000 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Surreal and funny.

Insality says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:18pm

a rly huge work was done
good job!

Mantlair says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Mood is really good. Piano sounds b/w and stuff. Gameplay was ok. I just wish thing were a bit faster. Ganerally i rushed levels on one lane but even though it was fairly balnced for a 48 hour game. Well done! (Also i didnt get story very well. But from your comment i get a little bit of idea yeah. I will have thoughts like this from now on. My wallet is trying to kill kinda stuff B))

crucknuk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:05am

I liked the strategy part of the game, the story is a little bit strange but interesting. Maybe rhe overall is too confusing but I enjoyed it.

justinooncx says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:45am

A very nice tactical game that's actually challenging! Sadly I don't have enough time to play through the whole thing, only reached the potatoes.

Shaw says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:32am

Graphics and mood are excellent, really enjoyed the game play too, suffered only from being /if anything/ a little too slow, excellent job.

Vaida says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:24am

The music, the art (especially the very first scene) were good. The gameplay felt slow; what really shone to me was the story. I'm not sure I completely understand it but I know I like it a lot. Great interpretation of the theme! :)

Chris Olsen says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Real sombre affair. Quite enjoyed it though!

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:13pm

I love the mood you set here. I didn't play through the whole story, but long enough to get an idea of the game. A very interesting take on the theme and I think you did a nice job.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Interesting game.

Jesse Freeman says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Interesting graphic style. Like others I was a little confused as to what was going on in the game. The art style makes me want to play it more.

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:10am

Really good game! I liked the atmosphere and the mechanic, although the last one felt too slow.

BNeutral says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:09am

Very unique game, just wish the combat was faster.

glerikud says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:41am

I think this is a really good game. Both gameplay and storywise. It's a strategy game. It's not too slow, not too fast, ok the units come a little slowly but it's acceptable, especially when you compare it to the music and the whole setting because everything is melancholic. And that's cool. The art is beautiful and interesting. I won't pretend I understood the story, but it does make me think, and that's the point. Definitely a great entry

xvw says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:30pm

I was so sad to let poor potetoes die for me while I used the poor clockwatches and apples finghting until die too... :'(

I noticed a bit late that the shoots made the random piano note, very nice touch.

I quickly realized for the "irrational", but I have not guessed the struggle with himself before the end of the game. I was focused on the idea that the battlefield was a real battlefield, and that the hero considered these units as mere objects of no value. (it was a beautiful metaphor)

Game mechanics requires thinking, congratulations for that!

This game is one of my favorites, good work!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:29am

very interesting.

Integershift says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:19pm

The Mouse controls get annoying fast cool gameplay but could have used some keyboard controls.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:24pm

It's a bit too slow to keep me playing, the art takes me back to early PC days though, nice!

PurpleApes says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Nice Mood!!!!

guoboism says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Weird game and creative! The art and suggestion is great! But the mini-game is not as good as the story...

Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:26am

Can't believe how much content you managed to put in in 48 hours. The story was incredible if massively surreal, gameplay was a bit slow paced for me.

ToloaGames says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:27am

Played it trough the end. I can't explain why, but this game really sucked me in. Great Job man! 5/5

dregamr says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:52am

Interesting game, but maybe some music will be great.
Good graphic work as well. :)

Linus123xbb says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Very nice music which makes for a very relaxing game. High rated game in innovation, audio and mood. One of the best games I've played in this LD :)

Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Really awesome in the mood stakes. Love the surrealism. And the audio is very effective. The gameplay is pretty crazy, and I didn't get how it ties in with the story. Could also do with some explanation of why you're getting these fruit and things to the end, and why you need 4 of them. And also some feedback for when you actually succeed in getting one to the end.

superfreak says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Interesting entry! Really enjoyed the artwork

Lianne Booton says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:18am

extremely interesting concept and game. Graphics are lovely and unsettling somehow (in a good way). great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]