Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

D.A.S.H

by TagliatL - Compo Entry

Help DASH to escape using his uniques abilities.
D.A.S.H is a shoot them up where you can't actually shoot.
Use your dash to bump rockets, throw your enemies and destroy the boss!

UpDash: pick up enemies and launch them by pressing A/Space
SideDash: bump enemies
DownDash: powerfull attack destroying everything in your way

Don't hesitate to put your score in the comments!


UPDATE : you can now play without a controller

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#252Fun3.35
#389Innovation3.13
#481Humor2.67
#540Overall3.04
#617Graphics2.80
#809Mood2.32
#884Theme2.36
#1314Coolness47%

Comments

NekuSoul says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Very nice and responsive movement system and enjoyable destruction effects!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Sorry I don't have an XBox controller but it looks very cool!

PokeyOne says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:36pm

just a tip, you might want to also include keyboard controls for people who don't have a controller

celisoft says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:38pm

RAR file is not the best file format to share something.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:41pm

I really like the attack animations, and I enjoy the concept. I have a controller to use, but I think you need to include keyboard support for all those without...

Aurel Bílý says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Requiring a controller really limits your ratings. :/

EmanP says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:49pm

No controller :/ I really wanted to play, the animations look so smooth...

TagliatL says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:52pm

I'm working on keyboard support, thanks for your feedbacks

azakhary says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:52pm

It says X box controller required. Is there a way to play it without?

Tuism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Nooooo why only windows build :(

TagliatL says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Keyboard control is now supported!

Aurel Bílý says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Has potential, I see that the feedback, the feel of the moves is quite good (would be even better with some sounds to go with it, I guess)
The bullets are a bit hard to dodge, the dash should make you invincible to them?
Enemies should maybe appear a bit faster, especially if your screen is cleared, so that you can keep the combo up.
And then obviously more graphics, music, etc :)
Good job.

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:44pm

great game mechanics and it works very well with a controller

sleepYxy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Nice mechanics, the downward and upward Dash are really powerful and fun! I like it a lot (maybe due to the effects :P), there is much potential in how versatile the attacks are. And they transition really smooth from one to another.

Maybe you could position the action a bit more to the middle of the screen, I had the urge to always be on the right side.
Also I encountered a bug that I got offscreen to the right if I dashed too far and could not return.

TagliatL says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Thanks!

Yes, the action should be mor in the center. The speed of the enemies is a part of the problem.
Also yes, sometimes you can get offscreen, you have to be at a precise position, too bad it happened in your run :/

Ulydev says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Interesting mechanics !

Pierrec says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:01pm

It's fun to play but...why L? Why a key so far away? It just seems a weird choice

TagliatL says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:09pm

With my fingers on a,d,s,w and my thumb on space, it was natural for me to put the dash button away from that part of the keyboard for my other hand :D

Phil Strahl says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Interesting concept and very nice graphics and feeling of "oomph!" when performing an attack. Unfortunately the introduction was way too long in my opinion (sometimes the string even too wide to fit!), so at a certain point I just skipped through it. Choice of font didn't help. interesting concept though!

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:50pm

Overall a fun mechanic. Decent amount of polish and small things that make it feel nice. Felt kind of awkward playing on the keyboard, though...I always dislike random keys on the right side of the keyboard.

Sparrow says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Fun game! Wish I could skip the beginning sequence.

01101101 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:57am

Really fun game, dashing in every direction is always a blast, especially when you can destroy stuff doing it!
I wish there was a combo counter or score multiplier when you chain aerial kills without touching the ground :)
Good job anyway!

HolyBlackCat says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:51am

Great job!

AsixJin says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:49pm

I'd like the come back and try with a controller. It felt really awkward playing with a keyboard and I'm not sure why. Also I feel like you should probably tell players how to skip the talk sequence before the actual talk sequence.

Biruts says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

bytegrove says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Nice moves and effects! It was a little awkward to play with a keyboard though. It felt like there was something missing in the gameplay, but I cannot really figure out what. Maybe a slo-mo effect when, for example, throwing enemies? Oh and some camera shake and sound effects for that extra "oomph" perhaps? :)
Neat game, clean graphical style that I think you can explore even further should you continue developing this!

metalchouchen says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 11:53am

Nice works! A bit difficult to play with the keyboard but the idea is cool! Congrats!

MercuryXGames says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Nice!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]