Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

A Series Of Totally Legit Events

by Slashee the Cow - Compo Entry

A Series Of Totally Legit Events

Find out how You Are The Monster with our innovate VirtualProseReality™ interactive experience! A 15,000 word epic, written in Twine and barely tested due to author fatigue (so real he had to go to bed!).

Includes 8 possible endings! Can you catch them all? I bet you can't!


Okay, serious for a second. I think I'm capable of it, let me try. For every LD I've competed in so far, I've made an endless game in Unity. I thought I'd do something different this time. I writing something in Twine might be easier. I was rather wrong. I got up to 15,000 words and it's nowhere near as finished as I hoped it might be. If the pacing seems sorta lopsided, I simply ran out of time to work on the finish. And the middle. But at least I made the start great!

Also, that means I haven't had time to test for bugs and such. It's Twine exporting to HTML, so there shouldn't be anything that kills your computer (or even the game). But while most of the logic works in theory, I haven't had time to test anywhere near all of the game paths. And the restart bit at the end just uses Javascript to refresh the page. I'm hoping it resets the variables in the process.

Source: Just download the HTML file and open it in Twine 2. Couldn't be simpler. Or if it could, I'd like to see how.

Downloads and Links




Pusty says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:13am

No seriously dude, this is the most epic text adventure I ever played (no kidding, i haven't played many)
Good Job there, got me for around 30 min :D

filiph says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:17am

I think this needs a bit faster start. It only gets going in the warehouse (where you also have more interesting options to choose from). My advice: get rid of everything before the warehouse (I know it hurts).

I also think (although I understand it's kind of the point of the story) that the stakes are too low. I had trouble caring for what would happen.

Otherwise, great prose and polished experience (at least as far as I got it is). The animated "SLAP", "SMASH" etc. was a nice touch.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:17am

That's a pretty impressive word count. The game feels a bit too random, though, and the establishment of the player as the monster isn't really well defined. Like, you don't actually do anything monstrous. It was interesting enough that I played it twice, though.

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:16am

I spent way too much time on this game, I have a lot of other games to review! :-)

TheZoq2 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:42am

That was really well written with a nice blend of seriousness and humor. Though it didn't really follow the theme that well in my opinion

Vereos says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:03am

I kinda enjoyed this one, but as someone else said, the theme catch is not really clear, and it feels like what you are doing doesn't really count.

Animated words were pretty neat since they fit the spirit of the novel :)

Tijn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:10am

Haha, this game is nuts. I've played it through three times now and every time more crazy things happened to me.

It does feel a bit random, I think it would have been nice if it was a bit more focused.

The amount of content you managed you get in this game is quite impressive though. I think I'll play a few more times to see what other amazing things can happen to me :P

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:34am

Pretty epic, goes to show text can be fun, and can play it at work and people will just see text and think it's work related ;)

Fenreliania says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:58am

An interesting, rather well-written read, with some amusing humour and interesting choices, but it felt a bit pointless after I got the movie ending. It seemed like it was just a short story about a poor student who slept too much and embarassed himself at a theater.

cgriff says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:58am

Could do with some editing - but it was pretty engaging stuff, good job.

hexabeast says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:06pm

really cool

McFood says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Oh wonderful.
Everything was really entertaining to read.
There was a lot more content than I was expecting.
The theme was worked in nicely, even if perhaps the player didn't feel it.
I had a blast.

I'll be working on those other endings.

Komradus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Wow, that was really impressive. Honestly I wasn't too interested in the first couple of pages, but at some point I was reading as quickly as I could because I NEEDED to know what happens next.

Mister_Melon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:18pm

I LOVED this, best game I've played so far entered in the compo, I found that the way everything intertwines with the story is great, I found it a very enjoyable read and trying to find all the endings a thrill, I did find however that not all the endings suited the theme well but some did suit it excellently, I found it really funny at parts and the overall mood (even in text form) really nice. Excellent job overall, well done.

sepharoth213 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:22pm

This is a nice use of the theme! I think a lot of people struggled with how limited the use cases for the theme were, but here you ended up just using almost ALL of the obvious uses. Clever writing with few (if any) errors, interesting choices, and decent pacing for 48 hours! I'm sure twine games take a lot of work behind the scenes, and in this case it paid off. Congrats on the entry!

ReactorScram says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:41pm

I got the boring-ass ending by doing nothing. Maybe I'll try it again later.

HACKhalo2 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:52am

Holy cow, this is awesome. I love text adventures!

dosmaen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:34am

Fun little text adventure!

plusultra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:06am

I got a "curiosity is not defined" error at one point.

Good job though!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:26am

@plusultra: D'oh! Looks like I missed a $ before a variable (and I think that made it impossible to get to one of the endings). Blame the fact that my fingers don't type (or do several other things) as well as I'd like them to at 1 AM. It's fixed now. Thanks for pointing that out.

Everyone else: thanks! I haven't done this before so I was afraid people wouldn't like it. But it's nice to know people are having fun with it.

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:39am

I didn't really catch the theme, but it was a pretty cool game that I spent a lot of time on.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:10am

Holy crap, this thing is crazy huge. Nice work!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:02am

This took a while, got to the end, but too many other games to play for now. I went through a window...will try more later. Well done, the writing was really good!

glerikud says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Not a bad text based game with some humor. Love'd to see some art though.

wesley werner says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Pretty good text adventure for a series of random events :-)

DragonGino says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:06pm

you love writing story. keep them going

Ithildin says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Nice text adventure :)

I've played a couple of times. The first one felt a bit hard to follow because of the options I'd taken, at some point it gave me the impression that some kind of leap had happen. The second was way smoother, and I enjoyed it.

Good job!

boardtobits says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Interesting story! Very impressive amount of content for 48 hours.

Boberro says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Nice twist on a theme. I'm not into twine games, as I don't consider them games at all, and it also applies to yours, but writing was so good I restarted to try another route.
PS. Thanks for telling me about windows link to of my game, I've got it fixed.

Zeriver says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Engaging text adventure, the story is interesting and i like in how many directions it can go. I really enjoyed this game.

JoJoX says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:53am

I should have choose the warehouse. I knew it !

Xeke_Death says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:14am

I took two different paths, and I turned into two different monsters...
Nice writing..!

Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Some nice ambient noise could have really set the mood - great story though :D

Daukan says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Nice work with this storyline. It had me engaged for a few playthroughs.

Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Interesting...quite long for a LD-game, i'd guess.

I guess, I found a little error:

"It's a good thing you got all that typing practice in... last time you got annoyed by comments. Your keys fly from key to key so fast you're almost surprised the keyboard doesn't start smoking. It takes a little while, but finally you're sure you've convincingly shut down anyone who would dare bring their (obviously incorrect) opinions to this video."

Shouldn't it be "your fingers fly from key to key"?

Anyways good story :)

Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:28pm

@kruemelkeksfan: Yes, it should. But that part was probably written at about midnight and by 3AM when I uploaded it, I was barely awake enough to run a spell check, let alone proofread it properly. Thanks for pointing that out. (I'm not going to fix it, at least not in the compo version, since it's probably the equivalent of a non-game breaking bug.)

@glerikud & patvanmackelberg: I definitely would have liked to add some art or sound, but I'd never used Twine before, so I didn't really know how (and I spent all my time working on the story, as it turned out). If I end up doing another Twine game it's definitely something I'll see if I can do, even if it's just a few minutes' worth.

@Everyone else: Thanks for playing! Glad you had fun :)

CtrlAltTea says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:36pm

Well written and really smart, I loved it!

superfreak says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Really well written - I tip my hat to you! Great take on the theme with an artful blend of humour and mood :)

Divitos says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Over all an amazing entry. I'm not a terribly huge fan of text adventure games usually, but the story in this one truly did grasp me and keep me immersed.

You must sign in to comment.

Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

[cache: storing page]