Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Denoky

by Namide - Compo Entry

Denoky is a mix between a SHMUP and a 3D platform game.


Rules

* Crushes the pawns and avoids the bullets


Controls

* Moves: Arrows
* Jump: Spacebar
* Mute music: M
* Mute sounds: S


Details

* Language: Haxe 3
* FlashPlayer: >11.4
* Samples mades with LabChirp and music with autotracker
* Libs: Heaps and Actuate

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#383Audio2.91
#423Innovation3.06
#427Fun3.08
#482Overall3.11
#644Humor2.30
#655Graphics2.71
#758Theme2.84
#759Mood2.47

Comments

frondeus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:48pm

White screen.

RedFil says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Pretty fun, but pretty hard
Good job!

sydream says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Nice idea, though doesn't work on Chrome (get a white page), works on Edge. Quite hard to play

Namide says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Hi, I did some tests: It works here on Chrome, Firefox and IE 11 (OS: Windows 7). I tested also on Firefox MacOS, it is fine.
But the file weighs 1Mo, you have to wait the loading. What's your configuration?

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:36am

Really awesome concept! It takes a little too long to get into the really cool stuff you have coded like the bullets and the first stage is just no fun compared the rest of the game! Make intro shorter and easier to jump on their heads

Wilson says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:38am

Love the art and concept, but bloody difficult! Could be a bit more generous about how close you have to get to squash pawns.

Simonaiso says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:32am

Very nice game! But too difficult alas. Love the music and the artwork. Jumping on things is nice too.

Reyn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:36am

Excellent, your block characters will be redefining my art direction for ludum dares to come ;-) I believe the reason it is more difficult than it should be is because there is not a warning to tell us that the enemies will start shooting, eg a blinking head, which may or may not be necessary ...

Boehrsi says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Challenging and well done, liked the music.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Cool 3D, sweet music and you noticed the Ludum Dare theme! Was a bit slow to do the jump making it a bit of an effort to take out the units, while the bullets was very quick and hard to avoid. Cool Ludum Dare entry and good luck! :)

StaNov says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:47pm

The part with bullets is pretty hard.

Minimalistic graphics, nice death animations :) And good music, if it's jour job!

jk5000 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Great idea but too difficult.

lanestp says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:50pm

You should get rid of the first level. Once you get into the bullet avoidance it's awesome! I like the jumping bullet hell feeling. If you focused on that I think it would be a killer game!

Justo Delgado says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:20am

The game is really fun (smashing things is fun) but hard.

Patomkin says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Nice idea, but hard to play. Especially when you need to start from the begging :(

Xeke_Death says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Worked fine for me in Chrome.
I kept dying on purpose to crush the blue pawns in the first level!!! Good stress relief...

panda says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:32am

You made a complete game, congrats! I liked the bullet-dodging more than the stomping, but our size clearly conveys that we're the dangerous monster! Right on theme.

wooltech says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Nice concept, and it works well.

mubox says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:05pm

The controls don't respond over here...

reiknight says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Innovative entry

veoviscool12 says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Like the idea, good sound effects. I found it a little difficult to avoid the bullets because of the angle; wasn't sure when I was out of a bullet's path. I also felt like my stomp was a little underpowered. The sound effects was great but I could only stomp on one, maybe two pawns at a time, and that proved frustrating. Maybe have the stomp extend just a little around the character. Overall though, I loved the idea! I'd like to see it back again in some form. Great job!

Togimaro says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Good idea but their is a bug with the background music when you jump, the controls are really hard et the hitbox to little

Gamepopper says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Good idea, although the perspective makes it a bit difficult to aim your stomps. Maybe if you added some a shadow underneath it would make it suitable for aiming.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]