Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

FINAL STAGE VERSUS

by JakeL168 - Jam Entry

This is a 2 players fighting game where one player play as The Monster, while the other play The Human. Just kill each other and have fun.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#46Fun(Jam)3.96
#62Innovation(Jam)3.87
#130Overall(Jam)3.76
#152Mood(Jam)3.70
#318Theme(Jam)3.71
#327Graphics(Jam)3.79
#1362Coolness46%

Comments

orukinawa says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:17am

10/10 would ReVersus!

monyie says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:32am

(Y)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:42pm

great game, the multiplayer was very nice, also the controls are pretty neat, good entry.

JoseArias says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:43am

Nice game! Very fun to play with friends.

AntonyBaasan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Awesome. Multiplayer is cool

Maxom says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Game feels very unbalanced. Monster is pretty overpowered in my opinion.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:07pm

great idea!

Kai20 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:48pm

gret game and i feel like a real big fucking Monster

crucknuk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Nice job ;)

JakeL168 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:35am

@Maxom: I agree. This game does need more testing to make it more balanced. The initial idea was to make it feel overpowered... like a boss fight. Funny thing was that, this build ( v0.3 ) was built around the gameplay between a slow gamer ( me ) and a fast gamer ( Shawn Beck ), where we control The Monster and The Human respectively. Will be sure to get it tested more and create a much balanced experience. :)

Kassimkot says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:29am

awesome game. 10/10 will smash again

dpisarcik says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:35am

This is a pretty great, simple idea. I enjoy the graphics & the audio quite a bit. Playing as a human reminds me of fighting a boss in Contra for the NES. Great little game!

Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Really neat idea! Love the graphics as well. I included it in part 12 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/mbmK1PaRvAU

TackoramaLtd says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 7:56am

Simple, brutal, fun. Excellent.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]