Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Daniel X Moore Presents: Dungeon of Sadness [LEGENDS]

by Daniel X. Moore - Jam Entry

Have you ever wondered what the monsters in Roguelikes talked about? Do they get paid? What’s their favorite movie, sports team, or alcoholic beverage?

Prepare to find out!

Use arrow keys to move and space bar to interact.

Explore your sad life, and the sad lives of your sad friends... but watch out for adventurers because they will murder you all for some unknown reason!

Good luck and have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#22Humor(Jam)4.27
#152Theme(Jam)3.95
#266Fun(Jam)3.43
#267Innovation(Jam)3.35
#306Mood(Jam)3.41
#344Overall(Jam)3.43

Comments

Parappa says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:56am

It's like Ultima meets Megahex. Nice work.

9.ar7k says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:00am

cute little game. ^^

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:03am

A very cool and humorous reverse dungeon game. Had to laugh more then once :D

DarkStar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:07am

Yes!! i was laughing way to hard. great story

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:08am

Hilarious and surprisingly dark, loved the brogre.

ianh says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:11am

Haha this is awesome. Great writing.

Orni says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:24pm

nicely done

reminded me of ultima

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Neat game, funny!

Andrew Deem says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:30pm

What a fun little game. I enjoy the art and the humor. Also, solid idea for the theme. I dig it.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:30pm

It took a bit to work out what to do. The writing was very funny.

pirijan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Awesome game :)

Jelinib says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:59pm

I love how even a 12-year-old kid must die in order for me to become an adventurer. Quite entertaining to watch all the unfortunate events unfold!

felipeberquo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:45am

Nostalgic! Well done

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:06am

I went into this not expecting much, but I was very surprised very quickly and was forced into several replays, nice work, great jokes :)

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:28am

Hey, story is really awesome, humour is great! Great job!

Jakob37 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Nice and original! I like the humour. Not so fond of sudden-death-start-over parts in this kind of games... Otherwise, no complaints :)

Obvious_San says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Super cute, super funny :)

MrTwister says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:14pm

This entry offers a fun twist on the classic roguelike genre! Loved it!

Funny and witty writing and nice graphics despite their simplicity. My only complaint would be that it's too short! Great job with your entry!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Hmm... interesting. Had to play it several times after reading other comments. It felt like I was in a video game version of Mad Magazine or the Hitchiker's Guide to D&D. No other entry was quite like this.

leparlon says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:44pm

I can't wait to go on dungeon crawlers now! Fun game, I was able to learn with each failure and eventually completed it. Good job.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:55pm

cute. I like the idea of there being a kind of break room for monsters. It didn't seem like there was much outside of the break room, though (unless I missed something), so I found this entry to be a little underwhelming in terms of content.

shawn42 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:03am

Fun little mini-stories. Definitely enjoyed it. The style was very nostalgic. ;)

bombjack says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:19pm

deep gameplay totally in the theme

rodobodolfo says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 5:19pm

ahah really fun game! great writing!

wademcgillis says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Oh no scrotum!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]