Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Urd Monster

by abcdef65g - Jam Entry

Control the lovable Urd in an adventure to save her friends! Sneak past the humans and punch through obstacles to help her accomplish her goal!

Press Z to transform, and X to use your secondary ability. Use the directional buttons to move.

Made by a two-man team for the Ludum Dare 33 jam.

Update (31/08): Added a post-jam version, with hopefully less bugs!

Trivia: If you spell out Urd's name in the title, you get "U r d Monster", which is the theme for LD33. Yay puns!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#511Theme(Jam)3.47
#559Graphics(Jam)3.33
#565Humor(Jam)2.71
#599Mood(Jam)3.00
#681Fun(Jam)2.86
#709Overall(Jam)3.02
#715Innovation(Jam)2.76

Comments

Monkokio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:55am

404 error on the download link :[

Zoglu says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:09am

I'm getting a 404 error, too bad.

applejam says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:47pm

No download link.

Novaki says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:14pm

404

RadMcCool says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Link still broken

abcdef65g says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:18pm

Woah. Have been busy so I haven't gained any coolness yet, but I was expecting a few comments about the bugs... Wasn't expecting a 404, though. I'll go see what's wrong.

abcdef65g says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Ugh. Fixed the Dropbox link, added a backup link for good measure, and also linked to a WebGL build on Itch.io. I hope people will be able to play it now. orz

SamH says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:09pm

I could successfully test it! Yay. Collisions could be improved, but the graphics are cute (you could mirror the monster sprites to get a nicer left/right punch cycle, btw). Also I think I got stuck, or I didn’t understand what needs to be done on the top right of the level…

ChaosCult says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:25am

I'm not a fan of stealth games, but this one seems nice-looking and well-made, expect for collisions. It would be better if the goal of current area was somehow specified.

Web version worked for me.

ALobker says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:36am

The darkness and the collisions are what make this game a bit harder.

Pantoufle says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:41am

The gameplay is interesting but maybe a little limited. With more different enemies or items it would be great.
I had some collision bugs but despite that the game is enjoyable.
I really liked the graphics and music!
Great work!

Drunkteam says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:52am

Very nice game, I enjoyed a lot :). I like the music too.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:27am

Nice concept, i actually enjoyed the idea. I would have like to see a bit more.
The music was nice and the animation well worked. You got an nice idea there, would have been great to see more! :)
good job.

Kassimkot says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:56am

awesome game. very hard though. got stuck on the level where every guard was like one hit kill

Caspila says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:12am

Interesting concept but lots to improve there. What's the point in changing characters? If there's one it wasn't very clear.
The game was way too dark (apart from the guards flashlights, which was way too bright). The light model that you used for the flashlight didn't really match the art style. The movement of the NPCs felt a bit wrong, I can't really tell why.
Good job nonetheless. Stealth games are really hard to pull off. Keep polishing it!

Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:56am

I got stuck trying to get through the hole I punched in the wall... Looks nice though.

mitkus says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:32am

It's easy to get stuck walking near walls. Also, lighting effects are buggy and often too bright. Graphics vere really nice though and reminded me of Chrono Trigger!

terop2 says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:38pm

cursor keys moved the browser window... also there were some walls that prevented progress, and i couldnt figure how to open the doors... nice gfx on the guards, the light looked amazing...

Big Cow says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:37pm

It's actually pretty amazing that you managed to get decent stealth mechanics / enemy AI into this in such a short time with 2 people. It's a shame about the bug that got me stuck going through a wall, but fortunately by that point I'd been able to appreciate the stealth gameplay and amazing pixel art. I'd consider not having everything so dark though (I know it's a stealth game, but I'd like to see more of the art!) :) Good job!

rodobodolfo says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Wow this was nice, great visuals and gameplay. Its really impressive that it was made for the jam. Good job!

DrZanuff says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Interesting concept and art design.
Sometimes the monster form just bugs and doesn't move unless you go back to the girl-form.
You could reduce the car's collision box a little or put them closer when they are next to each other (i got a game over trying to escape the cops trough 2 cars as the girl. Tragic T.T).
Adding a bit more frames on the arms of the girl's side walk animation could make it look more fluid.
By the way, awesome music and nice use of Yo.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:32am

There's a strange collision bug that prevents me from moving unless I transform back and forth (which mostly works) and the ambient lighting could a bit brighter but I like the transformation mechanic and how each form has it's own unique ability.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:40am

The graphics are pretty good, but the gameplay isn't that smooth, also the shaders were a little weird. The mechanic of switching from human to monster is cool.
Nice entry, congrats!

El Cabaro says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:14am

Some serious collision detection bugs, and the text scroll at the beginning shot by unreadibly fast (I'm not sure if it's a joke or not)

I really did like the music and the general concept though.

Nurbs says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:48am

Whoosh! that text scrolled by fast.

The monster kind of looks like a mashup of Toejam & Earl.
My biggest complaint would be that it's often not overly clear where you're expected to go or what you ought to do. Apart from that and the things others mentioned, it's alright.

dcolgan says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:51am

Good looking game. I think it could be good, but I could not get very far because I kept getting stuck. The sprite could not move anywhere. The graphics are great, but I wish it could have been a bit lighter although I think I see what you were going for with the flashlights. That was cool. I like the sprites.

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:08am

Great idea, and great graphics. Pretty fun, I really like switching between the two monsters.

Keon says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:50am

Overall nice game. I got stuck on collision edges a few times and had to restart. I tried to do a nonlethal playthrough and almost did it except for the final level with the shoot-on-sight guards.

CtrlAltTea says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 5:01pm

An interesting idea with very ambitious mechanics, I quite enjoyed it. The animations and art style are really great!

killersnoofie says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 12:00am

I like your game , nice graphics , and a very good over all feel

randoman says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 12:48am

I really like the mechanics of the game! Also liked how the guards react to your 'different forms'. The game is a little too dark, though. Nothing that could ruin the experience but I wanted to see more of the level elements. Good job overall.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 3:55am

Nice. A few things:
- Be mindful of using arrow keys on a web build. Up and Down arrows might end up scrolling the page.
- The game's framerate differs from the web to the Windows version, as evident by the scrolling text speed.
- I got stuck in place a few times. Not sure if that's common.
- Groovy music!

Modoc73 says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 11:18am

Nice. I like how you can choose between being the monster, and how you need to be a monster to access different areas. Nice graphics too. Well Done!

t4u says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 2:22pm

I liked the light effects but have a lot of bad things to say abot game flow.

- Text was scrolling to quikly for me to read. In future try to use scroll text as I press down arrow
- Cages were often out of screen, searching for it was painful
- When I died(last level) I was respawned at the end of elvel before. Why?
- Game wasn't really challenging
- As for the art it's obvious there is a talent here but I feel like the items have been made originally smaller and then rescalled x2. This give not the best results

Overall: Game has some nice ideas, changing human2monster, monster2human, knocking to get guards attention, knocking down walls. The levels are too simple however for player to play with all introduced mechanics.

Stexe says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 2:15am

Neat idea and very similar to our game. Obviously it has some issues, but not bad overall. I'd suggest spending some time polishing it before the jam is over. Even an hour or two of just playing to find small things like collision problems helps a ton. Good job and good luck next time!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]