Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

BIG BAD WOLF

by allinlabs - Jam Entry

Update 08/31:
I updated a new version with tutorial levels, better score system, fixes and more. I will add more level in a few days. Check it out in the links below!


Gameplay:

You are the monster, the big bad wolf from the fable.
Blow the little pigs'houses and take their treasures,
but don't kill them!

Try to get the best score: the less bombs you use to complete a level, the better the treasure is! (there is 3 indicators at the bottom of the screen: "Gold", "Silver" and "Bronze")


Controls:

- Keep the right mouse button pressed to rotate around the scene
- Left mouse click to blow stuff up (the way you look at the wall will give the direction of the explosion)
- The longer you press the mouse, the larger the explosion (the game sometimes require to be gentle, and some other time give it all)

- Mouse scroll to zoom in and out
- Press the scroll wheel to move on the X and Z axis
- <N> Next level
- <P> Previous level
- <R> Reload the level


Credits:

Forest & Town Models by Kenney (http://kenney.nl)
Chest model by yughues (http://opengameart.org/users/yughues)
Pig model by flamegrilled (http://opengameart.org/users/flamegrilled)
Explosion sound by nenadsimic (http://opengameart.org/users/nenadsimic)
Title font by http://www.tattoowoo.com


Press coverage:

- @Jack_Septic_Eye https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hhmhnj_VurU
- [French] Marginal Gamers by @At0mium_ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gQQkyYnrFvc (starts around 1:17:00)
- Alpha Beta Gamer http://www.alphabetagamer.com/big-bad-wolf-game-jam-build-download/
- Warp Door http://wip.warpdoor.com/2015/08/29/big-bad-wolf-julien-samama/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#24Fun(Jam)4.06
#100Overall(Jam)3.84
#190Innovation(Jam)3.47
#430Humor(Jam)2.96
#452Mood(Jam)3.22
#768Theme(Jam)3.12

Comments

boardtobits says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:13am

Great graphical style and physics.

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:38am

Fantastic graphics, physics are nice and work well, reminiscent of besiege. Excellent work.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:46am

Excellent entry! Everything looks splendid, and there are plenty of stages to try out!

NightShadow0 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Clever concept! Really hard, for me at least, couldn't get past the second level. Love the art style, too!

Yakka says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Gorgeous game! Gameplay is kind of tricky, I cannot get rid of the 2nd level, but I'm probably very bad :D

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:25pm

I'm surprised this game isn't getting enough attention. This has to be one of the best physics games I played in a while! Very fun; I love toppling over the towers.

psypol says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:56pm

saw your game at MarginalGamers it's very very nice. Salutations FR!

Reccy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:07pm

The best graphics that I've seen yet this LD! The gameplay was fun and I like how there's extra goals to complete in each level. Excellent :D

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:42am

It's very fun! And looking pretty well too =) Good work, man!

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:42am

So great, I totally lost an hour playing this... very nice style and fun! I only realized I could zoom out near the end... fantastic!

palsina says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:34am

I love this kind of games. I finished all levels and now I want more! Great game :)

MoreRPG Team says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:07am

Awesome game =)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Beautiful game. Quite an interesting physics-based puzzle game, although a bit too hard for my taste. But all the graphics are incredible, love the castles and the way it looks when you zoom out the map. I also really liked the sound when you blew things up, very satisfying!
Interesting take on the Wolf tale too.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Just amazing. Simple idea and great execition! Can't stop playing.

Vladik Plays says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Tis game was a very good something like strategy game! Cool!

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Love the graphics. Still haven't beaten the moving castle.

zuurr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:00pm

fun gameplay and cool idea. nice physics too.

Riftpoint says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Great art ! I really liked it

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:31pm

cool physics. Nice presentation style.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:14pm

This game was pretty fun! Well done on the graphics.

mungoman1 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Very pretty, super fun. A lot of creative levels and it's very polished.

Dell says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Really nice, love the art!

bloomingbuds says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:48pm

I like the low-poly style together with thud-sound-explosions. Simple mechanic, but fun. Nice work!

ajopart says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Really fun and polish entry. Congrats !

fubenalvo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Finally a really good game. Ty :)

Sicilica says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:59pm

A fun little puzzle game. Although I found myself guess and checking more than anything ;p

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Loved the art style and feel of the game. My brother and I couldn't stop laughing at the chaos we'd created in every level; moreso when stray blocks massacred the pigs! Some music would have been nice, but the game itself is completely solid. The way you applied the theme is fab in every way.

Again, the game's graphics and presentation are top notch. Great work!

Split82 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Awesome. Excellent destructions.

veoviscool12 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:15pm

I love it! Great art style, physics, and puzzles. I can see this as a very fun mobile game if ported correctly. Excellent work. :)

pereubu says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:18pm

nice level design. It was really relaxing :>

Rongon says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:47pm

I like destruction physics puzzlers, especially in 3D with such lovely art style.
Gold, bronze, silver ranks are cool and increases replayability, but you could have them more focused when the level is finished, like going up into center of screen, stars flashing.
I miss that juiciness when I solve the puzzle.

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Amazing ! I kept loosing in the walking castle so i can play with the physics again and again. Until now, this is clearly one of my favorites games of this LD. And why not had some sort of slow motion button ? ;)

FiSilva says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:49pm

This is the game where I had the most fun so far!
The physics and the levels are really well made

SkullPixel says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:21am

You're gonna win!

jwin says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:49am

Fun to play, the graphics are simple but stylish, all around a great entry!

hoqjed says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:55am

Really nice graphics, though I realize they weren't made during the jam.

The gameplay itself was enjoyable though for some reason it didn't leave a huge impact on me. Something felt missing to me, or maybe my expectations were just off from what it actually was. The levels were structured in a way where most of the time I felt solutions were very easy to come up with. That feeling might also come from how little reinforcement there is on the rating system. It sits very quietly down at the bottom and I actually hadn't noticed it for a bit. In my head that sounds great, I generally dislike blatant "bing! bing! bing! you're a winner!" star systems in games. But I felt like something needed to be there to either encourage or enforce less sloppy methods to progressing through the game.

Certain levels I didn't care for, like the domino one and there's another called pitchfork that's similar in approach. They don't really allow for much creativity on the player's part because they very heavily imply the obvious solution.

The ones I enjoyed most balanced the "you can do this" hints with the structure and consequences for blowing up something that might have been vital for structural stability. The building in the screenshots with the very long beam is I think a good example. It has this obvious points that you're tempted to blow away, but doing so might cause you to fail later after you take out other chunks. There are many times (even in that example) where certain treasure can be collected by blowing away a wall that won't cause any overall structural consequences later.

It's kind of a strange thing because I know how much work this kind of thing takes, and that it's impressive how it was actually pulled off. Something about it just felt somewhat lackluster though. But maybe you're just unlucky and I played it while in the wrong mood ;) I do feel awfully nitpicky about it.

Anyway, fantastic job on the entry. It's very polished and you've done an excellent job putting it all together in such a short amount of time.

- Dylan

GertJohnny says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:56am

Really enjoyed this. Having personally used Kenney assets a lot, I love seeing them used in good games!

Mase says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:10am

Nice quantity of levels. The variable explosion power is interesting as well.

The scenario is a bit thin. I mean, we've got pigs in soon to be destroyed houses, but I'm not seeing much indication of the wolf.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:17pm

A great, simple idea that works really well! Nicely put together and fun to play around with.

Dianouille says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:30pm

I love the graphics, and the game is pretty fun. Well done

Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:19am

Very enjoyable, I finished all the levels. A nice soft background music track and I would have lost hours in there. Good job!

ZAIKE says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Got all "Golds" honestly, Awesome Game! Continue to work on it then Release it, We'll definitely buy and play it again (of course with new levels)

Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:12am

Love the rendering style!

PixelStuff says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Good idea, levels are quite well balanced. That was fun to play :) If i was to change something it would be the destruction checking process that seems to take some time. Good work !

shawn42 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Very fun. The house level was crazy hard! I was impressed by the number and depth of the levels. Nice work.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Beautiful visually and nicely done entry!

bytegrove says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Nice puzzle game! I love the muted explosions, they go well with the toned down colour palette. The puzzles are a little too simple, but I guess that the main challenge is to get gold on all. You managed to make a lot of levels! Really cool!
Nice work! :)

chromebookbob says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:47am

brilliant, I love the DOF effects and the sound it great

Denis347 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:50am

Awesome game, beautiful graphics, and fun gameplay and physics!

nomand says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:53am

nice and simple. Destroying things is always fun with physics! Finished the game. Would play more levels. Don't find self-resolving levels particularly interesting (the dominos for example), but rather structurally sound buildings which I can weaken and find vulnerabilities of etc. Good job!

adsilcott says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Very fun game. Graphic style and physics were great.

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:49am

Love the physics and the 3D style. But personally, it will be more fun to kill the pigs than destroying treasure chests.

Larzan says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Beautiful visual style. Fun to play, loved it :)
Good replay value too!

Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Nice physic, and the puzzle is very instresting. Good job.

camlang says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Nice physics puzzler and an alternative to angry birds)

Sep 8, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Cool game. I included it in part 22 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/CgBnxdy5Yfk

Arnage says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Very polished and quite fun to play too, great work!

bombjack says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:29pm

original game play.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]