Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Trump 3016

by sorlok - Jam Entry

Do you have what it takes to win the 3016 Presidential elections?
Explore a randomly generated maze with on the ruins of Earth
on your way back to claim what is rightfully yours.

Double-click on the exe to extract the game, then open the folder and click on Game.exe!

NOTE: The game is wildly unbalanced past floor 10, as I ran out of time.

NOTE: Use the "legacy" version if you have a very old or buggy graphics card.

Bugs/Stuff:
* Pressing F6 changes Window size, but doesn't work on OS-X.
* Only 64-bit OSes supported (sorry!). If this is a problem for you please contact me and I'll try my best to get a 32-bit build going (no promises).

Credits and Copyright:
https://bitbucket.org/sethhetu/rand_dungeon/raw/b8d5e1faba72854dba2d5b1253192deeed98c63b/RandDungeon/Credits.txt

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#120Humor(Jam)3.70
#631Overall(Jam)3.09
#640Fun(Jam)2.91
#725Mood(Jam)2.85
#827Innovation(Jam)2.62
#880Theme(Jam)2.91

Comments

miotatsu says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:51am

I'm amazed at how many people made games about trump lol

squirrelbot says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:03am

The beginning made me laugh, but I couldn't make it to the end in a reasonable amount of time.

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:06am

Games about Trump always crack me up

Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:03am

Pretty good, but difficulty seems to be mostly based on what items you can find near the start.

Also I think it was a bug where David would get down to 0 health and wouldn't die. Ever. Made things a bit easier though.

sorlok says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:46am

@miotatsu,BoskoSokolov: It is pretty amazing; I guess we all have the same thing on our minds.

@squirrelbot: Yep, pacing's a problem in the game. Glad you liked the intro!

@Slashee the Cow: Totally correct. A good first room makes the first 10 floors trivial. Also, if you equip the "Rainbow" Robe, it gives death immunity.... which includes immunity to *actual* death! Whoops!

DruhinM says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:41am

Haha...Nice

Resonious says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:46pm

I love it.

El Cabaro says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:30am

Haha, surprisingly cool game, despite what the title screen would have you believe. I remember you from Coinslot! It seems we both made "political" games this year. A Trump roguelike is something I thought I'd never see.

I don't really know if there's an ending since I ran into a charizard and he creamed me with one hit.

Anyways, I'm assuming due to how RPG Maker works, you won't actually fight enemies unless you're FACING them, so I was easily able to just waltz around rooms full of enemies.

I'm glad to know ASCII/Enterbrain is still using those old sound effects from RM2k. The music fit really well until Kevin MacLeod reared his ugly yet familiar head in the grasslands section. If there's anything that can ruin a game's immersion more than that, I'd like to see it. The outside portion/first stages of the hotel's music were really great though.

sorlok says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 3:30am

@DruhinM, Resonious: Thanks! Glad you like it!

@El Cabaro: Glad I could surprise you! "Trump roguelike" is a real goldmine!

kaitokidi says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 8:39am

nice graphics and fun, the game feels nice in global

Drogulisk says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 9:46am

I played this for way longer than was strictly necessary. Nice game!

Arnage says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 11:27am

Well written and features quite a bit of content. Balancing was indeed a bit of an issue, but that's hard to get right in such a short amount of time.

bodsey says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 1:31pm

I'm not american so I'm just wondering "wtf" with the jokes, but I reckon this is a pretty solid work so congrats

sorlok says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 3:31am

@kaitokidi: Thanks so much!

@Drogulisk: Glad it drew you in!

@Arnage: Thanks for the fair review! Glad you enjoyed the writing.

@bodsey: Glad there was enough to enjoy; I realize it's a bit American-centric (next game will have global appeal; I promise. :)

Acuity says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 1:04am

Hahahah interesting. I actually like the overall feel of the game! Attacking seems kind of inconsistent, I can't figure out why I'm dealing "NULL" damage a lot.

Oct 13, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Quite interesting. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/Ee0UBhVOJOc

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]