Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Definitely Human

by Zambini - Jam Entry

Theme: You Are The Monster

You are the monster. You've landed on Earth with one goal in mind: enslave humanity. Luckily, through millenia of superior gene manipulation, when you merely touch a lower life form, you immediately start the conversion process, turning them green and letting you proceed to the next level

Goal

Convert every NPC. But don't get caught. You aren't bulletproof. Merely walk up behind someone and touch them to convert.

Controls

WASD - Movement


***Release Notes***

On some machines, the end-level logic might appear to freeze. I used Tweenjs for the transitions, and that seems to not behave well sometimes. I tested this in Chrome on Windows7 on an ASUS netbook, and everything ran as expected except for the level-ending gui, and some users have reported that it was just as slow for them on regular machines (ie: not netbooks)

This LDJAM was all about learning JavaScript and respective libraries for game development. Granted this code is jam quality, but it serves as a good foundation for future projects in terms of what to do and not to do for production quality games.
Tweet @zambini845

Adding new maps

I ran out of time, so generating interesting and puzzling level ideas wasn't something I was able to put together in time, but it's open to extension by you (aren't game jams fun).
Adding new maps is a simple process. There are only a few steps required (see README.md)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#211Mood(Jam)3.56
#259Audio(Jam)3.39
#368Innovation(Jam)3.22
#444Theme(Jam)3.56
#563Fun(Jam)3.00
#602Graphics(Jam)3.22
#616Overall(Jam)3.11
#1981Coolness28%

Comments

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:47am

Strange concept. At start it's not really clear, but after two minutes it's really enjoyable. Nice graphics and cool mood. Thank you for this entry ++

Ptolo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Super nice music there, really sets the tone :)
Game was short and sweet. Win/lose transitions took a while to activate and I found it difficult to tell what direction the guards were facing.
Good to see another Javascript submission here! :D

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Music really sets the mood, great entry :)

Kizler says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:07am

I wanted more levels :(

Zambini says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:45pm

@Kizler Thanks :) I ran out of time during the Jam, but I made it so adding new levels is (relatively) trivially simple :) I documented it in the README if you're interested in taking a shot, but I could always post more.

Gravity Games says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Fairly solid, though it was rather confusing how the soldiers with guns were supposed to work. Was there some sort of sign of where they're looking that I just didn't see? Would have been nice to see more levels, but being a jam game, it's understandable.

Zampi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:56pm

I like concept, but as other says it's not so clear and understandable

Insality says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:57pm

music is nice, i got the mood
but too small level's count to understand and get fun from gameplay
anyway, great job! Graphics looks rly sweety ;)

Saf says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Took a couple of attempts getting used to it, but turned out to be an
entertaining experience after that. Good graphics and level design. Solid entry for the limited time!

kidando says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:27pm

I couldn't do anything after converting the first guy. Not sure if it was just me... Nice pixel art though.

Zambini says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 6:05pm

@kidando - There's something weird with the Tweening library I used. It *might* hang for 10-15 seconds. Did you experience that issue? I can't seem to identify why that happens.

TackoramaLtd says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 8:00am

Great idea, loved the music and it's enjoyable. Needs more levels and I'd remove the white grid lines.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]