Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Tale of a Mad Mage

by gingerBill - Compo Entry

Tale of a Mad Mage
by gingerBill for Ludum Dare 33

Controls
Move: [Up] & [Down]
Turn [Left] & [Right]
Cast Spells: [Space]
Choose Spell: [1] [2] [3] [4]

Background:

You have been imprisoned for you monstrous crimes against magic-kind.
You must take revenge by killing the high mage.

I wanted to create a very lo-fi game is the style many '80s games but in 3d.
I didn't finish all the levels so you will never find out why the Mad Mage is monstrous.

Tools Used:

Language: C++
Compiler: Emscripten/Clang
Engine: None
Paint Program: Paint.NET
Music Program: Bosca Ceoil
Text Editor: Sublime Text


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#151Overall3.63
#167Fun3.50
#167Graphics3.78
#259Mood3.30
#405Audio2.86
#565Innovation2.84
#570Humor2.46
#828Theme2.61

Comments

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:59am

I love it! You definitely succeeded in creating a nice lo-fi 3D 80s game! Runs fantastically in my browser as well.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Wonderful game. Takes me back to Doom!

Malor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Well done, but something missed in my opinion.

amy742 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:15pm

I love these styles of games and I love this!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:25pm

That nostalgia! Makes me want to play Doom again.
Wish I could see a health bar for the final wizard. I couldn't tell which spell is damaging him or how far I got before I died.
Really impressed how did you make a 3d game from pure c++?

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:28pm

just C++ nice and a nice game btw

iossif says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:29pm

i enjoyed that! very nice retro feeling.

Deadpan-Gamez says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Awesome graphics, sound and game-play can't believe you made this within the time we had great job! :)

cyrixd says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Really loved the aesthetic, combined with the old school controls and game play created a very nice experience. I took a lot of damage through the walls though, and wasn't sure if that was intended or if I could do the same.

amras0000 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:32pm

As a headphone user, my ears are in pain. The sound is mono and only plays in the right ear, and it's very loud and high-pitched. Everything else about the game is amazing, but the audio really made the experience unpleasant.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Good job, reminded me of Ultima Underworld. I really liked the feel of the game.

That said, it seemed extremely hard. I got to the what I assume is the boss but couldn't really work out how to kill him.

I couldn't really tell what the difference in the spells was, I seemed to be able to kill everything else by running headlong at it with the fire spell.

Overall, good game, though!

gingerBill says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:52pm

I am currently trying to fix the audio problem and also enable debug info for boss health.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Really well executed, I wish there was some feedback on whether a certain weapon does damage on enemies (and how much) and I also found myself missing strafe. But other than that, brought back fond memories of wolfenstein and SoD.

Patacorow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:26am

Lost versus the last boss :(
Doom the magician version

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Doom-style graphic. Liked it.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Pure epicness! I love this game. A few remarks though: at the start i needed some time to figure out how to escape from my cell. Some explanation about what the effects of the different spells are would also further improve the game. But enough with the criticisms! Excellent visuals, addicting soundtrack, great old-school feeling... This is one of my favourites!!

DuzDuz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Good game!

Claire1605 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:33am

Really liked this :) Took me a while to realise that you could go through the holes in the wall at first, but after that had a lot of fun exploring and killing mages!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Really nice work

Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:44pm

WONDERFUL! Loved this artstyle so mutch ! Took me a while to figure what was happening but then I found this entry amazing. The retro feelings are great, the gameplay is good too and the presentation is top-notch. I'm really impressed about this memorable 48-hours solo work. Super cool entry overall.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 10:48am

Pretty neat for a ludum dare game! Sorry to give this comparison but i was like a witch in minecraft! :)
It was nice to play your game.
However I didn't feel so "monstruous" myself :P i was just like a magician escaping the prison.

Well done! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]