Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Weregoat

by bakpakin - Jam Entry

Play as John Courage, an unsuspecting citizen of Nowhere bitten by a rabid goat (can goats get rabies?) Terrorize Nowhere and eat citizens. Don't get shot. I have a headache and that's all I'm writing for now.

IMPORTANT - READ THIS

|
|
V

**** CONTROLS ****

A and D - move left and right
P toggle Pause.
F1 - toggle fullscreen
W - Hide
S - Crouch
Hold E - Eat a dead townsperson
Hold N - Charge
M - Kick backwards

**** NOTES ****

At any time during gameplay, press P to pause and see controls and instructions.

In order to move around, Just walk across the screen. The game is split into 3 different screens, To go to the next one from the start, just walk all the way to the right.

Also, you have to eat the townspeople, not just kill them, to move on to the next night.

If you die, you restart at the first night.

You can keep playing for a while, but the story only goes for three nights. (bug?)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#108Mood(Jam)3.84
#255Overall(Jam)3.54
#259Theme(Jam)3.78
#285Humor(Jam)3.26
#351Graphics(Jam)3.74
#360Audio(Jam)3.18
#464Fun(Jam)3.14
#499Innovation(Jam)3.04
#1537Coolness42%

Comments

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:47am

Fantastic entry! LOVERS unite! <3

Quadnozzle says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:08pm

I really liked the graphics! I couldn't figure out what the buttons did, I saw the charge and kick meters but couldn't find the button that controlled them. Finally I stumbled upon the pause menu that explained it. The animation and design of the weregoat was perfect though, and I also liked the cactus and other environmental designs!

Plus, who doesn't like to eat townspeople?

S0lll0s says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Great looking and very consistent, polished game! Have to agree with Quadnozzle however, I gave up on my first attempt yesterday because I couldn't figure out the controls, a hint in the game description here could help out.

bakpakin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Thanks for the feedback, putting the controls in the description.

jofra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:05pm

same here :s the controls are hard to figure out and get used to. Although, this is a very cool game to play with some cool grapichs.

ps: loved the crouch animation aha X)

martymon says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:58am

head butting people never gets old! love it!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:24am

Amazing game! Only thing I'd like is faster movement...

rotpar says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:02am

Super fun game. Nice going!

Boberro says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:23am

Lovely graphics, and I loved the fact that there's a campaign ^^ but I wasn't able to finish it. On the third night, near the general store, there's a gunman outside of the screen.

kidando says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:41am

Pretty neat stuff. I liked the animations (esp the ramming/charge). After knocking down the 3 towns people, nothing happened tho :/

Lafolie says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Pretty good. My primary complaint is that there are no checkpoints, and the fact that there is a lot of insta-death makes it overly difficult.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]